We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Croatia Cavtat to your Saves list
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20210, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
rugby
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked for 10 days on a recommendation from a friend who had been to this Hotel, he assured us, we wouldn't be disappointed, and we were not,
the staff at reception checked us in quickly and they were very helpful in giving us the local information, always plenty of staff to meet your needs,
Dining room , Eat inside or outside, plenty of Staff ,We had Marje to tend to our every needs at Breakfast & Dinner, food very good, plenty of choice, 2 different soup's, Salad bar, fish, and several different meats,everyday, sweets lovely and a selection of Tinned fruit, or wide variety of Fresh fruit, then Cheese's, have never been to a Hotel with so much selection, ok. not fine dining, but you are not paying fine dining price's, the local Wine good. and Thanks to the Kitchen Staff for producing such a good selection,
The hotel was full, with a Cytology Convention,as well as Holiday Guest's we never ever had to queue for our meals.
rooms, kept lovely and clean, Towels changed everyday, and bedding every3rd, day, all Toiletries
free pool Towels, we had a 9th floor room, and a inland view, but we enjoyed the Fir Tree's with the birds.
Hotel location great overlooking Cavtat Harbour, stunning views from the Hotel, steps come down from the Hotel to the centre, and the Hotel provides a Golf Buggy for people that have a mobility problem,or to tired to climb the steps back, We certainly enjoyed our 10 days stay and we will be back next year. j.B. Rugby

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reporting your comments on Trip Advisor Web page.
It is a pleasure to see that you specifically mentioned the attitude of our employees which is the true reflect of the genuine Croatian hospitality.
Your comments are the best award we may received from our customers.
Best regards,
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    535
    137
    30
    9
See reviews for
197
796
22
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Although the hotel is a short distance from the local village Cavtat the walk down is pleasant, the steps back up are good exercise after a meal. The hotel is comfortable, suggest you opt for a sea view when booking, pay the extra and avoid disappointment as the inland rooms are quite dark. Rooms are well appointed, breakfast is superb with a large choice of cooked food, cold meats, fish, cheeses, fruit etc. Staff are very friendly and helpful, the village has a small mini market, many restaurants and a delightful harbour. Dubrovnik is 18 kms away Cavtat is 5 minutes from the Airport so you will hear planes taking off and landing. We enjoyed our stay and have booked to go again next year, all in all great place and great value.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reporting your comments on Trip Advisor Web page.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed most of our facilities. I am sorry to see that you did not enjoyed our dinner buffet while most of our customers really enjoyed both quality and service in this specific outlet.
But I can see with pleasure that this will not prevent you to come back to our property.
Thank you again for you valuables comments and best regards,
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

First let me start by saying that we had a fantastic holiday here and the hotel is perfectly positioned in a beautiful area. The rooms were great, we had a sea view, very well appointed and the staff were lovely. All the amenities are also top class including first class massages available in the Spa.
Our only gripe was the evening meal. We had booked half board so for the first two days we ate in the buffet restaurant. Breakfast was ok as there was plenty on offer, fruits, cereal, lovely bread, cooked breakfast items, etc. But breakfast is breakfast and we wanted more from our evening meal for this to be classed 5 star.
We found that we were having to queue (10 minutes 2nd night) to get to the buffet and when we got there the food was luke warm at best. We never got a plate of hot food in two nights.
The food on offer was also unfortunately comparable to a motorway service station, in that it had been pushed and poked by other diners and was not of the 5 star quality you expect from a 5 star hotel.
When seated, we found that everyone was walking past every minute to get to their evening meal and this didn't give the atmosphere of a romantic, relaxing evening meal. There was no where to escape this traffic.The lighting was also very bright and didn't lend itself to an evening meal. My wife is vegetarian and wasn't that well catered for. Most things veggie were just of the stodgy carbohydrate variety, ie. potatoes, dumplings, pasta. Fresh warm main vegetarian dishes were not very abundant.
Due to the above we decided to dine out on an evening, for the rest of the week. We asked if we could swap our eveing meal for a meal around the pool area but were told that this wasn't an option. It should be as we stopped in a 5 star hotel in Sorrento last year and this enabled us to dine out a few evenings in the week and still have 2 paid for meals a day, at the hotel. The Hotel Croatia needs to make this option available.
Having said all the above, we did have meals around the pool and they were very good. Freshly made, hot, well served and plenty of choice. They were sadly of better quality than the evening fare, though they were of the hot sandwich variety. The squid salad was delicious though and well received.
Would we go back to the hotel? In a word yes, but only on a B&B basis unless they change the way evening meals are catered for and give the option to swap an eveing meal for a daytime bar snack.

Room Tip: Get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear guest,
I could see through your comments that you really enjoyed your holidays in our property and I am very glad to see that you are recommending our property to other potential guests.
I understand that your only gripe was the buffet dinner in our main buffet restaurant. We took good note of your comments despite of the fact that most of our customers are quite pleased with the quality and variety f our night offer. We will definitely try to increase our choice in order to meet your full expectation upon your return on the sunny Cavtat.
Thank you again for your positive criticism and best regards,
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just back from a week at the Hotel Croatia in Cavtat. The hotel was everything we wanted, fab view of the sea from our room/balcony, wonderful views of Cavtat harbour from the terrace at breakfast & dinner. The hotel is extremely comfortable, but not luxurious.
The selection of food at breakfast & dinner was impressive and although not 'fine dining' in general it was pretty good. You'd be hard pushed not to find something you liked. We had lunch in the poolside restaurant one day & that was good too.

There is no proper beach at the hotel but they have very cleverly created sun bathing slabs on the rocks and built a platform for getting into the sea when it's not too rough. We only swam there once and it was much better than the pool - which was good too being salt water. We spent a couple of late afternoons on the slabs, taking some drinks down one night to watch the sunset - absolute bliss.

The only downside to the hotel was the cost of drinks. About double the price in the bars in Cavtat & four times the cost in the supermarket. We bought some wine from the supermarket and drank that before dinner each evening, then walked down to the town for cofee and (local) brandy afterwards.

I'd still recomend it though! Oh and take a kettle tea & cofee with you for a cuppa in your room.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a high sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reporting your comments on Trip Advisor Web page.
I am glad to see that you truly enjoyed our facilities, location and services. Concerning the price of the beverage we are definitely not twice the price of the other bars in town. Any where you go around the world, you cannot expect to be charged in a five star hotel the same price you may be charged in a bar on the street... and naturally you cannot compare the prices of a hotel with the ones of a supermarket!!!
We hope to see you soon back to the lovely Cavtat.
Thank you again for you valuables comments and best regards,
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cragavon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We are just back from holidaying in cavtat it was our first time there and hopfully not the last.We stayed in hotel croatia it was a fabulous hotel every inch a 5 star hotel .It was everything you could hope for in a hotel and more.When we checked in the room we got was fabulous we just changed and went to the pool when we returned later we were told we had gotten the wrong room the girl on recepition appoligsed and gave us another room on a lower floor still a faboulous room .Then later we recieved a bottle of wine for any inncovience.Everyone in the hotel from the cleaners who work so hard to bar staf and reception are all friendly and attentive nothing is to much trouble for them.Breakast was lovley any amount of food we didnt go half board we ate out in cavtat and if you stick to tripadvisor on display on there boards you cant go wrong we had some amazing food.We had a great t
ime and it is what it says a wee gem we are looking into going again next year for two weeks thats how much we enjoyed it we have never done that before thats how much we loved it

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor you dont need elavotor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reporting your comments on Trip Advisor Web page.
It is good to see that you are already planning to come back in our property for your next visit in Croatia.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed the food and the quality of our buffet restaurant.
We really hope to see you soon back to our property.
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallins, Co KIldare, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have just returned from 14 days at Hotel Croatia and it was a very pleasent experience. Everything about the hotel, the staff, the rooms, the swimming pools etc., was good except for the evening meal which was very very poor. The selection was bad and the quality of the food was bad. All other food available was very good so I cannot understand how the standard of the evening Meal was so bad, certainly not 5 star.

If I stayed here again I would only book B&B and not Half Board.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are excellent and worth the extra cost. We were on floor 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reporting your comments on Trip Advisor Web page.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed both variety and quality of our buffet restaurant.
Concerning the tennis court, this is one of the few renovation we still have to do in our property and we may do it this winter.
We really hope to see you soon back to our property.
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We booked a 12-night break through Prestige Holidays to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. It was our first visit to Croatia and also our first experience of Adriatic Luxury Hotels and we were delighted with both.
The hard-working staff are a great asset to this hotel. They were welcoming, friendly, polite and efficient without being subservient. We loved practising our few words of Croatian, and they showed us up with their very good command of English. The people who work in the buffet restaurant were delightful.
There was a biomedical conference going on in the hotel at the same time as our visit, but the hotel never felt crowded and we never had to wait for any of the services.
It was also my birthday during our stay and I was surprised and delighted to return to our room to find a lovely cake on the table! Little touches like this make a holiday memorable.
We stayed half board at the Hotel Croatia and had a wonderful sea-facing room on the 6th floor. We could not fault it – comfortable, contemporary, clean and with a fantastic view. We spent considerable time just sitting on our balcony watching the birds in flights, drinking a glass of wine, reading or reflecting on life.
The food at Hotel Croatia was very good and considering they were catering for a wide range of international tastes, there was an extensive choice of breads, salads, vegetables, meat, fish and desserts to satisfy the most discerning palate. We never got bored at mealtimes and we were glad of the 126 steps down into the village so that we could walk off some of our extra calories!
We also loved swimming in the clear waters of the Adriatic from the rocks below our room and people-watching from the Cavtat beach side. We also used both the indoor and outdoor pools.
We thought that the little resort of Cavtat was charming and would definitely love to return. I loved the paths around the two peninsulas – ideal for walking after breakfast or before supper. There were cafes and restaurants where you could buy very reasonably priced drinks and snacks and the well-stocked supermarket in Cavtat had the friendliest checkout staff you could wish to meet.
We took a boat trip to Dubrovnik, and guided excursions to Korcula, Montenegro and Mostar and felt that we learned a great deal about the area.
If I was to actively look for a negative on this holiday it would be that the tennis courts and the gym could do with tidying and updating in general. We do like to play tennis when we go away on holiday and on two occasions when we enquired the reception staff either didn’t know where they were or that they had any! We were initially directed towards the volleyball court! We eventually found the courts ourselves, but they were not really what you would expect of a 5-star resort, neither was the equipment in the gym. But having said that, it wouldn’t prevent me from coming back in the future!

Room Tip: Sea-facing rooms make all the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reporting your comments on Trip Advisor Web page.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed both variety and quality of our buffet restaurant.
Concerning the tennis court, this is one of the few renovations we still have to do in our property and we may do it this winter.
We really hope to see you soon back to our property.
Gildas Renaux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#3 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Croatia Cavtat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.