We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cats everywhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Epidaurus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Epidaurus to your Saves list
Hotel Epidaurus
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Od Zala 1 | Tahia Bay, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Epidaurus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“cats everywhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

hi, I just arrived back from the Epidaurus in cavtat,its a mixed nationality hotel about 30per cent british. I must admit I was not impressedwith the hotel,there was a number of issues.there were cats everywhere (flea ridden) many people were bit by fleas which they thought were mozzies.the hotel has just changed hands and to my surprise began to run out of everything,butter,teabags drinks. the hotel is in need of updating.the rooms have badly stained carpets, but are kept clean by the very polite cleaners the hallways are dull and drabby. the kitchen was clean but there were cats everywhere, the soup was never hot the meat dishes were ok some days,breakfast time, there was never fried eggs or beans infact breakfast was the worse meal. the bar if you were waiting for a drink and the older male barman was doing something you waited until he finished sometimes 3-5 mins the female barstaff were best,entertainment was every 2 nights with a quiz or bingo in between. outside the hotel there were cats everywhere,the beach is pebbles and stones. the town of cavtat is about a 1/2 hour walk, but a nice walk with a couple of restaurants here and there, prices,pizzas 4-6pounds a steak would cost 12-20pounds chicken 7-10pounds small bottle of beer just under 2 pounds. you can change money in cavtat in the post office and bank and theres a supermarket by the post office.a must is dubrovnic just under 6pounds by by boat. or 26pounds by taxi (one way),and you can walk to cavtat and catch a bus which is the cheapest the cable car to the top of the mountain in dubrovnic is about 10pounds. back to the hotel its a low 3 star at the moment,you could not compare it to a 4star like( birchy36 states) now the airport a couple of prices rothmans cigs (the only uk ones) 21 pounds. golden Virginia 6pounds for 50grm pouch vodka starts 9 pounds a litre. Croatia joined eu in july so 800cigs. 20 pouches tobacco 10 lts spirits

Room Tip: stay in the centre of cavtat or dubrovnic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    254
    152
    64
    27
See reviews for
171
277
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I don't know what people expect, this hotel was better than many 4 stars i've stayed in previously.

Firstly my biggest gripe of the week......
For our first 5 days it was mostly full of Germans and northern Croatians, this was great!! At dinner time you just go grab a plate and move to whatever bit of food you want, VERY simple and VERY fast.
If you end up in a hotel full of British people, then feeding time will involve queuing like an idiot for 20 minutes to get to the deserts at the far end of the large dining room.
Even when there are two sets of identical food serving area's, some people still have to queue at the first one and get all shirty when you jump to the 2nd.

My advice would be not to book via the big UK travel agents, as they get large reservation slots and can literally fill a hotel.

It sounds unpatriotic, but the Brits were by far the worst thing about this hotel, rude to the staff, rude to each other, don't leave tips for the staff, making impossible demands and carrying (cute but flea ridden) stray cats into the dining area.
Yes that's right, mosquito bites are the big ones, the countless little bites your moaning about are fleas from the "cute" cats you've been picking up..... We Brits can't grasp the concept of stay cats *face palm*

For me, the staff were all fantastic. They ARE friendly and very helpful, but may react badly if you come at them with a poor attitude (as we saw a couple of times).
Be respectful, be courteous and you'll have no problems at all. Even the cleaning staff were nice and friendly. We left a good tip in all of the staff tip boxes before we left.......

The rooms have been repainted and spruced up, you can get an idea of what the hotel used to look like if you enter the wood panelled lift in the lobby area. Personally I think i'd have loved the retro feel of what was a 1970's hotel, but "meh".

I'm not going to complain about the few silly little things we noticed (like the 2 inch gap under the shower curtain), it's a 3 star hotel and quite frankly a really good one. People who complain should try peeling themselves away from the sun loungers and free beer occasionally and go explore the fantastic area around Cavtat.
Remember it's Cavtat, not Chavtat, if you want to waste a holiday drunk on a sun lounger, then do us all a favour and sod off to Benedorm (in the nicest possible way) :)

Would I stay here again? Most certainly......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks stay all inclusive at the Iberostar Epiduarus, and were really pleasantly surprised after reading some of the more negative comments. We did get a very reasonably priced deal fairly last minute, but the Iberostar was just what I would expect for an older three star hotel. We paid a small upgrade fee for a sea view room (no balcony) and this was well worth it as the view was lovely.
The room was clean, comfortable and a reasonable size, and the rest if the hotel was also clean if a little run down and dated in places. But I've stayed in much more run down tatty places!
The food was tasty, we weren't exactly spoiled for choice but there was enough choice, it was hot, and regularly replenished. Be prepared to try things you might not eat at home, or combinations you wouldn't perhaps normally put together! The all inclusive drinks were good, the Croatian wine was very nice, and we had plenty of choices to try local spirits and liqueurs, which I would recommend.
The staff were helpful and efficient, occasionally they seemed abrupt but after further conversation I think this is more a language barrier thing.
The location of the Iberostar was fantastic, beautiful views, right on the pebbly beach, four minutes walk from the pick up points for the taxi boat, and less than 15 minutes walk along the coast to Cavtat, which is a lovely little place for a wander around. There are a good few restaurants and bars, some along the walk in to Cavtat from the hotel, and some great ice cream!
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel, so long as your expectations of what you'll get for an older three star place are realistic.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel was basic but rooms were clean, staff were friendly and worked really hard. Great location on the seafront and walking distance to Cavtat which is a charming little place.
As we paid for all inclusive we were very disappointed with the food which appeared to be "recycled" the following day. By this I mean what was on the evening menue appeared the following day in a different format. For breakfast one day there was broccolli and caullie with the cooked breakfast! Sausages one evening then appeared on the breakfast menu but swimming in grease and sliced etc etc The food was awful and we ate out every day as we just could not face what was on offer at the hotel.
We asked if we could vist the hoel next door for dinner as it was also an iberostar hotel but were told no.
We did not find a promised snacks bar which was supposed to provide food when the restaurant was closed.......maybe as it was end of season? however we were not informed this would be the case.
Eating out every day cost us money we had not budgeted for and therefore we were then limited to activities due to lack of finances.
We booked 2 rooms and paid the same price for each one however one was just big enough to hold a double bed while the other was much more spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A great weeks stay in Cavtat, hotel although could do with updating in some areas was really clean and spacious. Hotel is on the beach which is great and the sun bathing areas have plenty of sunbeds available. Food was plentiful although a little repetitive if you are on fully inclusive.
Staff really friendly and always willing to help, rooms cleaned everyday and cleaning staff wonderful.I would really recommend the hotel and will visit again in the future. It would be even better if they spend some money on updating bedrooms. 10 mins walk to the centre of Cavtat and some lovely restaurants and bars if you want to get away from the hotel for a change.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormskirk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a great stay in this hotel,the staff were all very friendly and helpful,the room itself whilst very dated was kept very clean by our daily maid.The location is superb at the head of the bay so sunsets every night from our balcony.
My only criticism was the food whilst it was plentiful it became rather predictable and lacked flavour,having said that we discovered some lovely nearby restaurants at reasonable prices.Would definitely recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here 30.9-13.10.13. The hotel is pleasant. Rooms are a little tired and dated but adequate, clean with huge comfy beds.
The drinks and food were good and what you expect from a 3* all inclusive.
The staff are friendly and polite.
The location warrants 5 stars in terms of trip advisor rating. It's 100 meters from the first bar / restaurant and the 15 min stroll to the centre of Cavtat has many of these along the way. So if you fancy getting out to eat and drink occasionally there is lots of choice and a few get lively in the evenings.
There are some lovely cafe bars and restaurants in the harbour where you can happily pass a few hours.
The number 10 bus in the centre of Cavtat will take you to Dubrovnik for 20 kuna. (8.5-9 per £1). Well worth a visit and takes about 30-40 mins. We found it was a slightly better rate in Croatia than here. Use the banks in the centre of Cavtat.
It's very cheap to eat and drink. Usually 15-22 kuna for 0.5l beer, similar for a medium glass of wine and we often had a main course each with two drinks for under a tenner.
You can also use the water taxi to Dubrovnik. It's 50kuna one way or 70-80 return.
We booked trips within cavtat. Half the price of the hotel and very reliable. Michael (Delfin Travel) situated near to Ivan restaurant is highly recommended.
Transfer from the airport is under 10 mins.
The entertainment was better than some places we've stayed, not as good as others, but often fun and Ivan and Dubrovka were great sports.
We met some lovely people and ultimately that's what makes your holiday anyway.
I would recommend it as a good value hotel in a great location, bearing in mind we paid £1200 total for two people for two weeks.
Bars / restaurants I would recommend for service and value are Cool bar, Gemill pub and Ancora tapas bar.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Epidaurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Epidaurus

Address: Od Zala 1 | Tahia Bay, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Epidaurus)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Epidaurus 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Epidaurus All Inclusive is located next to the beach in beautiful Tiha Cove and offers spectacular views of the crystal clear sea of the Dubrovnik Riviera. It lies just one kilometre from the medieval old town of Cavtat, which makes it an ideal choice for guests looking for peace and relaxation but who do not want to be too far from the attractions of a town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Epidaurus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Epidaurus Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Epidaurus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Epidaurus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.