We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Fontana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cavtat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Fontana
Put od Oboda 5, Cavtat 2020, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 62 Specialty lodging in Cavtat
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently stayed in the Fountain apartment at the Villa Fontana. We were met at the airport, given a guided tour of Cavtat and warmly greeted by Janet on arrival. We had ordered the starter food pack which was very welcome on arrival.
The apartment was excellent, clean and spacious with beautiful views from the balcony. It was so peaceful and relaxing with a small pool and terrace and some amazing scenery. A short walk down a gentle slope took us to the sea front with restaurants and a small pebble beach. From here we took the boat to Dubrovnik and to the Islands. A 10 minute walk took us to central Cavtat and the harbour.
I would thoroughly recommend Villa Fontana to anyone looking for a quiet, peaceful break with amazing scenery and amenities close by. Janet made us feel very welcome and went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed for an enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: The Fountain apartment was on the ground floor with only a few steps. Other apartments had steps whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile


After being collected from the airport by Miro and given a guided tour with restaurant and amenities recommendations we arrived at our Rafters apartment and were absolutely delighted. It had everything and more required for a small family. I cannot stress highly enough how welcome we were made to feel and what a great place it was to visit, I would not hesitate to recommend it to anybody who is looking for a completely relaxing and enjoyable break with good food, friendly people and stunning scenery. Can I also say a special thank you to Janet who made us feel more like members of the family than guests, we will certainly be visiting again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had a wonderful time in Cavtat & at Villa Fontana.
A beautiful place to visit & we hope to return soon.
Janet & Miro were great
Couldn't have wanted anything more in a holiday - relaxing place, lovely food, beautiful walks & scenery, amazing sunsets, friendly people

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous week in beautiful Cavtat staying at Villa Fontana. The owners Miro & Janet are very friendly helpful people and keep Villa Fontana pristine. We had a lovely room which was spotlless on arrival and we had regular towel changes during our stay which was nice. There was a fridge and kettle in the room, the bed was very comfortable and ample wardrobe space. Fontana is a short 5 minute stroll to bars & restaurants on the seafront at Cavtat where you can take various boat trips to Dubrovnik etc etc...... All in all an excellent week with the added bonus of fantastic weather not a cloud in the skys. Looking forward now to returning next year ........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

arrived 1st september for 14 days, stayed at a different villa the first night which was aranged by janet as orginally booked from the 2nd of september but due to bmi cancelling our flight had to move the holiday back a day. miro greeted us at the airport and took us on a drive around cavtat pointing out all the local amenities which is a nice touch ,the villa is in an ideal position just outside cavat about a 10-15 mins stroll to the centre and only 5 minutes to the nearest beach. We stayed in villa no 3 which had everything we needed and was kept spotless by mimi ,cavat itself is superb it has everything culture , scenery,restaraunts and bars ,bugenvila was our favourite restarant and desetka which is near the hotel cavtat and is great value for money if your looking for pizza/pasta/risotto and is great for vegeterians like my wife with several dishes to choose from ,and very friendly service. Ancora wine bar is a great bar to visit and sit and watch the big boats that park up just in front ,Dubrovnik is about a 25 mins away by bus we visited several times day and night, wanda was the best restarant we visited ,which was on the backstreets up the steps from the main street .This was our third trip to croatia having previously been to rovinj in the north and orebic,cavtat is our favourite and we cant wait to return and to villa fontana big thanks to janet,miro and mimi

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

After travelling around Croatia , we needed a place to relax and sort ourselves out for the flight home. Villa Fontana provided the ideal base. The accommodation was spotless, air-conditioned and very well equipped. It is well positioned for easy walks into Cavtat and Janet is an amenable host.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We arrived on the 2nd September had a pickup provided by the villa,after reading all the revues were quite surprised to see a substandard accommodation,the revues had dressed it up very generously.
Some observations were very small swimming pool,broken shower cubicle,broken toilet seat,very small bathroom,broken towel rail in bathroom,bedroom very small bed almost level with the floor,untidy bed duvet no sheets just duvet,wardrobes that were falling apart.
Overall it was just straight down the middle if you need accommodation for two and don't want to pay anymore than €550 per week then this is probilly for you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labdoglover, Owner at Villa Fontana, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest

We are sorry that your visit to Villa Fontana did not match your expectation, and wish you had brought your concerns to our attention whilst you were here, so as to give us the opportunity to put things right for you, although obviously we could not have done anything about your concerns with the size of the pool! However, we are surprised that you were disappointed with the pool as we always ensure there several photographs, amply demonstrating its dimensions, on our website.

We are sorry you didn’t get chance to benefit from our airport collection service fully, as I recall you chose to cycle to the villa from the airport, thereby missing out on the small guided tour enjoyed by your partner.

We do strongly object to the term “substandard accommodation”. Villa Fontana is a member of the Croatian Tourist Board, the governing body that issues our rating, and we must meet their standards at all times in order to maintain our membership.

Although, as a matter of course, we check all of our accommodation between guests, after reading your comments we have carried out an in depth investigation into the state of repair of your areas of concern: the wardrobe, toilet seat and shower cubicle. The guests currently occupying the apartment accompanied the inspection and they, like us, could not find fault with any of those areas – however, we did notice that the towel rail does ‘wobble’ a little and we will address that problem forthwith.

The bed is a standard double size. We don’t fully understand your complaint regarding the bedding, we provide bottom sheet, pillows with pillow cases and an all-weather duvet on each of our beds, as well as a regular towel service.

We hope your experience at Villa Fontana has not jaded your view of our beautiful country and hope you will return to Cavtat in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fontana

Address: Put od Oboda 5, Cavtat 2020, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 Specialty lodging in Cavtat
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Fontana comprises of six self catering apartments with either one or two bedrooms. There are also twin or double en-suite rooms available. Only a short walk to the beach and a pleasant stroll to the Cavtat village village centre. Villa Fontana has a secluded swimming pool and sunbathing area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Fontana Hotel Cavtat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Fontana to your Saves list