We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haus am Meer

Save Saved
You added Haus am Meer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haus am Meer
Frana Lauerana 14 | Zora Joksimovic, Cavtat 20210, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Cavtat B&B and Inns
Den Haag
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

I cannot agree more with all the positive reviews I've read so far on this website. My boyfriend and I spent the last 3 nights of our holiday in Cavtat which we liked a lot, it is close enough to Dubrovnik to go anytime during the day with either boat or bus/car and at the same time it's quiet and very relaxing. The Rat peninsula, just walking distance, offers a beautiful walk and great little bays and rocks from which you can dive into the crystal blue water. Amazing. The town of Cavtat is very nice/pleasant and has many restaurants with terraces overlooking the harbour. The hosts of Haus am Meer were very friendly and kind people, going out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possibile. The room was clean and a lot of care had gone into the interior decoration, it was just lovely. The only downside was that because Cavtat is so close to the airport, you have airplanes flying right over the b&b, my boyfriend and I would wake up early in the morning from the noise but then fall asleep again. It was annoying but all in all it was worth the stay! P.S. Everyone mentions the steep walk up the hill to go back to the b&b: I would say that it's perfectly doable unless you're an elderly person or have small children or have some kind of handycap or are overweight.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We found this hotel just by luck. It's realy lovely as are the owners Zora and Mirko. Whatever you need or want they will get it for you. We actually got a mircowave in front or our room (8) so we could warm the night-milk for our daughter. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights (in advance we had only planned to stay one or two. The rooms are very nice and decorated with eye for detail.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

Me and my friend had only one night at this charming hotel, we took airplane bake home next morning, but we wished that we arrived to this place much early. Zora is wonderful host and so you know she is learning English language , she showed us her books. We had really comfortable and god night sleep. Breakfast was really good and with large selection. I can add to all this that hotel is vary clean and you get surrounded whit mild flower sent as soon as you steep in. We felt like home. She showed us her beautiful hotel, newly renovated rums and restaurant .Internet and satellite TV is available. Best of wishes to Zora and her husband and see you in august.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iceland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Haus am Meer for 3 nights and it is worth repeating. The room was modern and clean, the breakfast buffet was very good and fresh and the owners were so helpful and nice. They even lent us beachtowels and matresses for the beach for free. For them, nothing was too much trouble. Free parking is also available at Haus am Meer.

  • Liked — The hosts and breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — Steep hill from town center
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Our son stayed at Haus Am Meer and recommended it to us. We stayed at Haus am Meer last year for 7 nights and we were so impressed, we went back this year for 10 nights. Nothing is too much trouble for Zora and her husband, and although neither speak English, I can honestly say communication was never a problem, ( in any case, the receptionist, Ivana, speaks excellent English). Breakfast is included in the price and will set you up for the day. The room with a balcony and sea view is definitely worth the extra cash. The rooms are immaculate, as is the bathroom, and both are cleaned every day. It was home from home.
Cavtat is a beautiful place - if you want to relax and unwind in fabulous surroundings, then this is the place to go. The restaurants are all good, and very reasonably priced.
The one drawback to Cavtat is the steps up from the town but other than that, both Cavtat and Haus Am Meer can not be more highly recommended.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay at Haus am Meer and found the room very clean, modern and comfortable. A lot of attention had been paid to the decor which was delightful with matching curtains and bedlinen, etc, and had all modern amenities including in the bathroom. The owners were very friendly and cheerful and nothing was too much trouble for them. At breakfast they waited on us hand and foot and the "all you could eat" breakfast set us up nicely for the day! I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and will definitely return should I ever visit Croatia again. Cavtat itself is delightful and, apart from the steep walk back up the steps, a lovely little town with endless restaurants along the marina. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — Clean, modern & comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

we stayed at haus am meer for 3 nights.
positives:
pretty town, great restaurants, clean accomodations, appreciated the smaller touches like loaner umbrellas and beach towels, 2 bottles of water every day.
negatives:
run by a husband & wife. unfortuately, the wife was in germany while we were there and the husband (who seems like a very nice man) does not speak any english (and we don't speak croatian or german)....something as simple like getting hard boiled eggs for breakfast didn't happen. limited breakfast selection, canned fruit which is crazy considering there are pomegranate trees growing on the property. quoted prices did not include a couple different taxes. we stayed at many different hotels on this trip and this was the 1st that didn't have an all inclusive price....very little hot water, weird smell in the hallway.for 315euros (for 3 nights), with one morning with no breakfast (we left very early 1 morning). i understand charging this amount during high season but it was off season and we were the only ones on the hotel. this hotel should be charging about 20euros less....you can't charge this much if you cannot communicate with your guests.

  • Liked — beds, pillows, location
  • Disliked — price given a host who does not speak any english- unacceptable
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haus am Meer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus am Meer

Address: Frana Lauerana 14 | Zora Joksimovic, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The „Haus am Meer“ welcomes you in the pittoresque town of Cavtat – in the vicinity of the world-renowned Old Town of Dubrovnik which is a world heritage site since 1979. In Cavtat you can enjoy a relaxing beach holiday or go for your favorite sport as there is parasailing, jet ski, horse riding, scuba diving… We offer you the appropriate lodging: Spend your night in lately refurbished charming rooms and have a breakfast at the large terrace. Within a 10 minutes walk to the beach In case you choose to come by plane you will be welcomed at the airport and transferred by car. Otherwise there a parking places on our premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Haus am Meer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haus am Meer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.