We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to have a snack and some wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Luviji Hvar

Konoba Luviji Hvar
Jurja Novaka 6 | Hvar, Hvar, Hvar Island, Croatia
021 741646
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 100 Restaurants in Hvar
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to have a snack and some wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have been coming to this place the last 4 years, and it has never dissapointed me.
It is a point on what you are expecting - this is not a high class restaurant, but a sweet local place, with nice atmosphere and friendly service.

We as friends loved to come before going to Hvar's bars and discos, to have some tapas and wine, for an OK price.

If that is what you are expecting, you will be more than satisfied.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    5
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Breathtaking terrace view at Hvar's sights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We passed the Tapas and climbed the stairs to Luviji Restaurant and were amazed by the view from the terrace! Have never imagined I could find a totally different view at Hvar sights, in this case the central Hvar Cathedral! Loved the terrace. We were recommended the traditional fish stew, although I'm not a fish fan, I decided to give it a try and glad I did because it was a miracle of sea tastes,domestic herbs and homemade wine! Tasting Dalmatia in its core! Would recommend anyone going to Hvar to stop at Luviji's top teracce restaurant and enjoy food juices of life!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible, very over priced tapas”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011 via mobile

We were attracted to the look of the konoba and the idea of fresh tapas. The waitress had memorised the menu so we did not know prices, being cautious we only ordered a few dishes, small fish, octopus and fish pate. When the tapas turned up each of the dishes we doubled up and we got an extra pate that we hadn't asked for. The fish was very overcooked, the octopus tasted like it was straight from the tin and the pate was flavourless. It was all very overpriced too. Worst meal in Croatia.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bassilly
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bad very bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

One of the worse restaurant where we have been for the last 12 days in Croatia.
1. It took a long time to get the menu
2. It took along time to get served, we were there on 12 september 2011 low season starts.
3. For what is supposed to be a wine bar and also a restaurant, there were only a few wines on the menu list, no wine served by the glass strange enough.
4. I fully agree with the comment of Ivek21, we ordered grilled lamb and it really seemed that the chef just had trown the whole pot of salt into the dish, the same goes for the rice..
5. The waiter did not show up for at least 30 minutes during our meal.
4. No peper, no salt (I think they used all of it for the cooking) no oil, etc, was put on our table.
5. The bread was terrible.
6. No credit card are accepted.
7. Cleanliness of the toilets....so, so.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bidji, Manager at Konoba Luviji Hvar, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear sir,
thank you for reviewing our restaurant. I must say that you have said to the waiter that the rice and the grilled lamb is to salty to eat and you asked him to bring you the bill. As the manager I've decided that we will charge you just have of the amount because of your complaint. But while the waiter was writting a bill you have finished whole dinner so I sopose it was not that salty as you were saying. This is a very god idea of having a nice dinner and not paying for it! Best regards and we hope that the plate you took from the table is a nice souvenir ih your home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

After an excellent meal at the Tapas Bar downstairs we were keen to try the local speciality - the fish stew and oven baked lamb - at Luviji's, but were very disappointed. The meat was tough and tasteless and the fish stew very unexceptional and unappetizing. Given the excellent meals we had in Hvar, this was a big letdown.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Luviji Hvar also viewed

 
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Konoba Luviji Hvar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Luviji Hvar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.