We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved yet again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments Antoana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Apartments Antoana to your Saves list
Apartments Antoana
Majerovica | Hvar, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
north yorks
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Improved yet again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just back from our 4th / 5th visit to the above in the last 8 years, each time for 2 weeks. Somehow Ivana and Petar manage to add something to improve the accommodation which has always been excellent. This time canopies have been added to the balconies instead of umbrellas which give full shelter should a shower occur and also shade from the morning sun should you wish to sit out for breakfast. There attention and kindness can not be faulted and I'm sure it will not be long before we return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a lovely time in Hvar staying at Apartments Antoana for 4 nights. Our hosts were wonderful, giving us ideas of things to do, telling us how to get places, and even picking us up and dropping our luggage off at the bus station so we didn't have to hike up the hill with luggage. The apartment itself was very clean and of a good size for two-3 adults. We often ate sitting on our balcony over looking the town. The location itself is so so, but we knew this going in. It is a good 20 minute walk down to the city or hike back up from the city depending on the direction (via the road 10-15mins). The walk along the beach was beautiful and it was nice to know we were burning off some of the calories we were eating!!! Overall we had a very nice relaxing holiday in great apartment we actually spent a good amount of time in. Very happy with our choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We just rocked up to this place having read such good reviews on TripAdviser and were treated with such friendliness and courtesy that we would have had to saty even if we didn't like the rooms. But we did.
Spacious, super clean, well eqipped and with a beautiful view top the sea we could not have asked for more.
Its a bit of a walk to central HVar but not unpleasant and there is a supermarket nearby if you want to eat in (as we did).
This is a highly recommended establishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent four wonderful days and three nights at Antoana and can recommend it without reservation (although YOU may need one). Everything mentioned previously was also true for us - being picked up and dropped off at the ferry by Peter; advice, recommendations and reminders about catamarans, places to go and things to do; the apartment was perfectly located by the market and a nice walk into town.

Ivana couldn't have made us feel more welcome! My husband caught a cold while in Dubrovnik and still had some symptoms. When I asked Ivana where I could find a pharmacy, she ran upstairs and returned with three different cold medications. It rained a bit while we were there and as we left to go to town, there were two umbrellas hanging on our fence. Every request or question we had for her received an overwhelming response.She and her apartment far exceeded our expectations - we're still telling people about you Ivana :-)

We stayed in the ground floor apartment which was beautiful! My husband is quite tall and Ivana helped select a bed he would fit it by sending dimensions and details. The kitchen is fully equipped and the apartment is remarkably clean and bright. We thought the only thing missing was an oven until we realized the microwave had that capacity.

Many thanks for making our stay in Hvar so memorable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A truly memorable stay, from start to finish. Let me summarize all of the excellent points:

1. Harbour pick-up: Peter was waiting for us just outside the harbour, where we arrived by Catamaran from Split. He gave us a friendly welcome and a scenic and informative drive back to the apartments, describing the easiest walking routes to and from the apartment, the location of shops, and the quickest way to the beach.

2. The apartment itself: very spacious, incredibly neat and clean, modern, and packed with all of the amenities you could need. The private balcony was awesome, and we had most of our dinners out there (I recommend preparing a few dinners at the apartment and utilizing the balcony, not only to save costs at the overpriced Hvar restaurants, but also to savour the ideal, peaceful location and privacy of Antoana Apartments). Ivana met us at the apartment, and both my girlfriend and I commented on how friendly and helpful she was.

3. Location: 2 minute walk to a supermarket, 4 minute walk to a beautiful secluded beach, 8 minute walk to Hvar town. All in all, a top location, and it was great to be conveniently close to Hvar Town, yet far enough to avoid the noise.

Apartments Antoana was a highlight of our time in Croatia, and I would not think twice to stay there again in a heartbeat.

My tip for Hvar itself: definitely rent a convertible VW beetle for a day or two, and drive out and explore the island. It is about 40 Euro per day (not too expensive), and it is TOTALLY worth it. When driving out of Hvar town, take the new road and I recommend bypassing Stari Grad. Drive on to Jelsa and stop there for a swim in the lake-like sea. Take a lunch at one of the harbor side restaurants, and then drive on further through the infamous tunnel to the end of the new road.. there is a fantastic beach on that side as well. On the way back to Hvar town, take the old Hvar road turn-off just after Stari Grad port (turn left, off the new road, about 500 meters before Stari Grad Harbor). The old Hvar road goes up a pass to the highest point on the island... seriously, the best view we saw in the whole of Croatia, and a drive that I will never forget!!! Do it!!!

And while youre at it, stay at Antoana... it is one of the nicest places we've stayed yet.

Room Tip: I suggest a room on the top floor with a balcony, we got the 'orange' room, and it was ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at Apartments Antoana for 2 nights starting from 30 August 2012. Prior to our stay we were in email contact with Ivana who helpfully guided us, providing important information with regard to travel advice and departure times of catamarans!

We were met by Ivana's husband right next to the port, a very friendly man who told us some interesting facts about the island. We were driven with our luggage right to the door of the apartment which was fantastic after travelling for 4+ hours!

The apartment was absolutely immaculately clean and fully equipped. We had a lovely balcony with a large outside dining space. The living room had a sofa bed and television with a wide variety of channels. The kitchen was so well-furnished that we decided to eat in and enjoy eating outside as much as possible!

There is a medium-sized grocery store a few minutes down the road which was open till late and had a good selection (by Croatian standards!). There were two ways of getting to Hvar town centre. The slightly faster road route took us about 10 minutes to walk at a good pace. However I would highly recommend taking the scenic route! The pathway goes right alongside the secluded beaches and untouched coastline, demonstrating the beauty of Hvar and it's shorelines. Going via this route took about 15 minutes and it must be noted that sections of the route (especially on the way back from Hvar town centre) are quite steep/involve stairs. This was absolutely no problem for us but for those not entirely confident when confronted with an uphill battle it may be something to consider!

Ivana helped in every possible way! She really couldn't do enough! An example of this would be whilst checking out. We had a 5pm ferry and were not too concerned about having to keep our luggage with us until our departure however Ivana insisted that we go out and enjoy our day! She kindly offered to meet us at the bus terminal with our luggage to make our journey as easy as possible!

My partner and I have frequently travelled together and Apartments Antoana stands out as one of the best value-for-money apartments we have stayed in! I would absolutely recommend Apartments Antoana to fellow travellers, if not for the cleanliness, space and decor of the apartment alone, for the wonderful and kind family that make every effort to provide the best service possible!

Ps- For those staying at Apartments Antoana, when walking down to the beaches I would advise turning right, away from Hvar Town and exploring the beach cafes there! The beaches tend to be sandier and more spacious! Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My second year visiting Hvar and my second year staying at Apartments Antoana. As before Peter picked us up from the harbour and took us to the apartment - this time one of the top floor apartments (ground floor last time). We were greeted upon arrival by Ivana who is never short of a friendly welcome and smile. As usual - beautifully clean apartment, tastefully decorated and a nice sized balcony to sit on for breakfast, pre dinner glass of vino or a relaxing read in the afternoon if the sun has got too hot down by the sea. We are two friends and this apartment had a double bed and a double sofa bed. I have to say they are the most comfortable sofa beds you'll ever find so don't worry if you need to use one as a bed! The close by supermarket has all needed for the basics. Its good to pick up fresh salad items from the local market in town. I prefer staying this side of town - its quieter and is a lovely walk along the coast path into town, or a for a shorter stroll in to town past the back of Amfora into the back of the charming town. I know it all sounds like something from a brochure - but its all true! Can't say anything negative about Apartment Antoana. Yes - its up a hill, but all the apartments in this area of town are!! So don't let that put you off!
Thanks again Ivana - another lovely week :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartments Antoana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Antoana

Address: Majerovica | Hvar, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments Antoana consist of three apartments A2+1 (for 2 or for 3 people). Each of the apartments consists of: sleeping room, dining room (sofa, SAT TV), kitchen (fully equipped), bathroom (towels, hairdryer) and balcony. And it also has air-condition. A parking place is provided for every apartment. Welcome to our house! Fam. Alujevic ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apartments Antoana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Antoana Hotel Hvar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments Antoana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.