We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Three Star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cavtat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cavtat to your Saves list
Hotel Cavtat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Really Good Three Star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Cavtat for the last week of the season in October and enjoyed our stay. First the hotel is a three star and so never sugests it is luxurious. We hd emailed ahead for a front facing sea room but on arrival were given a side facing room near reception that we thought would be noisy. We went back to reception with our email and the lady quickly gave us a better sea view room. I'd say we got the second best sea view as whilst very nice, there were other rooms with a more direct view accross the bay that to be honest we would have preferred. However, I'm not sure how much Cosmos pay for their 'sea view' rooms compared to the other operator Thomson. The 2nd room was however a good (not large) size and was comfortable. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean, for example the toilets near the restaurant sparkled every day and had fresh flowers in them. Also, as others have said, the staff are very friendly and helpful. It was a shame they were being laid off for the winter and I hope the manager re-employs them all next year as the team is a credit to her.

Overall we thought the food was good and didn't struggle for choices on most nights. I think they had a new chef and you could tell they had made an effort. The down side was that the bain-maries struggled to keep the food hot unless you removed the lids and went for the food in the centre or waited for fresh supplies to come out. I saw the chef doing some temp checks and it was only just hitting 59c when really food should be kept over 65c minimum. Overall we were happy though. The restraunt has lovely views over the bay. Drinks wih meals were priced okay. The bottles of beer (375ml) were about £2 equiv but wine seemed expensive at about £15-20 per bottle. We bought some quite nice local red wine from a supermarket for £1.50 per litre so would recommend the hotel reduces its prices and would therefore sell more.

Don't forget the rooftop terrace for sunbeds and a great view over the resort and bay - really nice on a sunny day and plenty of beds/chairs/parasols. We didn't go swimming in the sea but it looked very clean and was still warm ish in late Oct.

The boat to dubroknik is great. Instead of going to Cavtat harbour, turn right out of the hotel bottom entrance and walk towards the Albatros hotel. After 6-7 mins you get to a stall and boat jetty where the chap sells rtn tickets for 60kn instead of 80kn from Cavtat - and it's the same boat and same company. Boats are every hour and more frequent 0900-1100 out and 1500-1730 back. Overall much better than the bus if the sea isn't rough.

Do go on the trips to Mostar, Montenegro and Korcula with Gulliver travel- all 11-12 hour trips and great value. We booked in advance through Thomson's website (Gulliver is their local supplier) and whilst we paid a little more than other suppliers, the trips were better than those described by others. Going into Bosnia is something I never thought I'd do and is a really nice country - as is the whole area which is filled with natural beauty and history. Croatia is by far our favourite med destination after this trip.

Overall Crotia is safe, very clean and tidy and well appointed. Most people speak great English and prices are quite cheap if you eat like the italians - coffee, icecream, pizza and pasta dishes were excellent quality and very cheap - a 22 inch freshly made pizza is enough for lunch for two and costs £5 equiv. Beer was typically £2.20 per half litre and good quality cappucino was about £1.20 in a harbour facing bar/cafe. If you want a beach day, go to Dubrovnik on the boat, leave the old town through the gate on the right of the harbour as you come in and there is a private sandy beach with showers, bar and all facilities after 6-7 min walk up the hill. I think it was about £4 for a sunbed for the day.

Water - the water in Croatia is not only safe to drink, it is considerably better tasting than in the UK. We drank tap water all week and it was lovely. In Dubrovnik, you can fill up bottles at the big fountain which is a spring outlet and again is excellent quality and safe. Also, the water in the airport loo basins can be used to fill up empty bottles (so take one through security for this purpose). We were glad we did as our Monarch flight was delayed 23 hours! seven hours of which we spent in the airport. At 12.30am we ended up at the Hotel Croatia for the night which I have to say was very nice. I believe you can go in there to use their pools for 10-15kn each but they are both sea water and were not that well heated - nice facilities though and an option instead of the Cavtat hotel's lido area.

Therefore - if you want luxury and high prices, go to the Hotel Croatia. If you want a good three-star, stay at Hotel Cavtat.

Room Tip: Try for the front facing high floor rooms on same level as reception - they are the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris D, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing nice impressions with Trip Advisor!
Your letter is nice and calming for me as from some latest articles on Trip Advisor regarding hotel waiters I started to think that something strange was happening last weeks in hotel. We always had only compliments on their approach, helpfulness and courtesy, so when I read that somebody insulted guests makes me feel bad.
You also noticed we were fighting with buffet table that didn’t heat dishes enough. That is why our chef was measuring food temperature all the time to make sure it is hot enough. They didn’t want to fill lots of food immediately, but were bringing food gradually to keep it warmth.
Since we took over hotel from the last owners just 2,5 months prior to its opening, we weren’t aware of all technical problems, just when season started certain appliances and equipment started getting broken and we had to fix while guests were in the hotel. But now we have entire winter time to fix everything and hopefully such situation won’t repeat anymore.
Thank you for all comments and information regarding Cavtat and Croatia as they can convince many potential guests to visit us and spend enjoyable holiday here.

Team of the hotel Cavtat wishes you all the best and we look forward to welcome you again!


Iris Domazet Malobabic
General Manager
Hotel Cavtat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    200
    59
    8
    6
See reviews for
44
368
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
greek walker
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Good but could be so much better. Location is great and the rooms and views are very good. The public areas are OK but it then dissapoints with food ,including breakfast , that ranged between very poor to just ordinary. The other strange and annoying feature was trying to obtain a drink after dinner --- the hotel did not seem to want this business . There are plenty of bars within walking distance so no great hardship but we heard a few complaints about this. Staff were great but we had the impression of no manager actually running the ship with the result that some well meaning efforts on the part of the staff were wrongly directed or duplicated . Overall good but only just makes 3 out of 5

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris D, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for comments on Trip Advisor!
I`m sorry you didn`t find our hotel satisfying in each department. Honestly you surprised me with some facts as “no drink after dinner”. Our dinner in main restaurant is offered till 09:00 p.m. while our bar “Karaka” (which is part of the hotel, with entrance through hotel and from the street) in October was open till 11:00 p.m. and during the summer was open till 12:00 p.m. (sometimes even longer when guests want to have extra drinks). That is official working time and nobody is allowed to close bar before that.
Because we want to get extra business we offer many soft drinks, alcohol drinks, cocktails at reasonable prices (average price in Cavtat`s bars). Many guests even commented how good bar we have due to its position and also affordable prices since we are hotel (and hotel always has higher prices than bars).
Also often we had situations in hotel that guests order some drink during dinner time and wants to take it outside on the bar terrace or in hotel saloon to enjoy longer in drink. Of course for us that is never problem. Or if guest request drink after dinner while staying in hotel saloon, we bring it from the bar.
I apologize once more in behalf of the hotel if you had any unpleasant situation with some of our waiters who maybe misunderstood you as we never had such complaints. I hope those moments didn`t ruin your holiday and overall impressions.

Warmest regards from hotel Cavtat!

Iris Domazet Malobabic
General Manager
Hotel Cavtat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

İt has a very good scenery and good service. but the breakfast is not so good.i reccomend everyone who wants to have a cheap stay in cavtat. by the way it is a summer hotel... You would better stay in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris D, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for comments on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for compliments on good service. This is in fact summer hotel as we operate from end of April till end of October. We are aware that we still don’t have any facilities for winter time (as SPA, indoor swimming pool), but in future plans are construction of those facilities which will make our guests to prolong their holidays while enjoying in warm and sunny winter in Cavtat.

Team of the hotel Cavtat wishes you all the best and we are looking forward to welcome you again!

Iris Domazet Malobabic
General Manager
Hotel Cavtat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Had a lovely 2 week stay at this hotel and would certainly go back so here is a little overview.

Location
Great setting in the middle of a small bay and just a couple of miles from the airport which meant very quick transfers. As mentioned you do get plane noise but nothing to lose sleep over. The main town of Cavtat is just 2 minutes walk away in the next bay. Here you will find plenty of places to eat and drink and a mixture of souvenir and everyday shops to keep you going. Cavat is also well placed for boat and road trips to Croatian attractions and neighbouring countries.

Facilities
We had a sea view room which was of a decent size with a nice balcony overlooking the bay. Bit dated but spotlessly clean and comfortable. There are no safety deposit boxes in the room but they are available in a room next to the reception desk. No swimming pool but there is a bathing platform in front of the main building with a roped off swimming area. There is a bar /seating area there as well for lunches and drinks. Additional sunbathing is available on a large roof terrace which has nice views. All meals were served in a good size dining room which also had a covered outdoor section from which you could look out over the bay.

Food
All meals are buffet with waiter served drinks. Breakfast is a good mix of hot and cold food with plenty to choose from. The evening meals are a bit more limited selection wise but we never struggled to find something to have. As has been mentioned in other reviews some dishes were not always as hot as they could have been. However the food was always fresh and for the most part very tasty so no complaints from us. The drinks are good value compared to many hotels we have stayed in with a large selection available.

Last but not least are the hotel staff. All of them are so friendly and helpful at all times and made you feel at home. Thanks to them this was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms worth the extra cost -great views across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris D, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you sharing nice impression on hotel Cavtat with Trip Advisor!

I have to point out that your comments are realistic and that is why I appreciate them! From your words I realize you are person who travels a lot and therefore are capable to make comparison to other hotel properties. I would also say that this hotel is good value for money, for one 3* hotel. We are aware of building shape (bit dated), also we have to fight with old hotel equipment which often just corrupts and then it takes for a days to get new equipment pieces from capital town of Croatia. But all the time our team is trying to be as much as they can friendly and helpful so guests don`t see and feel our daily problems within hotel. After all, we are here to host guests and we are here for you – our guests, so our prime concern is you feel good once you are staying with us.

We are all glad you had the most relaxing holiday and hopefully we will welcome you again so you can have another “the most relaxing holiday”!

Team of the hotel Cavtat wishes you all the best!

Iris Domazet Malobabic
General Manager
Hotel Cavtat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Having just returned from a week at the Cavtat, We found the Hotel well situated for the small quaint town of Cavtat. Hotel staff very friendly, nothing is to much for them in going out of there way to please you. rooms a good size with some splendid views of the bay, towels changed daily. Food a good choice, both at breakfast and dinner. a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: room 225 good bay veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris D, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for short and sincere comments about hotel Cavtat!
We are glad you had very enjoyable holiday and that our team has contributed!

Team of the hotel Cavtat sends you warmest regards and we hope to welcome you next season again!

Iris Domazet Malobabic
General Manager
Hotel Cavtat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is set in the perfect location to explore the small town of Cavtat, stunning views. The staff are lovely very helpful and friendly. very clean and well serviced the towels are changed every day, and the sheets, quite exceptional we thought. Air con and safety boxes free. The breakfasts were fine, loads of choice, so we could always find enough to satisfy our needs............ but the evening meals awful!!! not very well cooked, and alway cold (buffet style). Having been there on 2 other occasions, tried it again on the first night as it has changed ownership, but to no avail, still as bad as I remember. Luckily we had budgeted to eat out, which we did for the rest of the week. Bed and Breakfast would be perfect! I would use this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms with sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris D, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about hotel Cavtat with Trip Advisor.
I`m sorry you didn`t find our dinner satisfactory. We are aware of our technical problem with buffet table as some heaters just got broken and couldn’t heat table and food enough. We did ordered new ones but it usually takes about week to get them (as we can`t bus them in Cavtat or Dubrovnik). In meantime we were trying different ways to keep food hot but obviously it didn`t work well all the time. Once more I apology for that!
This winter we will have enough time to fix all equipment and prepare it for next season.
I`m glad you are happy overall with maintaining of the hotel, it`s staff friendliness and hospitality.
Hopefully we will welcome you again next year and in meantime we send you warmest regards from “perfect location”!


Iris Domazet Malobabic
General Manager
Hotel Cavtat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from Cavtat and we were actually staying at the Villa Ragusa, we had booked half board, and we were told that our meals would be at the Hotel Cavtat. This was not a problem to us at all, and it was only 2 minutes away from where we were staying. The food here was absolutly fantastic, along with the hospitality of all the staff. I would also like to thank Hotel Cavtat for making our holiday so memorable, by assisting with the birthday surprise for my husband, the huge cake you made was perfect and beautiful (and very tasty), along with complimentary champayne- thankyou so much. Our holiday was perfect, and would recommend this hotel to anyone, and we hope to stay with you when we return to the beautiful Cavtat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris D, General Manager at Hotel Cavtat, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Mrs. Zoe,

Thank you for nice article on Trip Advisor!
I can see you wrote review just upon your return home, as last Wednesday you were celebrating birthday. I`m glad at the end your husband liked surprised, cake with candle, champagne and song. Maybe I didn`t tell you my name that evening, but the blond girl you spoke with that evening and you meet next morning was me [--].
We were all pleased you had good time in our hotel and specially that evening as it is was nice surprise for all hotel guests who gather behind your back to see what was going on and everybody were pleased to see how we treat our guests.
We hope to see you next year and to welcome you as our hotel guests, that way you can feel hospitality not only in restaurant but entire hotel!

Warmest regards from hotel Cavtat team!

Iris Domazet Malobabic
General Manager
Hotel Cavtat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavtat

Address: Tiha, 8 | Bay of Cavtat, Konavle, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Iberostar Cavtat Hotel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
#4 Family Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavtat 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavtat in Cavtat, Croatia, situated in the Tiha Bay, on the shores of the Adriatic Sea is the perfect place for your holiday.Experience leisure, rest and full relaxation during your stay with us, our friendly staff will make sure you will want to come back years to come, great number of our guests already return every year to their favorite room.The Hotel is three star facility open from April to October, offers numerous services that ensure your holidays will be more comfortable, such as car parking, wireless Internet access in public areas, satellite TV and laundry service. Currency exchange and car hire, along with other services you might need, are available at our reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cavtat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cavtat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.