We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely picturesque hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel) to your Saves list
Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9 Yigu Street, Nanmen Street, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 674 Hotels in Lijiang
Brisbane
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“A lovely picturesque hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

At mentioned in other reviews, this hotel is near the south entrance of the old city. When we arrived in our car we were met at the city entrance by a golf buggy and transported the 200m to the hotel from the gate. Ordinary cars are parked outside the city across the road from the entrance. The hotel is very picturesque with its fountain, fish pond and stone bridge. Again, as mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is used as a backdrop for lots of model shots or wedding photos.
The rooms are a bit small although adequate. A couple of light bulbs were also blown and these were replaced immediately after I brought it to their attention. As per normal in China, the beds are hard and the lighting poor (even after replacing the light bulbs). The room had internet connected but no safe. When we enquired at the front desk for a safe deposit facility, they went away and returned with a room safe which was installed in the room while we waited.
The bathroom is small. English is not a strong point of staff at the hotel although some have a few words of English.
Breakfast was fairly adequate, and a lot better that some of the hotels in Yunnan Province. If one waited until the tour groups cleared out (after helping themselves to extra food from the buffet to have for lunch), one had a better choice.
Within a stone's throw of the hotel, there are numerous restaurants. Some are good and some are quite rip-off merchants. The better ones are further along.
If visiting Lijiang again, we would stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    111
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
32
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is on the south side of the old town and an easy 20 minute walk to the main square, although the crowds can be immense in the evenings. We often saw people (wedding couples) having their photos taken outside the hotel which is very picturesque.
The room was large but the carpet was not so clean.
The breakfast was really awful. There was not much room in the restaurant. There was no orange juice on 2 of the 3 days we were there. There were no bananas or yoghurt or cereals so we ended up eating only toast. The coffee was really bad and undrinkable.
The staff were mostly friendly but few seemed to speak English. When we were there we suffered from upset stomachs and the reception staff made us some ginger tea which was a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great hotel and great location, clean room stayed there for 2 night then transfer to KunMing . Easy access to old town LiJiang. Great photos taken during here and nice weather. Get out early morning from hotel and look for the sunrise at the Jade Dragon Snow mountain. Really relax and enjoy the culture and lifestyle of people at LiJiang.....

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a whistlestop tour of Yunnan, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel is situated towards the Southern edge of the Old Town, and has its own shuttle buggy to take you and your belongings to a convenient drop-off point where you can board your tour vehicle (a car in our case). It is around 10 minutes from the the Market Square, though the teeming crowds that emerge at night could make this a longer walk! But if it is restaurants you require then there are plenty within a stone's throw of the hotel - and the hotel's restaurant also offers excellent food.

On arrival we were welcomed with ginger tea - refreshing, tasty and apparently of benefit in countering possible altitude problems (Lijiang is at 2,400 metres above sea level). We were then shown to our room. This was reasonably spacious and had all the facilities we needed. The bed, as usual in China, was decidedly on the firm side, but comfortable enough. We had none of the plumbing issues reported by another traveller (fortunately).

We had lunch at the hotel - an excellent selection, very tasty - before setting off to explore the town. The hotel's bar also serves as tea/coffee shop. While it was a very pleasant place to sit and chat, it must be said that the tea and coffee were unnervingly expensive. We needed the caffeine burst from the coffee, but it may have been gentler on the pocket to have had beer.

Breakfast buffet was comprehensive and tasty.

We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and polite and the hotel itself was charming and relaxing. Indeed, so charming is it that it is often used as a backdrop for local photographers. Almost every time we entered or left the hotel, someone (a model?) was being photographed by its bridges and pools.

A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights as part of a tour, otherwise doubt we would have found this nice, romantic, large hotel. Probably 4 star hotel. Helpful staff, good varied breakfast. Rooms large, comfortable, nice bathrooms. In southeast part of old town. Walkable everywhere. Not much English spoken. Don't know the cost because part of tour. Many hotel choices in Lijiang, this is one of the good ones.

Room Tip: Some rooms have carpet, some have wood floors. Request which you'd like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

During the winter holidays of 2009, my friend and i had a special reservation because I am an acquaintance of someone.

This is a four star hotel which is quite comfortable. Like the other reviews there are some accuracy. Their English is quite poor but they always have at least one person quite fluent enough to make all the customers comfortable. Unfortunately they are not always available when you need them. Those at the Desk are very generous and I had everything I needed.

I must say there is ONE specific lady at the desk whose name i forgot, is a little rude. So I feel sorry for any customer who may have encountered her at any time. ONLY that one lady at the desk I specifically remember being a little rude but the entire staff are wonderful. The cleaning staff can be noisy only on the first floor so whoever is above first floor are the lucky ones.

I was fortunate to have a luxurious room with almost all the perks but i must say the heater is a bit weak. Luckily the weather in lijiang is just lovely in any time of the year without being too cold or hot/humid. But at night it does get chilly and we only had one heater.

The showers were great with a giant marble at the moment to keep our feet warm. The facilities were clean at all terms with a hint of modern architecture. The furniture had an imperial chinese imitation feel to the room. Plus, the way the entire hotel is set up is quite 'chinese' and traditional including the colour and design.

I personally loved the buffet. It could be improved but there are both modern and chinese foods. you have to wake up early for the buffet but their dinners at night are awesome. Anything i asked including extra blankets were delivered quite quickly and efficiently.

But one should call the hotel to get picked up at the gate entrance so the little traveling golf cart arrives in time. it constantly goes around from the hotel and back every 30 minutes i think but my friend and I were just VERY lucky to arrive when it did. The old town can be tricky but there are plenty of places to eat at decent prices. All foods are great and you may ask for no spice or just a bit but it's worth experiencing all the warm foods, naxi style.

The spa is not too bad as well. I just wish i had a female masseuse but there were more males available when i arrived.

Would i go again? with more cash, definitely!

Room Tip: This is not the place for a walk-in in my opinion. But they usually have plenty of rooms for a much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Situated within the Lijiang Old Town, this is a touristy area but very good nevertheless. Excellent location, though you have to walk from the main road to the hotel, unless a golf buggy is available. Central Square in the Old Town is about a 20 minute walk through the little streets. The hotel is set around interesting courtyards which give it lots of character. Free wifi available but you can't pick it up in every bedroom. Rooms comfortable. Breakfast was OK, nothing special. The staff only spoke limited English, but we managed to make ourselves understood.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel)

Address: No.9 Yigu Street, Nanmen Street, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
#22 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WangFu Hotel of Lijiang distinguishes itself with its ancient construction style from the other hotels in Lijiang, compassing three chambers sharing a screen wall facing the gates, four corner yards surrounding a center big. The hotel is embellished with blossoms and plants, constructions with old-world charm, arbors and waterside pavilion. Wandering through the rectangular corridors, you will be carried away by a tranquil atmosphere, which sends you into another life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangfu Hotel Lijiang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.