We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL DINNER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gradele bistro

Gradele bistro
Bracka Cesta 10, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
+385 91 635 9660
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Bol
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: International, Croatian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Steak, chicken and fish grilled to perfection in the cosy atmosphere of this Grill Bar, away from the tourist crowds and almost hidden by the lush vegetation that surrounds it. Will you find us? Vegetarian dishes also available.
Split
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL DINNER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

wonderful,family place.best restaurant experience inBol.at restaurant you can have perfect lamb,veal or fish.all food are great.service is perfect!!!this is the place we would return to for sure.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vdf80, Public Relations Manager at Gradele bistro, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and sharing your high opinion of Gradele with us and the rest of the Tripadvisor community.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Bol as much as our food and service!

Kind Regards,

Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    19
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Saw the reviews on tripadvisor and decided to try this restaurant. The food was average and the service was terrible. One waiter for too many tables for him to handle. The waiter made a mistake and we got a wrong bill at the end of our dinner. The waiter raised his voice and accused us for the wrong bill when the fault was his. This definitely ruined our evening and I can only say that this restaurant should be avoided...not just because of the bad service, but for the food that is definitely NOT the best in Bol.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vdf80, Public Relations Manager at Gradele bistro, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review and giving us your honest feedback.
I sincerely apologise that you were not satisfied with your meal at Gradele.

This summer, our second summer since opening, we experienced a huge increase in business due to the positive reviews received on Tripadvisor, leaving us a little short-staffed in the height of the season - an underestimation we won't be making again.

As for the mentioned altercation with our waiter, I can assure you that this is not a usual occurrence and certainly not something we condone. We wish this had been brought to the manager’s attention on the night itself as we would have resolved the issue immediately. As part of our belated apology to you, I have sent you a private message with an offer to make up for your disappointing experience at Gradele.

Kind Regards,

Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Off the main street and worth a walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

A hidden gem a good and well-worth walk from the tourist blocks of Bol. The location is interesting close to a road intersection but don't let that scare you if you're after freshly grilled fish. We had the fish and seafood platter for two and at 300 kn it's a bargain! A lot of fish, mussels, squid and shrimps is brought straight from the grill on a big plate that will feed two people well. The plate has some potatoes and spinach on it but we found it to be a bit light on carbs. Other than that, a great meal at great value!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vdf80, Public Relations Manager at Gradele bistro, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and sharing your high opinion of Gradele with us and the rest of the Tripadvisor community.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Bol as much as our grilled fish!

Kind Regards,

Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibenik, Croatia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent but still lots of room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had lunch here and decided to go for a meet platter for two. The portions are HUGE but the quality of meat varies. For example, chicken filled with cheese and ham was great, as were the pork cutlets, but minced meat (cevapi and pljeskavica) were sub par. There are plenty of brilliant "Balkan style" barbecue places in Croatia which offer great food at prices similar or lower than Gradele Bistro.

Admittedly, this restaurant is amongst the better ones in its class in Bol, but if you ever experienced the real local grill, this one will be a bit disappointing. My advice is to invest more in the quality of food, not the quantity of it. Overall experience could be vastly improved by small things, like some innovative salads, home made bread, good couvert, etc.

The location is OK, not in the centre, but Bol is a small place so this is hardly an issue. They have a nice large terrace. Service was OK, but our waiter was a bit in your face, too loud, and was not shy to share his opinions on things which are not appropriate (like types of guests and their tipping habits based on nationality).

Overall, an average experience, a bit disappointing considering it is rated no. 1 in Bol. Perhaps it is one of the better "budget" restaurants in Bol (although not cheap by any means), but definitely not no. 1 if you are a foodie.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vdf80, Public Relations Manager at Gradele bistro, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Ivan,

Thank you for taking time to write this review and for leaving your honest opinion. We appreciate all types of feedback so that we are able to decide where and how to improve our offer. Thank you for your suggestions, which have been passed onto management.

With regards to the comments made by our waiter on that night, they were definitely meant as a joke and not to offend. I apologise if it seemed inappropriate.

I hope you enjoyed your holiday in Bol. Thank you once again.

Kind Regards,

Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great grill!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We visited this restaurant on our last day in Bol. Expectations were high after we've read opinions on tripadvisor. We ordered mixed grilled meat, beafsteak with green pepper sauce and grilled pork chop. Waiter promised that everything that is grilled is just delicious... And I fully agree with that. The food was great, really nice service and nice, quiet location a bit away from the city center. The place is for sure worth a visit, but nothing uniqe.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vdf80, Public Relations Manager at Gradele bistro, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Mateusz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and sharing your high opinion of Gradele with us and the rest of the Tripadvisor community.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Bol as much as our food, service and location!

Kind Regards,

Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gradele bistro also viewed

 

Been to Gradele bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gradele bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.