We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, lovely setting and great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Domizana

Taverna Domizana
Setaliste Zal 2, Cavtat 20210, Croatia
020471100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is located in one of the area’s most pleasant settings Bay Zal in Cavtat with a amazing view of Dubrovnik.We are proud to serve the best and freshest authentic Croatian cuisine in Cavtat.Our menu is crafted with a prime selection of meat and fresh seafood with an emphasis on localproduce. We also offer great selection of pizzas and vegetarian dishes.Domižana is the only restaurant in Cavtat offering old original Dalmatian specialty fireplace bakeddishes and food cooked under the traditional iron bell. Choose from selection of Croatian red and white wines with an excellent selection of local wines.Restaurant capacity of 250 seats is ideal for large groups and organizations of various festivities.Enjoy live entertainment with traditional Dalmatian singing and dancing groups.We invite you to experience unforgettable moments in pleasant atmosphere of Restaurant Domižana .
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food, lovely setting and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We visited 3 nights in a row as it was so good. The food is amazing (the menu explanation didn't do it justice!). We especially liked the steak called Tornado with pesto genevese. It melted in the mouth. Also the chicken stuffed with spinach in cheese sauce was a favourite too. Quite expensive, but what you would expect to pay for such a high standard.
The setting is lovely, overlooking the sea and the lovely sunsets.
A massive thank you to Goran who looked after us so well on every visit. He is so passionate about the food and his job it makes such a difference.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    38
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Last night sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We found this wonderful place last year, and because of the amazing location,( a flat 10 minute walk from the centre of Cavtat,and well worth it) great service and stunning sunset, we returned this year. Thanks mostly to our superb host, Goran. (John is gone....again!!) We will see you next year!! Nikki and Paul, UK

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumbarda, Croatia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Phenominal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I run painting tours to Croatia and our first nights are spent in Cavtat. I wanted to introduce my guests to "Peka" (or "under the bell" in English) and Domizana had the best review... they did not disappoint!
Our table was right on the sea, our server Goran was gregarious, charming and efficient, and the food was out of this world! Even our vegetarian was ecstatic with her fish meal. They had a wonderful selection of desserts... I think we ordered one of everything and shared!
If you too are a tour operator, contact Milan ahead of time and set everything up. It could not be easier.
I look forward to returning with my groups, forever and ever, amen!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunset, seaside table, excellent server, it was a dream dinner and evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

A marvelous dining experience. If I were sitting any closer to the sea I would be in it. The white billowing curtains overhead were very romantic and the server was exceptional.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and superb setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We ate here as it was close to our apartment and has a lovely setting by the sea. The sun was setting as we ate which was beautiful. We are a party of two adults and three children. The waiter went out of his way to be friendly to the two little ones. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The food couldn't be faulted at all. This was the most expensive place we visited during our stay but it was worth it. My husband said the steak melted in his mouth. My 4 year old thoroughly enjoyed the sea bass. Overall this is a great restaurant in a quiet setting and we would return again if ever in Cavtat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Domizana also viewed

Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Taverna Domizana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Domizana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.