We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Luviji Hvar

Konoba Luviji Hvar
Jurja Novaka 6 | Hvar, Hvar, Hvar Island, Croatia
021 741646
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 100 Restaurants in Hvar
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lyons-la-Foret, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

To take a break from all the fish, we went to Luviji for lunch. And then it was so good that we returned for dinner the following night. The salad bowl for lunch was healthy and delicious. Don't miss the fig dessert either. If you're going for dinner, make a booking so as not to miss out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    5
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hvar, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Konoba Luviji”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The place was amazing, the food fantastic, excellent local wines and the staff really made us feel special! Thanks and see you next summer!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Well below expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Walked from our B&B to dinner at Konoba Luviji in Hvar town. Had all the elements to be good but the taste of the food was on the bland side making the food no more than average but at higher than average price. I would not recommend this.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We had read several good reviews of this restaurant but in reality it did not live up to any of them. Worst of all, the food was very disappointing - small helpings and poor quality and poor value.
There was a big effort to sell bottles of their own expensive wine - with no wine list so you only discovered the price in advance if you asked... (Ditto that you could order wine by the glass or cheaper caraffe).
Even location and atmosphere were disappointing - almost as if some other reviewers had been to a different establishment!
Will not be going back!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bidji, General Manager at Konoba Luviji Hvar, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our restaurant.
First of all I need to say that Konoba Luviji is divided in 2 restaurants. The one that is on the ground floor wine bar and the other that has terrace on the top floor. As I'm a manager on the top terrace restaurant I can not reply about the issue. The only thing I can say is that we have a lot of satisfied customers that keep cooming back again and again. As wine makers we serve our high quality home made wine bottled or in cheeper caraffe, so it would be very strange if you were the only guests not to have a choice. Indeed, I hope if you are back in our beautiful town you will come and give as another chance. Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Home is where you feel at it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the best local food tavern you will find in town of Hvar. Basically, all you have to do is answer: 'Meat, fish or vegetarian, or all?' About the rest is taken care by the best bunch of hospitable waitresses serving in the warmest etno atmosphere. It's the top choice for Hvar, when the barbequed Fish is not the main priority

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Luviji Hvar also viewed

 
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Konoba Luviji Hvar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Luviji Hvar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.