We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location...great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Remisens Hotel Albatros

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Remisens Hotel Albatros to your Saves list
Remisens Hotel Albatros
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Od Zala 1, Cavtat 20210, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful location...great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here between 1-11 May and we were very happy with the hotel, yes its a little dated but who cares, its clean, the staff are really friendly and helpful and the food is fine with plenty of choice (it got better as the week went on and the hotel got busier). There are only really a couple of restaurants next door (the one right next door we tried and the food was delish) but the walk into Cavtat is only about 10 mins and so worth it, the place is stunning with lots of little bars and restaurants to choose from. The room we had was a garden room but it was great, it was big and clean. We loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it to others. We wandered over to the other Iberostar nearby and it wasnt a patch on ours (in case you are deliberating between the two!!) The weather at that time was glorious, about 26 degrees and only one day of rain - much better than we had expected. Top tips: If you like your cuppa then take a travel kettle with you (and tea bags I'd suggest!) and take a throw or something for evenings as it does get pretty chilly.

Room Tip: We had room 19 which was a garden room on the ground floor and really close to a cut through to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Director General at Remisens Hotel Albatros, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Iberostar Albatros. It is a pleasure for me to hear how much you enjoyed your holidays among us.

Thank you very much for mentioning our cuisine and our staff. The kindness and friendliness of our staff is one of the main principles of Iberostar. It makes us happy to know that we succeeded and I am delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil your expectations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you are planning to visit us again, it would be a great pleasure for me to welcome you personally.

Kindest regards,
Carlos Galban
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    296
    124
    29
    16
See reviews for
191
321
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Hotel is very clean and well kept. The staff team are very helpful and informative. The grounds are lovely as is the pool area. We stayed All Inclusive for a week 6th to 13 May. Unfortunatly, the Hotel hasnt grasped the All Inclusive concept - I could have a glass of champagne, a brandy or a cocktail FOC but not a glass of diet coke ! At the snack bar a similar story, burgers, cake, coffee, chips etc all foc, but a sandwhich had to be paid for ! This has certainly not been the case at all the other A.I hotels I've stayed at previously including Iberostar.
Food is plenty and varied, including broccoli for breakfast if you want it lol
The area is lovely a true gem of Croatia, make time to go to Dubrovnic either by boat, outside the hotel or by bus in the village.
The village is very pretty and the locals are extremely friendly.

Two issues marred the stay, which I complained to reception staff about - they were unable to help with these issues at all
1) A bar opened on the beach on Thursday night and played their music so loud that even with doors closed and ear plugs in, we could still hear it - until 3am, both Thurs and Friday nights were very noisy. Reception staff stated that it was a private bar and it was also the weekend, we shouldn't worry !
2) No air con - 30degrees and no air con !! reception stated that it was broken - when challenged again they then said that it wasnt available until July and Aug which is company policy. No really acceptable in a 4 star hotel

In all, we wouldnt go back to Cavtat and certainly not the Albatros. It may be great for a short trip. This is our 5th trip to Croatia and love the country and the people immensly. It's definatley the Istrian area for us.

Room Tip: A block is very hot in the afternoon it gets full sun from around 11.30. B block gets early sun but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Gerente at Remisens Hotel Albatros, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Iberostar Albatros on tripadvisor. We really appreciate that you treasure our staff and our privilege location.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our buffet; we keep working in this point to try to offer you very soon new dishes.

About your complaint about the AI, we really apologize for not giving you the correct information; I will speak personally with my team of front desk to explain better our several options of AI to our guest. I would like to clarify that we have two all inclusive, one Standard that includes all the drinks that you have mentioned and other Premium in which includes almost all the beverages and food that we have in the hotel.

Thank you for mentioning the outstanding location of our hotel as you can find the sea promenade directly in front of it as well as littler harbour with connection every half hour with Dubrovnik.

We really apologize for the inconveniences due the private party made near our hotel, our reception desk always call the police in this cases but the time of reaction is not as quick as we would like.
Concerning the air-conditioning in I would like to point that it was a very unusually situation in this period of year and was the preliminary to a big storm. Normally in half of May we always connect the AC in the hotel and we kept all the season, nevertheless in days like you have described we have also fans for this cases.

Once again we would like to thank you for the time and effort taken in writing your opinion.

Kind regards,
Carlos Galban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel is roughly what I was led to expect from reviews here. In spite of being Spanish-owned, it has a rather eastern European feel. It was built in 1967 and has had a chequered history since, including being a refugee camp in the Troubles of the nineties, which hit the area very hard. It is big and somewhat dated and is not as good as the Royal Andalus in Spain, where we stayed earlier this year. But we had a very good room with a large balcony and sea view. It had a room safe (free) but no tissues. The en-suite facilities were adequate. The hotel overlooks a pleasant bay and is only 800 metres from the attractive little town of Cavtat. It is also very close to Dubrovnik Airport, which is most convenient.

The buffet food is reasonable, but the house wine is nothing special. So have a local aperitif at the bar and then some of the higher quality wine (not expensive) with dinner.

The staff were pleasant and friendly, possibly because of our attempts at Croatian, which we'd studied from a CD before arriving: always a good idea.

On balance this hotel is worth staying in. It is 3* rather than 4*, but we enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Gerente at Remisens Hotel Albatros, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us , thank you as well for highlighting our staff. One of the main principles of Iberostar is the kindness and friendliness of our staff.

It’s true that the hotel was built in 1967 like most of the hotels in the area, but every year we make new improvements to upgrade our customers’ experience during their stay. We are currently undertaking renovation works for this reason I would like to take this opportunity to inform you about two important events that took place during the next months: first of all, I have the pleasure to announce you that our Spa wellness will be totally renovated and for the most gourmand costumers we are really looking forward to change our buffet including a new show cooking in which we are going to present new dishes prepared in front of the guest.

Nevertheless I also would like to thank you for your point of view about the wine list because I am delighted also to announce that in a few weeks we are going to change the wine list card offering a new one which includes 38 new wines (most of them locals with affordable prices), 7 free for AI Premium and 2-3 (depending of the season) free for AI Standard guest.

Please be sure that we keep on working to improve our services. It would be a great pleasure for me to meet you personally if you are planning to visit Croatia again.

Kindest regards,
Carlos Galbán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed for just 3 nights in May with a friend and could have easily stayed for 2 weeks plus. Booked last minute and no time to review what people had written about Iberostar. However, if you are reading this now... let me tell you... the holiday could not have been more perfect! My only complaint is that I could not rent a room permanently for the summer!!!

I have nothing but positive things to say about this gorgeous hotel. As soon as we entered, it was obvious that the staff would do anything they could do make our stay the best it could be. Apart from being multi-lingual, the staff were always friendly and helpful. It was a joy to speak with them and over the course of the 3 days, they made our stay so great that we were gutted to leave. Everyone was always happy.... so would I be if I worked there! The hotel itself is stunning. Not only 2 outdoor pools but also a huge indoor pool. There is just so much choice. The sea is aslo at the back of the hotel so you could not ask for more. The rooms are spacious and clean and felt really cozy in the evenings. The bed was so comfortable too. We had great sleep every night and then to wake up and go onto the balcony to see the sun, sea and blue sky was like heaven! The rest of the hotel is beautiful and even had a piano in the lobby, which I loved to play. People would join in and sing and the atmosphere was great. The food too, so much choice and brilliant quality. I can't say enought to urge you to stay here as you will have a fantastic time.

The entertainment staff and the management team know how to look after their guests. The hotel is run beautifully... Even after just 3 days, we felt they were like good friends and already miss them! Which is why we'll be going back as soon as we can:)

Cavtat itself if gorgeous and just a 10 minute walk from the hotel. You walk slowly as it is so pretty you have to keep stopping to take photos! It feels so clean, spacious and safe. Staying here will be the best thing you do this summer!

We fell in love with the place and the people :)

Room Tip: The rooms in 'A Block' have amazing views and the balcony gets the sun all day. 2nd floor in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Gerente at Remisens Hotel Albatros, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such a good comment about your current holiday with us in our Iberostar Albatros. Your enthusiasm in describing the high level of our services is a great input to keep motivating our team.
For our management team – as well as for all the other departments – it is essential to get a direct feedback of our clients. These comments are our source of inspiration to keep on improving taking on consideration that our guests lead our managerial actions and decisions.
Thank you as well for highlighting our staff. One of the main principles of Iberostar is the kindness and friendliness of our staff. It makes us happy to know that we succeeded and I am delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil your expectations.
Our hotel is equipped with one indoor heated water pool which, and as you mentioned two more pools. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel’s settings and surroundings, which are one of the special features that make Albatros one of the most exclusive hotels in Dalmatia. We agree that our location is especially privileged, as our hotel has direct access to the beach.

We will keep on working to maintain our high quality standards. Thank you again for your beautiful words. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our Iberostar.

Kindest regards,
Carlos Galbán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This hotel is a gem, set overlooking a bay, and about 800m from the beautiful little town of Cavtat.
We found the staff to be warm, welcoming, helpful, good humoured, and always with a smile or a friendly word as we passed. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and have everything that you need. The food is served buffet-style, and there is a plentiful choice of menu each day. The kitchen staff work hard, and boy, does it show. The food is beautiful.
In Cavtat, do visit the Mausoleum of the Racic Family, the painter Bukovac's house, and take a harbour stroll (trying not to look enviously upon the yachts!). Ice creams are about 70p each, and a cappacino coffee is about £1.20.
Dubrovnik is about an hour away by boat (catch one right outside the hotel), or around 35 minutes by bus, and maybe tuck in a visit to the Island of Lokrum (though it deserves longer)
If you go to Montenegro (only 35km away) you will need Euros as Croatian Kuna are not accepted in that country.
In short, the Albatross is a truly excellent choice of hotel, and we would recommend it to anyone. We already have!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Gerente at Remisens Hotel Albatros, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your comments on Tripadvisor and sharing your experiences with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is a delight to hear that our staff was friendly and attentive. In addition we are especially pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel’s settings and surroundings, which are one of the special features that make Albatros one of the most exclusive hotels in Cavtat.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you personally, if you are planning to spend your next holiday in our hotel.

Kindest regards,
Carlos Galbán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow upon Humber, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed last week of April and the weather got better every day. This hotel is very nicely located just a 10 minute walk from Cavtat centre. Hotel itself is clean and tidy the rooms are spacious and well maintained. The balconys are rather small and the retaining walls are not very high which made me a little nervous an extra rail on top would be a bit more safety concious. Although we had a garden view room we could still see part of the bay and the view was good but we got no sun at all which really didn't matter as there was plenty of room and sunbeds by the pool to catch some rays. The food was typical of large AI hotels catering for lots of guests and although a little repetative there was good selection well presented. My favourite was the brown bread,really light and nutty. We were half board so had to pay for any drinks which were more expensive than in Cavtat but quite reasonable for a hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the entertainment team tried hard but did not pressurise. The only criticism I would have is that on the Croatian bank holiday weekend the hotel was pretty full and the dining room staff did not cope very well, we were left wandering around looking for a table and no one seemed very organised, eventually they opened up the terrace for more seating space, also I felt the dining room was rather understaffed. Other AI hotels I have been to you are not let into the restaurant unless there is a space for you but this was just a free-for-all. All in all for the price we paid £44/night for two of us half board I though this was excellent value and a very pleasant hotel. The area around the hotel is delightful and Cavtat is beautiful with loads of nice restaurants and bars. Dubrovnik is a half hour bus ride away costing approx. £4 return and you get just as good, if not better, views than the much more expensive boat trip which is about £10 return.

Room Tip: Most garden view rooms have some sort of sea view albeit from the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Gerente at Remisens Hotel Albatros, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about our Iberostar Albatros on tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your holidays. I am glad that we could fulfil your expectations. I want to thank you for pointing out our staff; one of the main principles of Iberostar is the kindness and friendliness of our employees. To hear that a guest had an enjoyable holiday is worth the efforts we do day by day and your comment will motivate us to keep on improving our services.

I would like to point out that situations like you have describe in you review are very unusual and only happen during a few days when we are in maximum occupation and we cannot open the terrace because the bad weather conditions, by the other side we take on account your comment about the staff to try to o be strengthened in this situations.
Thank you again for your review.

Please do not hesitate to contact me when you are planning to come again to Croatia, it would be a pleasure to welcome you personally.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCASHIRE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We booked last minute for a 5 nIght all inclusive stay over the Easter weekend and were really impressed with every part of our stay. The hotel was in a great location with stunning views of the mountains and sea. Our sea view room was worth getting and I'd recommend it to everyone.

The entertainment staff were polite, funny, energetic and eager to get you involved (but only if you wanted of course).

The food was very good value for money. I did find the soft drinks a little cheap tasting, a bit like rola cola to be honest! But it's a small detail when everything else was great.

It's only a short yet pleasant walk in to Cavtat to more stunning harbour scenery, it's our first time to an Iberostar and Croatia and already we've recommended it to loads of people, so that's how much we enjoyed it!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Manager at Remisens Hotel Albatros, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing such an outstanding comment about our hotel on tripadvisor.
It is an honour to hear how much you enjoy your stays with us.
Concerning the view, we have a great location and in almost all the hotel you can enjoy of beautiful sea view with Dubrovnik in the horizon.
We are glad to read that you have enjoyed with our entertainment program. The animation team works very hard with illusion and enthusiasm to make our entire guest feel welcome. This year we have a new animation team that for sure will make our guest get involved with new shows, new activities for all nationalities and ages ...
Your comment will be an inspiration and a motivation for all of us to keep on working.
I am looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kindest Regards,
Carlos Galbán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Remisens Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Hotel Albatros

Address: Od Zala 1, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#6 Family Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Remisens Hotel Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Remisens Hotel Albatros is located right by the sea in the magnificent surroundings of the town of Cavtat, Croatia. This four-star hotel is the ideal choice for a relaxing and fun family holiday by the sea. The hotel is surrounded by lush parks where you can enjoy pleasant strolls, but at the same time is located close to the centre of Cavtat and just a few steps from the coast. The rooms are fully furnished and decorated with particular attention to detail in order to provide maximum comfort for guests. Some of the rooms offer direct sea views, while some are located at the side. However, they all provide the peace and quiet that you need on your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Remisens Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Albatros Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Albatros

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Remisens Hotel Albatros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.