We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Cavtat Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cavtat to your Saves list
Hotel Cavtat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Lancashire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cavtat Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife & I plus two friends have just returned from a fortnight in Cavtat Croatia at Hotel Cavtat. We booked online via "Jet 2" from Manchester & could not fault the flight or check-in both flying out or returning. Cavtat is a medium sized village with two harbours and has a charm of its own, it is nice to walk along the front and there are several bars & restaurants at various prices about the same as England depending what standard you require. It is quiet not full of dance bars etc so the young may not want this setting.

The hotel is ideally located right in the center of the village and on a quiet coastal road. We stayed B&B with added evening meal and found the hotel to be excellent, the staff were really friendly from the reception down to the room maids they all had a pleasant greeting with a smile. The rooms themselves were of a good size exceptionally clean well decorated in a white & blue theme the towels were changed each day & bedding twice a week the beds (two 3ft divans) were memory foam and very comfortable. There are lifts to most floors and a lounge on each level, the sea view rooms are worth having, there is a small swimming pool on the top floor with sun loungers on the decking. An added bonus is the free deposit box situated behind the reception & free air con in the rooms.

The breakfast is a buffet style with anything from fruit, bread, cheese, cereal to a full cooked breakfast tea or coffee. The evening meals were again buffet style with salad, soup, and a choice of approx 6 variations of meat, fish etc., the only problem was the temperature was a little cool which is a common problem with trying to keep food hot in a buffet situation, but it was well worth the £40 extra we paid for 2 weeks on the price of the holiday.

In my opinion this hotel should have a 4 star rating I have been in many 4 star hotels which did not match this standard. Well done to all management & staff

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is well worth the extra but all the rooma are well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear RicbarLancashire,

thank you for taking the time to write your feeback about recent stay with us.
Your words are so much appreciated. It is so nice once again to read such a beautiful words about our small Cavtat, our friendly and good welcoming staff, our services..

I need to mention that we are happy to read that we've truly fulfilled your expectations.
That is our motivation to keep going same way as we are stiil going.

It will be our honour to welcome you and your friends again!

In meatime we're sending you best regards from sunny Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    197
    59
    8
    6
See reviews for
44
362
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Would like to thank Vanja, Ivana, Kristijan and Mario for their fantastically warm welcome, great service and lively conversation in the bar at Hotel Cavtat. They all contributed to a great time spent there .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear johnolang1,

we would like to thank you for choosing our fabolous bar "Karaka" to enjoy your drink.
Vanja, Ivana, Kristijan and Mario are sending to you the warmest regards!

We hope that you'll visit us again in future!

Best wishes,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with Hotel Cavtat. We had previously stayed in the Old Town at an extremely expensive hotel but I must say that Hotel Cavtat was much better. We were treated on a more personal level which makes for a more comfortable stay.
The restaurant is one of the best I have been to in the area with a great menu and fine wines. This is a hotel I would recommend to anyone. You would never be sorry.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear joycebk,

WOW! It is so nice to read that you liked our hotel.
I would like to thank you to noticed all our attention to every guest.

Also, thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor's page!

We hope that we'll have an oportunity to welcome you again in our lovely, friendly hotel!

In meatime we're sending you warm regards,

Ivo Sutalo with every member of my staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have always liked the Croatian coast but have found pricing for Dubrovnik to have risen sharply so with a relaxing holiday required booked up the Hotel Cavtat in Cavat which appeared to have the best location and the standard of accomodation we required

Although only a 3 star Hotel (Hotel Cavtat) is very close to being a 4 star - the rooms have all refurbished or rebuilt over the last 18 months are are extremly well appointed - We had a room on the third floor 329 which was well set out and had a wonderful balcony (The trees could have a prune as the view was slightly restricted)
With the brilliant weather we had to hire a fridge for the room as this is not complimentary - this did not detract froim the room but we would ask for 5th floor next time which hopefully be early summer next year. The pool was fantastic on the 5th floor but there could be more shade as it is very exposed but an asset to the hotel. On the Restaurant side the Breakfast was fantastic - nothing more to say on that
In the Evening the meal was also Buffet style we felt that this could be improved if it changed to table service as one had to be on time for dinner otherwise selections would be limited.

Now for the staff we felt from the first person we saw who was (Ivo on reception) who was very helopful as were every member of staff we encountered - all were able to answer a question or two including the maid who did our room to the restaurant\bar staff - Hopefully we can meet Ivo the Manager next time - we like where we think the hotel heading - the only thing is it will be hard to get a booking in this fantastic hotel a future 4 star

Room Tip: We had room 329 excellent but would look at 4th or fifth floors Possibly room 413
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear robwutangtech,

What a wonderful review!!! Your words are so much appreciated!

So much beautiful comments in only one description!
We would like to thank you for sharing it with other TripAdvisor's visitors!
In the moment, our aim is to be really good 3*** hotel, and to improve all our services as in 4**** stars or even 5***** hotels.

We like to show to every our guest that he is important to us during all his stay.
I hope that one day we'll succeed in it.

We truly hope for your next visit!

Best wishes from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have just returned from a one week stay at the Hotel Cavtat. It was our first trip to Croatia and we were not disappointed Cavtat is absolutely beautiful. The Hotel is situated right on the sea and only minutes from the centre. We could not fault the hotel. We booked a room with a sea view and what a view! It is spotlessly clean and our room was cleaned every morning whilst we were at breakfast, The staff were excellent. There was always a large choice of food at mealtimes. The drinks in the hotel were reasonably priced. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Carol K,

I would like to thank you for posting your wonderful experience with us.
It is good feeling to hear that you've liked our small, but gorgeus country, our lovely Cavtat wit its friendly citizens.

We hope that it wasn't your last visit to Croatia and our hotel!

In meantime we're sending you the warmest regards,

Ivo Sutalo with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Spent our last night of our holiday at hotel Cavtat. Nice hotel, good location and breakfast included. They have an in-house salon by the roof top pool, where I had a great massage- really professional guy, lovely view from the room and relaxing atmosphere all for a really reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear emmalondon2013,

thank you for sharing your experience with us, as well for promoting our magnificient spa center Lavanda.
We're happy that you liked our hotel, our great massage,..

We hope that you'll stay with us again in future!

Kind regards from Cavtat,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just returned from out first trip to Croatia and can honestly say, Cavtat is now our favourite holiday destination. We booked right away to return next year. Hotel Cavtat is just lovely, with stunning views across the Adriatic. The hotel was spotless and the staff friendly and charming. We didn't have a room with a view, which suited us fine as we only slept in the room as were out and about all the time. We booked a double room with garden view and ended up in room 316, which was actually two rooms together. One room was bunk beds and the other was a massive king size room. (It must have been a family suite) loads of room for just two of us, and decorated beautifully. We stayed on a B & B basis and the breakfasts were plentiful and yummy. Cavtat has many gorgeous, reasonable restaurants, so B&B was a great choice. The view from the roof top pool is glorious, however be warned the pool water is very cold !! We booked on booking.com and the price we paid was such a bargain for what we got. Thankyou Hotel Cavtat for giving us such a wonderful and relaxing holiday. (ps the hotel will arrange for you to be picked up from the airport if you email them and ask, and the transfer time is just 10 minutes, which adds to the ease of holidaying here.

Room Tip: 316 is great if you need your own space ... a family room with a door dividing a kingsize bed area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo Š, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear holibagsareus,

WOW!!! Thank you sooo so much fro your perfect comments, and as well for yoour next booking!!
It will be our honour to welcome you next season!

Yes, you're right. Your room was family room with bunk beds in one room, and double bed in other. I suppost we were fully booked, so this room was only available to allocate you in it.

I am so happy to read that our guests really enjoyed our roof terrace overlooking Tiha bay, and houses of lovely Cavtat.

I hope that you'll enjoy again in your bext visit with us!

In meantime we're sending you the warmest regards,

Ivo Sutalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cavtat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.