We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning - overcharge: triple-check your bill !!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Toto's

Toto's
Palmizana, Hvar, Hvar Island, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 100 Restaurants in Hvar
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warning - overcharge: triple-check your bill !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

During our stay on Palmizana we visited Toto's for drinks every day, and we enjoyed the ambiance comparable only to paradise garden - in our experience this was one of the most beautiful terraces we've seen in our life. But...!

But, during our last visit the waiter charged us around 420 kn. We paid, but luckily we took a look at the bill he handed over to us. We discovered that the waiter added a drink or two to every drink we had! Instead of one juice, there were two. Instead of 3 beers there were four etc. He increased our bill for 120 kn, for 30%!!!

Of course we started back towards the bar and the minute he's seen us from afar, the waiter went back towards the bar too - this was plain and obvious no surprise to him, and this is just a confirmation that he knew well what he was doing. He made just a brief formal excuse and returned the overcharged amount (around 16€).

FYI, the discussion and the return of the overpaid amount was witnessed by two-three other members of staff (one of them could have been their boss, I think), but no one was upset about the 30% overcharge.

It is a pity that such a beautiful place would risk their reputation by making a side profit like this. If the waiter or his colleagues reacted in any other way, I would think that this was just an honest mistake, but due to their reactions after we politely protested, I can only say this was no mistake at all.

Big, big dissapointment.

So, enjoy Toto's, but watch out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    10
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
French Riviera
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Toto's was looking as a nice restaurant with a lovely view on the bay in the island of Palmisana.
I was pretty shocked by the lack of attention paid to me and my boyfriend when we asked for a table. We waited for few minutes without knowing whether they were looking after us or not.
Nonetheless, they assigned us a very kind waiter that followed us constantly. We ordered fast and we were well served. We took the daily suggestion and ate the greatest grilled tuna I've had in these last years. Price was fine, worthing the quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
2 reviews
“Worst service EVER!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Restaurant is placed or very nice location with very nice view. But the staff is very unpleasant, you have to wait very long time for service and they are paying most of the attention to the US and westwrn europe visitors. I don't recommend visiting this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A nice lunchtime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We'd taken a day trip to Palmizana from Hvar and enjoyed a nice day relaxing on the rocks.
For lunch, we had a wonder around and found this place. The welcome was really friendly and the location perfect - shady and overlooking the sea.
We had monkfish and scampi, both in the same white wine sauce washed down with a couple of refreshing beers. Although when I ordered scampi I didn't realise it was going to be whole shrimps which you need to dissect so had to swap with my boyfriend!
Annoying cd with 3 songs on repeat - must drive the waiting staff crazy!
Other than that, a tasty chilled out lunch with a couple of drinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had a lovely meal and was great to sit in a shady restaurant with views out over the stunning sea. The staff were really friendly and we had a great laugh with the waitress.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toto's also viewed

 
Hvar Island, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Toto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toto's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.