We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking Croatian Cuisine!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Menego

Konoba Menego
Kroz Grodu 26, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
+385 021 717 411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 98 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cracking Croatian Cuisine!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant for lunch by chance and what a pleasant surprise. The owners were absolutely lovely and clearly took great pride in their cute little restaurant. Fresh food, home made wine and lipsmacking lemonade, this restaurant had it all.

The waitress made 2 fantastic recommendations, including the gnocchi which was the best I have ever tasted. The chef came out to make sure we were happy with our food and seemed genuinely happy that we had enjoyed ourselves.

You must go here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    84
    19
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
“Authentic Food. Hvar doesn't need to be pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

As we were wondering through the little streets on our way back from the fort we were getting pestered from all the other restuarants which looked lovely (candle lit etc) however they served a lot of what is now called 'modern European'. This place however served up more traditional food which was great to try and really cheap! The queue of people sat on the steps outside said it all.. whilst waiting we met two couples who come here every year and got a big welcome from the guy at the door. We didn't book however it seems the thing to do, it looked busy, however we got served a glass of wine and sat on the steps outside watching the world go by and chatting to others waiting until we got a table. Once inside its dark and romantic and we were served by a very attentive waiter who had perfect English and could recommend meals. We ended the meal with a 'Special Granny's coffee' which contains a liqueur.. we got it first time! See what you think it is. Anyway wholly recommend this place. Cheap, good food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very traditional Croatian Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Loved this restaurant for a true taste of Croatia and lovely ambiance. The restaurant does get very busy so maybe book if you can - but we were happy to wait outside on the steps of the old town street outside with a glass of wine, and only waited 20 mins or so. The menu includes many Croatian meat and fish dishes. The waiter was happy to recommend to us dishes so we could try and share an number of things. We had a meat a cheese platter, meat with gnocci, Croatian stuffed bread and special vegetables. All delicious and plentiful! We tried the house white and red wines (red was best!) Recommended for couples and groups alike!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Traditional Croatian cuisine in a cave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this spot by one of the crew on our boat.

The service was excellent, as was the food. It was nice to have break from the Croatian tourist staple diet of pizza/pasta/deep fried stuff! The octopus salad was a highlight.

Highly recommend if you want an authentic Croatian experience in a nice setting.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A local gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This cozy little restaurant was a great find we stumbled upon our second night in Hvar. After finding nearly identical, overpriced menus everywhere else in the main square, this was a real treat. We ordered several small dishes like homegrown olives, goat cheese soaked in olive oil, stuffed bread and stuffed pepper - all local, fresh, traditional Croatian fare! The dishes were reasonably priced, usually from 3-10 USD a plate. Topped off with local wine and grappa to finish our meals and possibly the best service I have had in a restaurant anywhere, the experience was wonderful from start to finish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Menego also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Konoba Menego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Menego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.