We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bretanide Sport & Wellness Resort

Bretanide Sport & Wellness Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bretanide Sport & Wellness Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   A. Rabadana bb, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Bol
Ne, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is clean & comfortable place, and a good option in brac. Hotel itself does not have a Wow effect but staff made our stay more special. They are very kind and helpful. Food was also very good, tasty and served well. Beach is nice and close by and is clean. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

May is absolutely fabulous on the Island of Brač and in the resort Bretanide. It is not so hot at that time and what is most important, the hotel is not crowded, nor is the beach or the town itself. The staff are very kind, helpful and efficient, hotel clean, all sorts of facilities, great food. Price performance before high season is also very good, which could not be said for high season (far too expensive). My rating goes to pre-seasonal offer and for the new building with great rooms.

Room Tip: Definitely check if you have a room in the new part ... it makes all the difference. The only proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Bretanide Resort was a little disappointing. The pictures on the website definitely give it a more glamorous image than it really has. Parts of the hotel are old, and parts have been renovated, and naturally it is the renovated part that you can see on the website.

We paid an up-price for a room with a view of the sea in the old part, but when we arrived, we discovered that according to Bretanide, "view of the sea" meant your windows were facing the sea, but not necessarily that you could see the sea - because a buidling was blocking the view. I went to the front desk to complain, and they tried to fob me off at first, but then I began to raise my voice and a manager jumped in. They gave us a new room where you could see the sea if you strained your neck. The balcony was too small to actually use, and it was full of dead leaves and debris. So, my tip, don't bother paying more for a sea view: it's not worth it.

The room was 3 star standard, and it was cleaned every day. The airconditioning worked well and was necessary!

The buffet in the main restaurant is very good, however, even if it does get a bit repetitive after two weeks. The outdoor dining area was enormous with the atmosphere of a bus-station with families running around, but we found another outdoor dining area that was much smaller and more romantic: ideal for couples, but we had to get to dinner early enough to get a place.

The wine that is included in the "all-inclusive" price is undrinkable, though. So, instead we drank beer. The hotel also has a smaller restaurant that you are allowed to visit once per week as part of the package. Here we ordered a bottle of Croatian wine that was very good, but a little pricey.

The biggest disappointment of all, though, was the resort's private beach. The beach is very small and there is only a limited number of beach lounges and umbrellas. So, the fight for a spot on the beach began very early in the morning, where often people put their towels on a lounge to reserve it (some time at the crack of dawn), but then didn't come down to the beach until 2pm! I found this behaviour terribly anti-social and would expect the hotel to develop some kind of system to control this.

Zlatni Rat is very close, but also, at peak season crowded and not really very big. Much more glamorous in pictures than in real life.

We are not sure if we would go there again. On one hand the vacation was extremely restful because in a club all your basic needs are taken care of, but on the other, it was not really an inspiring or interesting stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

very good hotel, nice beach, clear water, nice pools, good food for everybody, kids animation, friendly staff. we had a perfect week there. the only negative thing to mention is the putting towels to reservate a chair in the sun. how can we stopp this ?

Room Tip: double room is small, had a free upgrade to senior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Welcome message:
Guest: Hello, we've booked a room on name...
Desk manager (without checking anything): Are you sure?
Guest: Well, normally yes, it was confirmed...
Desk manager: No problem, it's just that some people think that they've booked but they didn't, no problem...
Guest: Well, it's not a usual welcome message after the long trip...

Average 3-star ressort, not very happy staff, only for Germans/Autrichiens, only for families, small 2-star rooms, avoid if you have a better choice

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

Nice hotell, many places to eat, big swimming pool, and excellent spa!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2004

This hotel on the island of brac is very friendly and although the rooms are quite small they are well appointed. The people are very friendly and helpful. All inclusive limits the drinks a little but not too bad. Food is excellent particularly the bbq style restaurant.
Pool and gym facilities are good and we found the surrounding area to be quite beautiful..make sure you do the island tour, well worth it with stunning view over the island.
About the only down side was that we were the only English there, everybody else seemed to be Germans / Austrians and several were the usual loud and aggressive types.
We were there in late September and would definitely recommend this for a quiet holiday. Nearby town of Bol is worth a visit in the evening, very good pizza bar with live music most nights overlooking the harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bretanide Sport & Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bretanide Sport & Wellness Resort

Address: A. Rabadana bb, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Bol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bretanide Sport & Wellness Resort 4*
Also Known As:
Bretanide Sport & Wellness Hotel Bol
Bretanide Sport And Wellness Resort
Bretanide Sport & Wellness Resort Bol, Croatia - Brac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bretanide Sport & Wellness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bretanide Sport & Wellness Resort to your Saves list