We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel, Amazing Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluesun Hotel Borak

Save Saved
You added Bluesun Hotel Borak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluesun Hotel Borak
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Put Zlatnog rata 42, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Bol
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel, Amazing Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday in Bol, staying at the Hotel Riu Borak. After reading many excellent reviews of the hotel we decided to book 7 nights here and were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel was just as good, if not even better, than the reviews had said.

We arrived in Split to find that it was incredibly hot (35 degrees in the shade) and it remained at about 35 degrees in Bol for the whole of our stay. If you don’t mind it being this hot then July is definitely the best time of year to visit Croatia as it is generally their hottest month.
We had a couple of hours to kill in Split whilst we waited to be transferred by Ferry to the island of Brac. The transfer takes about an hour but be prepared to have to wait around for a ferry as they do only run a few times a day. Split is a lovely historical city with lots of old buildings and monuments, café’s and restaurants. When we visit Croatia again we would definitely consider a longer stay in Split or even just a daytrip there to explore it properly. The ferry drops you off in Supetar and it was then a further hours drive to the hotel.

We found the hotel to be extremely clean and well-maintained. Our room was a decent size and absolutely spotless, we couldn’t fault it really, its one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. As for the location, we couldn’t have picked a more perfect location! The hotel is in a beautiful and peaceful area, right on a beach, and is central to the famous Zlatni Rat (or ‘Golden Horn’) beach (about a 15 minute walk from the hotel) and Bol town (about 20 minute walk away) and there are mountains as a backdrop at the back of the hotel.

We were surprised to find that the hotel swimming pool was very quiet but we liked it this way. Most people either go down to the beaches or use the facilities at the neighbouring hotel, the Elaphusa, which you are allowed to use. The hotel has its own beach which we really liked, but there are plenty of other beaches within walking distance from the hotel which are even better, including the Zlatni Rat beach, and our favourite beach was next to the Monastery in Bol town. Our Thomas Cook Rep informed us that the hotel offered half price mountain bike hire, a free scuba-diving lesson (in the hotel pool) and an hour’s windsurfing tuition all included in the price, which was fantastic.

All the staff at the hotel were very nice and really friendly and most spoke Croatian, German, and English. We found there were not many English people staying at the hotel, it was mainly German and French people, but this was not necessarily a bad thing. The food in the restaurant was absolutely fantastic, and again, we couldn’t fault it. There was a great variety of choice for both breakfast and dinner, plenty of different dishes in the evenings, but perhaps the food was maybe catered too much towards pleasing the Brits and Germans (we would have loved to have tried more Croatian foods) but it was still beautifully presented and fresh, and tasted great all the same. There were two sittings for dinner and you had to pick which sitting you would like to come to for the week, early or late, but the seating arrangements were flexible if you were out all day and missed the first sitting, you could come to the later one. You were also given the same table to sit at each night and the same waitor, but we didn’t mind this at all. The waiters serve all your drinks at the table and if you ordered a bottle of wine but couldn’t finish it, they kept it for you for the next evening. We would recommend trying the local red wine – Plavac Bol.

The evening entertainment at the hotel wasn’t particularly good. It was mainly keyboard players and a singer and the hotel’s own animation team did try their best to keep evenings lively and entertaining, but we admit it was not to our taste. We really liked the hotel’s beach bar, an absolutely beautiful setting for a bar, and there is also a nice cocktail bar called ‘Bolero’ next door to the hotel where they serve a good selection of cocktails. If you want a livelier evening then Bol is perhaps not the best place for a wild night out but is brilliant if you want a great place to chill out and relax as we did.

There were plenty of excursions on offer in Bol. We definitely recommend the Brac island tour, a half-day trip by coach which takes you to all the best places on the island, including a fantastic view of the Zlatni Rat from the top of a mountain. We also took a trip to the Krka National Park – a really long day out which involves taking a Hydrofoil to the mainland but was definitely worth it for the amazing views and the waterfalls – it was such a beautiful day out.

For something a little closer to the hotel, a day on the Zlatni Rat beach is definitely a must, it’s worth visiting Brac just for this. The beach is great in the day - beautiful crystal clear waters and lots of water sports on offer but it is worth noting that the beach (in fact all the beaches) are not sandy, but have small pebbles. This wasn’t too much of a problem for us but we would recommend wearing scuba shoes when in the sea and to make it more comfortable when walking on the beach. Most of the shops in Bol sell these. The Zlatni Rat is best viewed in the evening however. The sunsets were absolutely amazing from here, we have never seen anything like it, and its perfect for a romantic stroll after dinner.
We also found the Taxi Boat quite useful in the day which takes you from Bol town to the Zlatni Rat and vice versa, it only costs 10Kn each way (about £1) and was really worth it just to get from one side of the beach front to the other quickly.

Overall, it was an amazing holiday, and we would recommend the hotel and Bol to anyone!

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    38
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

I have been to Croatia twice before once to Rovinj and also Dubrovnik but Bol is really the place to go. The Hotel Borak was great. The staff were friendly and helpful and as I am a single traveller they made my stay really stress free. But what made the holiday was the beach the town of Bol and most of all theThomas Cook Rep. She was great. What also made the holiday great was there was quite a lot of English people there. Ok we did not out number the Germans or the Russians but there were enough of us. If you want to visit Croatia the place to go is Bol. I only got back today and felt that I had to pass on what a lovely time I had. Bol I will see you next year and I will definitely be staying at the Borak hotel. If you go to Bol with Thomas Cook look out for Emma she is great. If you go on any trips make sure you go to the Krka National Park

  • Liked — Its friendly way of dealing with people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel the 2nd week in may which was only the 2nd week of the season, the hotel is a 10 minute walk along the sea front promenade to Bol town , which is one of the prettiest places I hae ever visited.
The hotel itself is excellent with really friendly staff and good food, absolutely nothing negative to say, its in a really nice location just between the zlantni rat beach and bol itself. the hotel is really clean and tidy and very peaceful( dont expect riotous nitelife here) and a great place to chill out and relax.
The maid was in every day to clean thee rroom and the pool area is kept in pristinee condition with mattresses provided forr the sun loungers.
Bol town has bars , resturants a few small shops etc but again is very low key and reaxed, ideal to sit in one of the bars and watch the world go by.
Bol is a beautiful town with a very friendly atmosphere where locals and tourists eat and drink in the same places.
As I said this is not the place for you if you are looking forr clubs and a hectic nightlife but if you just want a beautiful resort with a good selection of bars and resturants to relax and have a peaceful holiday this place is it
We never once saw any police which is a credit to the island as it was one of the most peaceful safest places I have ever visited , my wife even commented on how she wwould have felt safe walking along the promenade herself at night.
We had a fantastic holiday just relaxing enjoying the weather, food, wine and the hospitality of the croation people and we will definetely return to this beautiful island again.

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean and in a beautiful location
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krsko,slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

We stayed only for 5 days on halfboard basis. Room were quite small but well equiped ( satelite tv, mini bar, air conditioning, balcony ). The staff well organised, helpfull, nice. Free bycicles for hotel guests was a practical bonus. But the best thing about this hotel was food. Excellent choice and taste for (buffet) breakfast and dinner, lot of traditionaly prepared sea food, great salad bar.

  • Liked — staff, restaurant, location
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

Apologies in advance, about to write an essay, but I want to give you as much information as possible. I have broken it down for ease of reading.

We spent a week at the Riu Borak in June 2006. Overall, it was a great holiday. Peaceful location, great people and fantastic hotel!


Transfer-

Unfortunately at the time of going, there was some sort of dispute over our airline using Split Airport, so we had to come in from Zadar instead. This added quite a lot to the transfer time. When we got to Spilt, I was glad at the thought that we would soon be there, but you have to get a hydrofoil from Split to Brac Island. This takes about half an hour if you are approaching Brac from the Bol side of the island. Only problem is that the hydrofoils only go a few times a day. Split is a great historical city, but you might find yourself there for a while when all you want to do is get to the hotel to freshen up. We just took this time to go off to a nearby café for some food.


Location-

Great if you are looking for a peaceful holiday! The hotel is located on Brac Island, just off the coast of Split. The nearest town is Bol which is pleasant 20 min walk from the hotel. Bear in mind that this is a small town. Don’t go expecting any large supermarkets or fast food places in Bol. In the town you will find a mix of shops, bars, cafes, hotels and a local market which sells delicious fresh fruit. There is also a bus service which will take you to the other towns on the island and then there is the harbor where you catch the hydrofoils. 10 min walk in the other direction of the hotel takes you to the famous Zlatni Rat beach. There is also a small beach right in front of the hotel which has a few eating places. Brac felt like a really safe place to be.


Hotel-

Medium sized with a friendly atmosphere. Very clean. There is a good selection of facilities on offer. There were some organized hotel-based activities during the day. The hotel evening entertainment is all done in good spirit, but quite limited. They have a little kid’s disco thing going on the terrace in the early evening. Still, you can always venture out nearby or head into the town.


Staff-

Fantastic. The staff were friendly, relaxed and efficient. Just wish I could remember some of their names. All seemed to speak at in at least 3 languages (Croatian, English & German). There was one night where the power went out for a few hours. Think it was due to construction of a hotel nearby (although there was no noisy works). The staff were ready to provide the guests with candles for their rooms and were busy dotting the candles all around the hotel in a flash. It was reassuring to see such organization. Sure you got a few guests moaning about it, but we thought it was kinda fun!


Room-

Pleasant enough, clean and well maintained. Massive double bed. We didn’t have a poolside view, but that wasn’t a problem. The view of the mountains did just as well. Rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. There was access to a safety deposit box in the room for an extra small charge, air con, a mini-fridge, hairdryer and satellite t.v. could have really done with tea & coffee making facilities though. Think it is just a Brit thing?


Food-

It was half-board basis, so we had our breakfast and dinner there. Breakfast was self-serve. There was a great selection of food on offer to cater for the mainly Brit & German guests. Although, if like me you are unable to function without a nice English cup of tea- bring your own tea bags! I’m glad I did. It was amusing seeing all the Brits go up to the drinks area and looking confused. All those boxes of teabags to choose from, every flavor under the sun, but no PG tips! You can get tea at the hotel bar though. Dinner was a more formal affair. You have to choose the time you want dinner out of two sittings and tables are allocated. The doors to the dining room do not open until the exact time. It was nice being greeted by the staff when you entered the dining room. The food was self-serve, with the friendly waiting staff dealing with your drinks. If you order a bottle of wine but don’t want all of it, they will save it for you for the next day. The food was great and well presented and the dining room always felt clean and the food hygienically prepared.


The People-

I can’t express how lovely the Croatian people are. I have been to other places where you spend most your time being hassled by traders and restaurant staff trying to get you into their establishments. We had no experience of this whatsoever in Croatia. It is great to go somewhere and not have this unwanted stress!


Excursions-

There were the standard island tour things on offer and also a day trip to Split. We chose to go to Split in our own time. Well worth a visit, there is so much history to take in, wandering round the Diocletian Palace with the shops & restaurants build into its walls. A climb to the top of Cathedral of St Domnius provides beautiful views of the city. An excursion that I would really recommend is the one that takes you to Krka National Park where you can swim in the Roski Slap waterfalls. This was the highlight of the holiday for us. We also did a boat trip from Brac to the nearby Hvar Island. The boat stops off at a few places where you can swim and then there is a fish-supper at a restaurant.

  • Liked — Clean, Peaceful
  • Disliked — Evening entertainment
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bluesun Hotel Borak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Hotel Borak

Address: Put Zlatnog rata 42, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluesun Hotel Borak 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a lush pine forest, Bluesun Hotel Borak is only 50 metres from a pebbly beach. The promenade that connects the centre of Bol with the unique Zlatni Rat Beach passes right by the hotel and offers its guests quick access to both of these attractions. You can taste refreshing drinks and cocktails from the pool bar and soak up the sun on the terrace with free loungers and umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bluesun Hotel Borak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Hotel Borak Hotel Bol
Riu Borak Hotel
Riu Borak Bol
Bluesun Hotel Borak Bol, Croatia - Brac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluesun Hotel Borak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.