We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to eat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gariful

Gariful
Riva, 21, Hvar, Hvar Island, Croatia
++385 (0)21-742-999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 100 Restaurants in Hvar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Restaurant Gariful is a small family business with a large international reputation. Situated on the exclusive waterfront of Hvar Town - Lonely Planet’s number five destination for 2012 - Gariful is the island’s most luxurious fish restaurant, renowned for its fresh seafood, outstanding wine and Champagne list, aquarium floor, and complete dining experience. Attracting some of the largest yachts on the Adriatic, Gariful attracts many VIP guests, and 2011 visitors included Prince Harry, Giorgio Armani and Roman Abramovich.
Hvar, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Perfect views of the harbour, extremly good service, they make you feel like you are the only guest that they have. Food was delicous, superb fresh seafood and realy good wine list. We are defintiely come back again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    52
    26
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Excellent location, medium food and not so good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Really wanted to like this restaurant as it is charming, inviting and has a great position and ambiance. Service and wait time for us and the tables around us was really bad though, 40 minutes for a first course of a green salad, and then the main dish came almost on top of that. Service did not pour more water and did not approach us to ask if we wanted anything during the wait or to offer explanation. Food was ok but not really worth the price and the long wait. We went elsewhere after this night and got better food and service

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good place to eat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Fantastic food! Very romantic atmosphere, friendly staff and did i mention fantastic food. All and all a great experience I will definitely and go back again next time Im there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff/London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good but really, really pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely views of the harbour, really good service, extremely expensive though. Our bill came to 580 kuna, which we worked out to be about £70, for 2 people. What we paid for: 1x bottle wine, 1x mineral water, 2x main courses (fish in white sauce I think). What we got free: bread with accompanying olive oil, desert (small cake thing) and a nice gift bag with a brochure and lavender bag.

The freebies were a nice touch, the waiters were very attentive, the fish was amazing, the vegetables were also good but I expect better veg from a restaurant of this price bracket. Definitely appealing to the mega-yacht crowd. At the end of the day, £35 a head for wine and a main is a bit excessive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Croatia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was a favorite for us... very romantic with beautiful views of the water and yachts. Food is fabulous! Tomic wines are amazing too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gariful also viewed

 

Been to Gariful? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gariful, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.