We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goog vegetarian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Vartal

Restaurant Vartal
Fulgencija Careva 1, Hvar, Hvar Island, Croatia
385(0)21 743 077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 98 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kotka, Finland
1 review
“Goog vegetarian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Best food experience in Hvar town. Especially, if you chooce vegetarian plate or marinated zucchini with feta.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    33
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Hidden place away from the tourist traps”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We had the dalmatinian platter for starters that was okey and the seafood spaghetti for main course that was a bit mediocre. A little dry and not so fresh. The service and atmosphere were very nice though. Friendly staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Amazing service from moment one!!! We couldn't resist from meeting the woman by the door (ira) she was fantastic and so friendly and made us want to eat in restaurant..... And we did not regret this.... Fantastic service...... Fantastic food.... I had steak my misses had calzone and just wow can't explain how wonderful this restaurant is :) :).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Amazing and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

By far our favorite restaurant in Hvar. An extremely friendly staff makes it a very pleasant experience. Try the zucchini and feta cheese. It's amazing and the best feta you've ever had: soft and creamy. Pizza is tasty, and the prices are very good. It's a bit away from the main harbor so it's more quiet but you still look over the water and the monastery grounds. A great way to end a full day in Hvar!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvar Island, Croatia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service of poor quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The restaurant invites you to write review for Tripadvisor.

A girl at the entrance. Actually, this is a signal.
Is the food or the service not that good? Indeed, it is not.
We had pizza. Most was cheese, Where were the mushrooms? Where was the see food? Oh yea, I see some....

And my wife needs to take her medicine. Can she get a glass of water? No this is prohibited!. Of course we can order sparkling water...... or, come with me to the bar inside. There we will give a glass of water. No thanks. we take the water in our hotel. That's better.

We could have been warned, if we would have looked to the other reviews. Unfortunately, we have to advice not to go there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vartal also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Restaurant Vartal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Vartal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.