We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guanfang Hotel Lijiang Qidian

Save Saved
You added Guanfang Hotel Lijiang Qidian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guanfang Hotel Lijiang Qidian
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.966 Shangri-la Avenue, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 507 hotels in Lijiang
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at the Guanfang Hotel for 2 nights early April with our two children aged 6 and 8. We had two connected rooms. The rooms were a little dated but well furnished with tea/coffee makers, tv, robes, fresh fruit, plenty of towels, etc. The breakfast buffet had a large selection of asian dishes with some breads and pastries as well. The hotel is located on a main avenue, a 5 min taxi ride from the old town. The hotel has an indoor pool. Most guests arrive in the evening after touring the city and leave early in the morning. The hotel is very quiet the rest of the day. The front desk speaks some English. Room service menu is very limited. Overall, we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    69
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as part of our group tour to Lijiang. We stayed at the highrise main building. The room is quite clean and it comes with complimentary fruit/ 2 bottled water. It is really a treat to my eyes that we can see the Jade Dragon Mountain from our hotel room. The breakfast area is very busy and be prepared that you may not be able to find a table. Coffee at breakfast tastes bad in general in China.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Recently built, modern, nice hotel, cozy decoration with pleasant colours. Standard rooms are on the small side- ask for a corner room- we had 1610- they are shaped in a triangle form and of good size. Glass-walled elevators on the outside of the building provideibreathtaking view to the snow peak mountains and that is an enjoyable ride each time.Breakfast is ok with good selection for china standard, the area is nicely decorated. Location is about 1 km from center of town where a stroll is very pleasant especially in the evening - great illumination in the old parts reconstructed after the earthquake. Taxi to center with shopping and nightlife is just 1 Euro.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We, like so many others on here, thought we were booking the high rise, but instead ended up at the garden villas. The check-in staff were rude, unhelpful and spoke little english. When we finally got to our room it was large and rather nice, but quite a hike from the main area. We decided to only stay a night instead of two. Breakfast was terrible, even by chinese standards. And once we finally checked out, due to the incompetent staff, we were happy to leave.

Don't stay here there are much better options in Lijiang. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

was placed here by our travel agency during our tour to lijiang
villa rooms are big and comfortable, but there is an outdoor walk to the eating area
breakfast buffet with little selection and there are flies all over, on the food and on us.
maid service not as detailed as our used utensils were not changed from day to day.
service for the morning buffet was also very poor--we had to ask twice to get our table made and three times to get our coffee.
location of villa is in the middle of no where, so assess to old village is difficult.
staff with very limited english (if at all)
eating area without division of smoking and non-smoking area
because of the lack of english and the hygiene problem with all the flies --would not recommend this hotel to our western and european fellow-travelers.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

This hotel is approximately 15 minute walk to Old Town Lijiang. A tall building (20 stories plus) with couple of outside elevators giving one great views of the city and mountains.

Their in room brochure showed many famous leaders/individuals who had stayed at this facility, i.e. Jiang Zemin, President of the People's Republic of China.

Stayed at Guangfang Hotel for two nights as part of tour package. The best overall hotel experience for me during this Yunnan Province tour which included four other hotels.

Well furnished clean, quiet room. Comfortable beds. Helpful staff. Buffet breakfasts with ample selections (eastern and western foods) in the hotel dining room was included in our package.

  • Liked — Sufficent in room amenities
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We had hoped to stay at the Lijiang Guanfang Dajiudian Hotel (the tall building with the revolving restaurant on top), but were placed at the GuanFang Villas instead (they have the same phone number)!

We stayed for one night during the Chinese National Holiday in October.

This hotel did seem to be more suited to serving Chinese guests. We had difficulties with not being able to communicate simple requests to staff, and we often had to wait until a staff member who could speak English could be found to help translate. Although freindly, the hotel was also not very helpful with some basic tour requests, such as, "Can you help us find a golf course and book a tee time?" (To that request we were simply handed a brochure in Chinese listing local tours).

Their spa was also best suited to the basics, such as foot and body massage. Insert long story here, as to other spa requests, but trust us on this, we do not recommend their spa for manicure, pedicure, hair wash/cut!

Despite the above, the rooms were large, the beds comfortable, and there was a computer in our room (although not wireless).
The hotel had a wide selection of cable channels, fridge and mini safe. Buffet breakfast of Chinese and basic Western food is included.

This hotel is a good 20 minute taxi ride from the Old Town.
Although this hotel is fine, if staying in LIjiang again, we would definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Large Rooms, Comfortable Beds
  • Disliked — Not what we expected, location, communication difficulties
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guanfang Hotel Lijiang Qidian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guanfang Hotel Lijiang Qidian

Address: No.966 Shangri-la Avenue, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
#24 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Guanfang Hotel Lijiang Qidian 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao and HotelsClick so you can book your Guanfang Hotel Lijiang Qidian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guanfang Hotel Lijiang
Guanfang Hotel Qidian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guanfang Hotel Lijiang Qidian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.