We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost 5*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amfora Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amfora Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amfora Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Majerovica bb, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Hvar
Croatia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Almost 5*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Amfora is luxury hotel, no doubt about that. Rooms are very stylish, very modern designed, and are the best this hotel offers. Pool area is beautiful- probably the most beautiful pool on Cro coast.
But food is just average, and there is no wellness.
Overall- pricy, but with style.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    316
    149
    56
    37
See reviews for
136
404
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for three nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. I am surprised by the other reviews on this website which suggest it is too big (didnt you see the pictures?). Of course the resort is big...but it would not have great facilities without the number of rooms it has. Also, because of it's size they are extermely organised with the ability to charge lots of stuff to your room with a simple swipe of your room card (including lots of external venues on the island). My partner and I have holidayed a lot all over the world and found Amfora fantastic...the same price (not including flights) as a recent trip to Thailand for a MUCH nicer, cleaner experience. Amfora is the right place for your holiday if you want to relax, sip a drink by the pool, read a book and walk into the town for a beautiful seafood dinner. Whilst the resort is not cheap it is good value for money...it is very stylish and clean. We did not eat in the hotel (other than the included breakfast) but do not see why one would with the local town offering charming little restaurants and bars. The included breakfast had nice fresh loaves of local bread, meats, cheeses and hot food. My only criticism is the poor coffee!!
The service did vary a bit at Amfora...I think it is just the Croatians though...they were fine for our purposes - keeping in mind we are not high maintenance guests.

I highly reccomend Amfora - we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

The Hotel Amfora is a good hotel - it is just too big for its own good and way too big for the small town and island in which it is situated.
There are pleanty of positives to this property. The rooms are clean and modern. The pool is huge and brand new. It is also easily the biggest pool of any hotel on Hvar. The hotel is situated in a beautiful bay around the corner from the main town. It is a short walk to town that is a blessing more than a hinderance - across an old marble pavement that wraps around the penninsula.
But that is where most of the good stuff ends. This hotel is huge. There must be hundreds of rooms spread across many buildings. It feels like the building is a renovated hospital. One tip is to get a room closer to the reception area otherwise it can seriously be a good 10 minute walk from the front door to your room through some very dank corridors. The restaurants are nasty. We ate at the buffet (because it was included in the room rate), the food was plain and old. It feels like you are eating in an Ikea Kiosk surrounded by cheap furniture.
There is beach furniture at the bay in front of the hotel - but you are forced to pay extra for that. The chairs take up all the space on the beach which doesn't leave much room if you are not willing to pay.
All in all the place is too big. Great if you are having a large conference but not so great for the independent traveller. I'd recommend having a look at some of the smaller hotels in the main town (even though they are all owned by the same company).

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel2far
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

My husband and I were very excited with the outside look of the hotel once we got there, and the rooms are VERY modern and they are kept very clean. Very nice views from the decks, also The maids are the nicest people in the hotel. Front desk staff is generally rude. When I asked for an extra towel (Hvar temps can vary widely and become very chilly at dusk), i was scolded by the girl at the towel bar as she told me, "Absolutly not!" The staff generally hates waiting on customers. The pool is NOT heated, even though it looks beautiful (and no one is in it). The hotel has the best stretch of rocky beach to swim in. The rooms are nice and airy, but the staff is terribly rude (other than the maids, who were lovely). If you can put up with staff treating you like dirt when you are spending $$ here, than this is the place for you. It is very close walking distance to Hvar town, which we liked because it was quieter than being right in town.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

I traveled to Hvar with a friend in mid-September. I had a very hard time deciding on whether to stay at the Riva in Hvar Town or at the Amfora. I ultimately decided on the Amfora because of its pool. We had a fantastic stay at the Amfora. The Amfora provides complimentary drop off and pick up at the ferry dock. For a small fee they will even reserve your ferry tickets. The airline had lost my bag and the hotel staff was extremely helpful in assisting me with communicating with the Split airport and arranging for delivery of my bag to Hvar - the staff even went down to the dock to pick up my bag and delivered it to my room! The hotel is a five minute walk into town along a gorgeous path next to the sea. The only negative things about the hotel that I will include is that the rooms are fairly small (we stayed in a deluxe sea-view room) but they are very modern. Also, the noise from the hallways made it difficult to take a nap in the afternoon (after a late night at Carpe Diem). Finally, the shower is a rainfall shower which I prefer but my friend Jennifer did not.

  • Liked — The location, staff, and design
  • Disliked — Size of room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We really liked the Amfora. It was very busy when we stayed in August - and the pool and beach were extremely crowded during the middle of the day - but because we had a suite we had access to the beachclub which was fantastic! The beachclub is a 1930s renovated building with direct access to the bay and can be a haven of tranquility during August - with private cabins and (more importantly) sun recliners and waiter service. Our room was one of the best in the hotel - plenty of space and beautiful views - though it was not cheap. The breakfast was great - and served in a very nice room. My one gripe would be the service - it was fairly haphazard - and should have been better for this grade of hotel.

  • Liked — Access to the beachclub (not free for all rooms - only suites)
  • Disliked — Service - just a bit sloppy
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed at the Amfora for 3 nights in September.

The hotel was a little expensive (and we stayed in the annex?) but Hvar is an expensive place to eat, drink, etc

The location of the hotel was very impressive, with a large pool, bar area and private beach and a 5 minute walk to the centre.

We arrived via the ferry from Split (50 min) and the hotels bus was there to pick us up!

The rooms were very modern and clean with all the expected extras, LCD TV, air con, safe, wireless broadband etc.

Breakfast was great everything you would want and had nice sea views.

The hotel provide you with a credit card, which you can use at other hotels which gives you 10% discount on the bill, but they bill your room, which i thought was excellent!

Would definitely stay again even at these prices!

  • Liked — The Pool Area !
  • Disliked — The Annex Building lift system !
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amfora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfora Hotel

Address: Majerovica bb, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amfora Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Amfora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Hvar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amfora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.