We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong by coming here for dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dalmatino

Dalmatino
Sveti Marak 1, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
00385915293121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Hvar
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong by coming here for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The crew working at this restaurant is great! Yes, they do give you some extras such as local aperitifs to drink! The waiters are English speaking and have a great sense of humour. The atmosphere is pleasant, with a decor blending the traditional with the modern in a tasteful way. Most of the tables are outside in the narrow street, with a few more downstairs in the basement, where we stayed. The menu is varied including the traditional Dalmatian fare and some international dishes. For starters we had the zucchini which were deliciously prepared with olive oil, pistacchio and nuts; others in our party as main dish had the gnocchi with squid tinture and shrimps which they considered very good. The gnocchi with veal and dates was also delicious but the "pièce de resistance" was the old family recipe from two of the waiters grandma: a light date cake. This restaurant is highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    132
    37
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“They give you so many great aperitifs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Dalamatino is wonderful. We were treated wonderfully. Our fantastic server started us off with a complimentary brandy, then brought us a complimentary bread and olive oil, the. Another complimentary carob liquor, then our entrees, then a pear digestif. Not only was our food incredible and the service perfect. They generously gave us 3 shots of traditional alcohol, thoughtfully spaced and paired with our meals. Will always remember Dalamatino...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Dalmatino was perfect in every way! The food was absolutely scrumptious, the restaurant has a great ambiance, and the service was excellent. We actually ate lunch and dinner here on the same day because we couldn't stop thinking about how delicious the food was after lunch. We ordered the grilled sea bass, black gnocchi with shrimp, filet with truffles and mushrooms, and grilled veggies. Everything was fantastic! The prices were also very reasonable considering the high quality and freshness of the food. We will definitely be back on our next visit and highly recommend this restaurant to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ubud
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Excellent service, excellent food as well. Everything was just prefect! The best restaurant in Hvar for sure, we have tried many.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This is the best restaurant in Hvar. We tried different places but we went back to Dalmatino as this was our favourite. The food is really nice and the waiters are very friendly, Michael and Joseph. Great value for money and some free drinks with your meal! I wish this restaurant is in Manchester!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalmatino also viewed

 

Been to Dalmatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalmatino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.