We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the place to be in” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Dalmacija

Restaurant Dalmacija
Trumbicev put 9, | 20 210, Cavtat, Croatia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 33 Restaurants in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the place to be in”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

They gave not the whole fish.they brought it half but took money as if it was the whole!also the taste of fish was not good.it is overrated on tripadvisor...

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    74
    31
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We ate at this restaurant twice and the food was excellent on both occasions, and reasonably priced. Service very good, with friendly staff. Would certainly return to eat there if we went back to Cavtat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Over-rated reviews, poor value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I used trip advisor to choose this restaurant and was disappointed. In comparison to other places we ate in cavtat and Dubrovnic...many of which were totally amazing, this place was by far the most expensive and easily the most disappointing!!

We were enticed in (to my regret) by the charming gentleman that gives you free home made liqueur..the cherry was lovely...in fact by far the best thing I consumed that night!!

The meal was disappointing to say the least...I had risotto....i really got into this dish on this trip and it was the 3 rd time I'd eaten it at different places so I had a good idea of the standard to benchmark a good risotto....I would give this one 3-4 out of 10. Not very tasty, slightly dry, sufficient...but that was it. My main course of grilled seabass was a real let down, small, totally over done, in fact so much so the skin stuck to the dry flesh and I couldn't even get fish meat out of it. I am sure the waiter knew...he looked embarrassed when he put it down...and when he returned to the table to ask if all was ok.......I shook my head,shrugged my shoulders and he walked away rather than address the issue!!!??? Any self respecting chef with a supposedly high quality restaurant (less than a meter from the sea), in a fishing town.....should have been ashamed to serve fish that had been cremated in such a way ....to a paying customer. It was my most disappointing meal in the whole week in Croatia....and that includes eating out lunch and dinner every single day. They use trip advisor as a tool to get customers in....in fact his line while we were looking at the menu was 'we were voted best restaurant on trip advisor'. They need to be far more careful about the meals that they are dishing up...especially something as basic as grilled seabass! The beautiful fresh ingredients will do all the talking...it doesn't take a genius to serve this right - its basics. That meal came to about £80 which I feel was a rip off for the quality! Totally over priced for what was served up....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“complimentary drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Near the end of our holiday when we went, it was a very good meal with complimentary drinks to start, I had a steak, cooked rare as I requested, but it was on a sizzeler and was well done before I was halfway through, there was no problem with the other three meals,one of the few places without a sea view

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We tried most of the decent restaurants in Cavtat and this one is definitely the best. Excellent food, friendly staff, pleasant location, ticks all the boxes. Well pleased and dined there three times. I am very fussy, if I say it's good then be assured that it jolly well is.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Dalmacija also viewed

Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Restaurant Dalmacija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Dalmacija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.