We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best day of our two weeks in Croatia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilirio's Hvar Tours

Ilirio's Hvar Tours
Hvar, Hvar Island, Croatia
+385 98 405 551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 activities in Hvar
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hvar tours: Ilirio's Hvar sport private day trips and excursions: Blue cave, Green grotto, Monk Seal cave, snorkeling, zodiac and RIB boat tours, vineyard and wine tours, island safari offroad, beach tours... We create dreams, not only holidays.
Portland, Oregon, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Possibly the best day of our two weeks in Croatia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

No trip to this area would be complete without seeing the islands of Bisevo and Vis, and Damir's tour is the only one that shows you their entire beauty. Many agencies in Hvar may offer a day trip to the Blue and Green caves, but those tours are very impersonal, on a large boat that can only stop a few major destinations. Damir has a true love for the island of Bisevo, and he does an excellent job explaining all details about how the islands were formed, the plants and animals that inhabit the island, and the history of the people and former military use of the islands. He takes you around the entire island, showing you every little hidden cave and inlet, which the large boats can't access, even letting you get out and swim wherever you like. He takes you to a rare sandy beach with a few konobas, where you can eat, swim, snorkel and relax. On top of seeing the islands, the boat ride alone is almost worth the price of the trip....at times like riding a rollercoaster on the sea, with the world's greatest driver. This trip may cost a few extra kuna versus the other large tours, but what you get in return is priceless.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hvar, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Speed boat to three caves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Storm management - three caves tour
In my other review I have described the tour and some of its amazing elements ( wilderness, beauty of nature, flexibility and the possibility to do activities that are not possible with other more crowded tours. Other reviews about this tour give some hints about this fantastic and amazing trip..) however, the best part of the tour is yet to describe and it's really worthy! On our way back from bisevu island, splashing the waves with our speed boat, a sudden and unpredictable storm started and the waves and winds were gaining in strength, our skipper did not want to take any risk - conditions were even worse in the canal to hvar, and stopped in a very nice bay in vis island where he has arranged for land transportation to the other side of the island - vis village where bigger ferry to hvar is available- we have spent the night in vis in a wine maker house and enjoyed a very amazing night in the village bars..Our skipper, Damir- three caves tours- ensured that we are ok and do not need any thing- kind of "ange gardien" - we left vis the day after ( the mighty ferry was rescheduled to the next day because of the storm!) full of unforgettable souvenirs and with new friends- close friends not the least our skipper who promised a free tour next time we show up! I will remember that promise!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed the day as we visited so many beautiful places and were given the opportunity to swim in many caves and relax on the Bisevo beach and in Komiza town of Vis. In particular we loved the blue cave. Damir was fantastic as he explained history, flora and fauna. and rock formation and was willing to answer all the questions we had. He was very thorough and took us past many small caves and beaches/bays. We would recommend this tour to everyone, especially with Damir as the guide.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extreme vawe ride by Hvar Sport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

It was my best experience on the sea ever! I just hate that my English is not good enough to describe how great it was. The weather wasn't so good the day we went so we didn't get to go the caves. But it was still super exciting because the wind was strong and the wave was high! I was sitting in the front seat and it was AMAZING!!! Damir was very skillful; i could feel we were riding on the waves! We got to go several beaches, swimming and sunbathing. By the way, there are lifejackets on the RIB boat, so there's no need to worry if you can't swim. i have to say that was my best day in Croatia. Thank you Damir!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highlight of Hvar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We took Ilirio's Hvar Sport tours to the Blue grotto and Three caves with the RIB boat because we thought it would be more of an experience than on a bigger boat - and it certainly was!! It was an absolutely amazing day, the caves were stunning and we were lucky enough to swim in all three. Damir was excellent and made us feel we were in safe hands as the boat ride was fast and exhilarating. He is extremely knowledgeable about the area and we were able to swim in the best spots and had a delicious lunch on a beautiful beach. We also stopped at the island of Vis and had a dip in a natural jacuzzi. It was unlike any day trip I have done before and I would highly recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilirio's Hvar Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ilirio's Hvar Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilirio's Hvar Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ilirio's Hvar Tours to your Saves list