We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, medium food and not so good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gariful

Gariful
Riva, 21, Hvar, Hvar Island, Croatia
++385 (0)21-742-999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 98 Restaurants in Hvar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Gariful is a small family business with a large international reputation. Situated on the exclusive waterfront of Hvar Town - Lonely Planet’s number five destination for 2012 - Gariful is the island’s most luxurious fish restaurant, renowned for its fresh seafood, outstanding wine and Champagne list, aquarium floor, and complete dining experience. Attracting some of the largest yachts on the Adriatic, Gariful attracts many VIP guests, and 2011 visitors included Prince Harry, Giorgio Armani and Roman Abramovich.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Excellent location, medium food and not so good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Really wanted to like this restaurant as it is charming, inviting and has a great position and ambiance. Service and wait time for us and the tables around us was really bad though, 40 minutes for a first course of a green salad, and then the main dish came almost on top of that. Service did not pour more water and did not approach us to ask if we wanted anything during the wait or to offer explanation. Food was ok but not really worth the price and the long wait. We went elsewhere after this night and got better food and service

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    54
    26
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good place to eat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Fantastic food! Very romantic atmosphere, friendly staff and did i mention fantastic food. All and all a great experience I will definitely and go back again next time Im there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good but really, really pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely views of the harbour, really good service, extremely expensive though. Our bill came to 580 kuna, which we worked out to be about £70, for 2 people. What we paid for: 1x bottle wine, 1x mineral water, 2x main courses (fish in white sauce I think). What we got free: bread with accompanying olive oil, desert (small cake thing) and a nice gift bag with a brochure and lavender bag.

The freebies were a nice touch, the waiters were very attentive, the fish was amazing, the vegetables were also good but I expect better veg from a restaurant of this price bracket. Definitely appealing to the mega-yacht crowd. At the end of the day, £35 a head for wine and a main is a bit excessive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Croatia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was a favorite for us... very romantic with beautiful views of the water and yachts. Food is fabulous! Tomic wines are amazing too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cozy and Fancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere with floor of glass which allows to see the sea!
Good cuisine and wine cart!
Expensive for service offered!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gariful also viewed

 

Been to Gariful? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gariful, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.