We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Croatia Cavtat to your Saves list
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20210, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Lancashire England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Croatia hotel in Cavtat. Our room 909 had a view of the Adriatic sea with the rocky area below where you can swim and sunbathe, and enjoy an evening drink on the balcony ,sitting on comfortable reclining chairs. The room was newly refurbished and kept immaculately clean. The lifts can be very busy and one kept being out of order. We were on half board and there was plenty of choice at breakfast and in the evening. We shared a table near the window with great views of the village with a lovely couple but it would be better if you could request a table for two . A bottle of house wine was about 10 pounds but drinks were generally expensive in the hotel. Our waitress worked hard and was very friendly. It was sometimes difficult to get a sunbed by the pool as some people got up very early to put out their towels although there was another area nearby where sunbeds were available overlooking the sea. There was plenty of shade provided by trees or umbrellas. The pools were large and kept very clean with room for swimming and relaxing on lilos.As the week progressed, we discovered that the area where the jet ski and canoes were hired out ,overlooking the village at sea level ,was a lovely place to sunbathe and swim in the sea . It was incredibly clear and we snorkelled and saw many types of fish and even a baby octopus, There is a night club playing lots of 70s/80s music and great decor.
The village of Cavtat is pretty and unspoilt where huge yachts anchor up and we enjoyed sitting in the bar Michael watching everyone coming and going. A half litre of local beer was just over 2 pounds and other drinks were reasonable. The sunsets are amazing and there are lovely walks round the peninsulas.
We travelled to Dubrovnik on the boat and walked round the walls which was tiring in the heat but well worth it. It is a beautiful city. Other than that ,we relaxed and had a great holiday and would recommend both Cavtat and the Hotel Croatia.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    535
    137
    30
    9
See reviews for
197
796
22
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

The Hotel Croatia is huge, resembling a Russian cruise ship stranded on the peninsula - it can be seen from miles away and is in reality a concrete monstrosity. However it serves a purpose as a good quality hotel.

Inside there are seemingly endless corridors and small lifts. Staff are very helpful - most speak some English. The average wage in Croatia is E500 per month, work in hotels is seasonal and most of these staff will be laid off in October and resume work in April with no benefit system to tide them over the winter months - consider this when you are tipping them at the end of your stay! The waiting staff on tables are always eager to be of service.

Food is above average for mass-produced fare; each week there is a Croatia evening (Thursday) with interesting dishes to sample. The main restaurant is huge and echos, it needs to be redesigned. Also, if you are in a couple you will share a table with other guests, but our experiences were excellent and we met some very interesting people. Try the hotel Steak House which was excellent (if you are half-board remember to ask for a reduction), intimate atmosphere and good food cooked on the griddle. We also ate in the village of Cavtat (pronounced tzavtat) a couple of times and enjoyed good, well cooked food there (they don't mind you sharing starters and puddings either). Find the Bakery in the village for a really cheap lunch.

You will certainly have the opportunity to keep fit if you stay here as (in addition to the gym) there are over 100 steps down to the village (going down is no problem, walking back up after a few cocktails can be rather more challenging). Both swimming pools are salt water - the indoor pool is useful on very hot days, the outdoor is cleaned regularly. There is restricted availability of sunbeds around the pool - but we always managed to get somewhere to lie. You can also go down to the rocks (falsely labelled 'hotel beach') and lie there - there is also a nudist section for those inclined to naturism.

I would not recommend this hotel for small children - primarily because of the lack of beach and the danger of the rocks - they looked very steep and although there are steps down to the sea we did not risk the climb down. We did swim in the sea close to the village - sea was very clear and it was great fun. You can hire jet ski's, try diving etc in the village too.

The hotel is very clean - when we got up early for a trip we saw at first hand the army of cleaners polishing, scrubbing and generally producing a pleasing environment for the 900 guests.

Our room was relatively spacious with a really comfortable (6ft) bed and a good sized balcony. Initially we were given a 'sea view' room which faced onto trees (I think it was 201), I immediately complained to reception and was told that we could move the following day - we moved to room 219 which was much better and had a clear sea view. Motto is - always ask. Even the cleaner recognised that the original room was not good, people had obviously complained previously and she was used to guests spending just one night there. Toiletries were good quality, constant supply of hot water from excellent shower.

We went on several of the tour operator's trips. Mostar - very interesting trip, moving to see Bosnia and the relative poverty there (earnings are just E250 per month). Montenegro, brilliant walled towns of Kotor and Budva - however, we were held up on the border between Montenegro and Croatia for around three hours in 'no mans land' (the tour company were aware of this possibility but did not warn us). Eliphite Islands - lovely if the weather is good, but take a jumper if the sky looks overcast. We also walked around the peninsula in Cavtat and up to the Mausoleum just outside the village.

All in all, this was a good holiday. Croatia still has some way to go with tourism, but is getting there. This hotel is a good base for exploring the area. We enjoyed it and would recommend it to ffriends providing they were fit enough to cope with the steps and had no small children.

  • Liked — View from the hotel of the village of Cavtat
  • Disliked — The huge dining room (and the steps)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montenegro
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

I have recently stayed in Hotel Croatia and have to say that I was dissapointed. Hotel is recontructed and rooms are very nice (we had double superior sea view) with everything you need, but the hotel itself is communist looking, no style and very impersonal. Restaurant is absolutely huge and impersonal with average food choice and what was really upsetting to me is the fact that they have a tiny beach (not too nice) for 480-rooms hotel and you have to be an early bird to catch a sunbed!
So, you'll have a nice time but this is far from getting a good deal on your vacation.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

Just returned from a great holiday staying at the Hotel Croatia, Cavtat near Dubrovnik. The hotel is in a great location set amongst pine trees with stunning views of Cavtat.The rooms were comfortable, well furnished and like the rest of the hotel spotlessly clean. The restaurant had a good choice of food in a buffet ,there was also an al a carte restaurant and a steakhouse.
All staff we met were friendly, cheerful and efficient.
The pool areas were well maintained and pleasant to sit in,there were always loungers available and shade if needed.
There is also a gym, watersports, piano bar and nightclub
Cavtat is a pretty village and a short walk from the hotel along the bay (there are very steep steps around the hotel and down to the waterfront) There is a good selection of small bars and restaurants along the waterfront of Cavtat where several luxury yachts stay overnight.
There are boats to go to Dubrovnik regulary leaving Cavtat it takes about 45mins and the last return 11pm. The bus to Dubrovnik picks up at the hotel and takes about 30mins and costs 20Kunas return.
I would highly recommend this hotel and area of Croatia for a relaxing holiday

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — limited entertainment in the evening
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whatthedeuce
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

. Hotel Croatia is great. Myself my partner and our young baby visitied last April. I have never felt so welcome. The staff did everything posible to make your stay fantastic and it was! The scenery from every balcony,window and of course the gardens of the hotel was lovely. Although Cavtat is a small fishing village, the food & wine was really good and a really nice place to chill out a short taxi boat trip away from the hussle and bussle of the city dubrovnik.It has to be one of the nicest places I have ever visited. Would return in a flash

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm on Tees UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Good points:- (more detail below) comfortable rooms -quality quiet air conditioning - fantastic sea views (if booked!) - nice concrete beaches with great views and clear clean water - helpful friendly staff. Great views from beach bar and pool bar

Bad points:- massive impersonal restaurant with poor aircon - no wine waiter and limited info in wine list and waitress who could not help - newspapers 2 days old (if you care?) - lots of steps to beach or town - conferences constantly on using some "public areas" - no opportunity to eat outdoors in hotel other than lunch at pool and beach restaurants. No guide to hotel faclilities in room.

Recommendations :- book a sea view (fantastic views and sunset) - try to go B&B (not an option for us with Thomsons) - do eat out in Cavtat - Leut is expensive but good (although proprietor can be a bit too talkative) - visit Dubrovnik often by boat - the fish platter at the Arsenal was great (if you have a good appetite)

We were on a Thomson package holiday and were pleased with service and assistance from representatives particularly Tatjana the hotel rep who made the best welcome presentation we have ever enjoyed (indeed probably the only one we have ever enjoyed) due to her enthusiasm for her country and lack of attempt to push any trips.
Cavtat is beautiful - compact but attractive and unspoilt although it is much more busy than last time we stayed here 28 years ago when there were only a few restaurants in the town. Lots of good restaurants at different price levels - good value. Nice walk round the peninsula - don't go as far as Hotel Ambassador or Epidaurus unless you want to see why they are not in the same league as the Croatia.
Our room (123) on the first floor was comfortable with excellent air conditioning (needed) and a good sized well appointed bathroom. Limited drawer space but just adequate. Sea view was fantastic - on lower floor meant we looked out from our bed over the sea- just like being on a cruise ship. The rocky "beach" on our side was great for swimming and snorkelling but a bit exposed - no shade - and was closed for 2 days due to heavy seas. The town side beach down steps was always sheltered - had shade and sun beds and parasols - calm clear sea with fantstic views over town and a pleasant beach bar and restaurant. Busy but never overcrowded.

Despite the very warm dining room we had a great holiday and would certainly go back before we get too infirm to manage the steps.

Excursions through Thomsons were all good (although the heat made walking somewhat tiring at times) Air conditioned coaches were comfortaable. The guided tour round Dubrovnik was good value and interesting. Our highlight was the Air/coach trip to Plitvic national park - was very hot and very busy but the scenery and experience was breathtaking.

  • Liked — Comfortable - fantastic views - access to Cavtat
  • Disliked — Poor aircon (if any) in dining room - impersonal dining room - no assistance with wine choice
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks break in Croatia staying in the hotel Croatia. The hotel is large with many amenities. It has fantastic views over the harbour to the front and the Adriatic to the rear.
The hotel has just undergone a major refurbishment so everything was crisp and clean with new carpets.

We paid for a sea view for this reason however what we got was a view of a large tree directly outside our room and could barely glimpse the sea through the branches. We complained to the manager who explained that if you can see the sea at all they classify it as a sea view, so beware.
After a lot of complaining we did get moved to a new room which did have a sea view.

Rooms are well decorated and a good size. Bathrooms are new and clean with good showers, although there is often no hot water very early in the morning.

To get to the harbour you have to walk down 129 steps, which are quite steep and not suitable if you have any walking difficulties.

The other problem is with the air conditioning, our room was just about ok but others we spoke to didn’t have air con working all week and their room temperature rose to 32. Communal areas weren’t great particularly the dining room where it was non existent.

Food was buffet self service which was of a high standard. We were half board but if you were B&B there are plenty of nice restaurants by the harbour. Typical three course meal with drinks worked out at about £20 per head. Hotel drinks prices are expensive. A large beer (not quite a pint) was just over £4. Wine varied in price from £14 a bottle for house wine to £65 a bottle for good wines. You are paying for the view and the odd beer on the terrace is worth the money.

Staff are very friendly and helpful and always seem cheerful.

Overall it is a good hotel but not really 5* more 4* but compared to others we saw in the area it is one of the better ones. Despite my gripes I would stay there again but I wouldn’t pay for a sea view and I would go B&B.

  • Liked — Views of the harbour. General location.
  • Disliked — Air Conditioning
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#3 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Croatia Cavtat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.