We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard) to your Saves list
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.36 Xingren Alley, Wuyi Road, Dayan Town, Lijiang 674100, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 677 Hotels in Lijiang
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

After having to spend two nights in the awful Jade Dragon Hotel due to our travel agent in London, Evertravel and their partner Peace travel in Beijing once again messing up our hotel reservations, we were so relieved to arrive at the Zen Garden. We had read all about it on Tripadvisor and so glad we made it! They even brought our luggage over from the other hotel for us.
This has got to be one of the best hotel experiences we had during our 51 days of travel in the region. The staff are really friendly they brought us tea when we were using the internet, we met some really nice fellow travellers, had comfortable seats to sit on outside our room on the top floor and relax, had tea and hot water provide in the room an Naxi cake provided when we arrived. Breakfast was a small buffet but good enough, although we slept ina couple of days and went into town to eat. There is broadband access in the room and when we had a problem the manager came staright up to sort it out.
We left our luggage when we went to Tiger Leaping Gorge and when we returned it was already in our room when we checked in.
It is easy to walk into the old town and get off the beaten track away from the tourist hordes. We ate at the Petite Lijiang Bookcafe a couple of times and loved it. Watch out for the price of coffee in Lijiang it ranges from 8 or 10 to 35 yuen so you know when you are being ripped off! Avoid Foreigners street after 6pm as it turns into a nightclub! had breakfast there at a french restaurant which was very good value. Also, eat the fish it is wonderful, especially in Baisha village and the local Naxi restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    97
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
60
107
26
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

We spent 3 nights in the room, second floor center, with the best view sacrificing roominess. We moved to another room for our final night due to booking obligations and I left my silk sports coat in the closet as we drove off to Dali, a 4 hour drive. After discovering the loss at our hotel in Dali, a phone call was made to ask how to best have the coat returned.

The hotel staff had the coat sent by taxi to our hotel in Dali at NO COST.

How can you beat that?

  • Liked — Location and service.
  • Disliked — Some rooms were small.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

Trip Advisor delivered again. We picked this hotel because of what we read here and we were not disappointed. Rooms and bathroooms are small and very clean. There's a computer you can use in the lobby. Excellent location.

We recommend staying in old town. There are lots of other hotels in old town that appear fine from the outside but obviously we cannot comment on them. What we can say is that old town is where the action is and that we would not have liked not being part of the scene.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

What a jewel! The team at Zen were absolutely great! Great little breakfast and had eggs for breakfast as well!

If you don't have a room on the second floor then go up there at night and you'll have an amazing view of Lijiang at night! Fantastic.

The "lobby" of the Zen is very cozy: you can check the internet of just peruse the guide books they have there.

It was very central - great location and away from the hustle and bustle of Lijiang town which is just great!

Absolutely would stay again if and when we go back to China!

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

Heartily recommend this small hotel - charming staff, good location, nice and quiet (needed in Lijiang), beautiful courtyard garden complete with fish ponds, and simple but lovely breakfast with good coffee.
Try for Room number 4 upstairs as it has windows two sides so is lighter and seems more spacious.

  • Liked — Great staff
  • Disliked — No double bed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

Located in the heart of the old city, this is truly a nice littel hotel. It is clean and quiet, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Although we had a bit of a tough time communicating in english, everyone managed quite well. They even went out of their way to find an english speaking individual (employee? friend?) who helped us with confirming airline reservations. We did not try their breakfast.

We had to move rooms because of some confusion about reservations on their part, but it was handled with exceptional courtesy. We would recommend the Zen Garden without hesitation and well worth your money.

  • Liked — location; cleanliness; staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

Probably the best hotel in Lijiang's old town, the Zen Garden is a lovely spot exuding tranquility and with lovely views. The rooms were simple but spotlessly clean. What makes this hotel special is the garden, the reception room and the very kind staff who clearly love this place. It seems to draw repeat visitors - Chinese and foreign alike.

Although there are luxury properties like the Banyan Tree outside of town, you won't find better within the old town and it's definitely worth staying in Lijiang's old town. It is also a very good value with their very reasonable rates that include breakfast.

Not only would I recommend it to a friend, I have already done so and would definitely return myself!

  • Liked — Location and peacefulness
  • Disliked — Minimal heating - not good outside of warmest months
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)

Address: No.36 Xingren Alley, Wuyi Road, Dayan Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#5 Family Hotel in Lijiang
#14 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard) 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZENGARDENHOTELS LIJIANG Wuyi YardZengardenhotels Wuyi Yard in Lijiang China offers you two very beautiful Naxi-Style courtyard hotels, carefully originally designed as traditional timber construction and natural stone wall and pavements. All the rooms have a little balcony with seats which are orientated to the open green yard where you can enjoy the sunshine.The Zengardenhotels Wuyi Yard is very well situated in the center of the Old Town of Lijiang, next to the Si Fang square and the stone bridge. It is a little hidden gem with a wonderful view over the roofs of the Old Town Dayan to the Wang Gu Lou Pagoda on the Lion Hill. Especially in the night you have a very scenic view over the illuminated Old Town from the 2. level of Wuyi Yard.Entering the gate into the peaceful and relaxing teahouse of Zengardenhotels Wuyi Yard you are surrounded by lovely orchids, bonsai trees, Koi-fish-pond and cozy sunshine places. You can listen to the music from ancient Chinese Gujin instruments and sense the Chinese traditional atmosphere and culture while the bubble sound of the fishpond calm down the hectic rush of normal life. A very tasteful aesthetic atmosphere has been created from a collector of art and crafts who leads you into the fine art of ancient China with its skillful design works. Therefore the reception and the teahouse in Zengardenhotel Wuyi Yard are very well decorated with high class Chinese antiques furniture, vases, paintings and fine art wood carvings from the Ming and Qing Dynasty. You can drink the best blends of the famous and healthy PU-ER Tea while you can enjoy the privacy of the relaxing Zen Garden reading some books from the library or improve your calligraphy skills the owner can teach you how to use the brushes. Listening to the Chinese music you are also invited to burn some incense on our little private Buddhism altar. Everyone is welcome to enjoy the individual high class private atmosphere of our teahouse. If you like to book the complete house for your private company’s event we like to arrange all the things you need. The Zengardenhotel Wuyi Yard is a private owned Boutique Hotel with in total 16 rooms on two levels. We provide 14 x Standard Rooms and 2 x Special Rooms. • 14 x Deluxe Standard Double Rooms 20m2, with Twin beds 2.00 x1.0m luxury mattress (can be combined to one big bed), are comfortable and well equipped with modern toilet and separated shower, hair-dryer pp. sideboard with flat screen TV 24”, telephone international open line, ADSL Lan-cable, W-Lan.• 2 x Special Rooms 22m2, with Antique Chinese Wedding bed 2.00 x1.60m are comfortable and well equipped with modern toilet and separated shower, hair-dryer pp. sideboard with flat screen TV 24”, telephone international open line, ADSL Lan-cable, W-Lan.The Zengardenhotel Wuyi Yard offers a public business corner with two Desktop PC’s for surfing the web, free of charge. If you bring your own laptop or wifi mobile you can use our W-Lan for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zen Garden Lijiang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.