We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park, but a bit expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Dragon Pond Park

Black Dragon Pond Park
Xin Daje, Lijiang 674100, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 67 Attractions in Lijiang
4.0 of 5 stars 539 Reviews
Type: Fountains, Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice park, but a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Visiting the park is nice and quiet, escaping the old-town crowds. But it is also the only time where you seem to run into paying the "old town entrance fee". So if you skip the pool, you also save 80 RMB. That said, it was a nice visit we had (beautiful scenery) and the quietness made it worth the cost.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    191
    100
    26
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful, though nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The most famous view in Lijiang, be sure to be there at a sunny day, which actually is not that often. The park is a nice stroll.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Quite Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

It is definitely not worth the 80 yuan to go to this place. Nothing exciting about it. In good weather, you might be able to catch the Yulong Snow Mountain. But if you are going to the snow mountain anyway, there is not much reason to visit this place

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“scenic views/spots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

At the entrance gate you will have to show your Yuan 80 receipt (Lijiang Tourist fee). If you don't have it they will charge you Yuan 80.
If you are lucky you can see snow mountain or nothing at all if the clouds are in. But that can change in a heart beat. We had totally different views onto snow mountain within a few hours, coming and going from the park. The park itself could use some work in a lot of areas. They seem to have problems with the water pools. They are not really radiant. When we visited the park was not crowded and pleasant to be there.
We hiked up towards Elephant Hill from there and had some great views onto old and new Lijiang. If you plan to do that be prepared that a guard will tell you that you have to have 4 people for the climb/walk up in your party. We just waited until some others showed up and joined them. To me it seems this 4 people act is just for foreigners. I have not seen a real 4 people group during our whole climb. After entering "groups" just seem to split and do their own thing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Peaceful and scenic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A very peaceful park with beautiful scenery. One can spend and hour or more strolling in the park. There were not only tourists but many locals with their family. On a clear day, the snow mountain can be clearly seen, this makes good photo opportunity. Unfortunately, the days when we were in Lijiang it was always cloudy. No entrance fee is required but you will have to show the guard the RMB80 Lijiang old town maintenance fee ticket.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Dragon Pond Park also viewed

 

Been to Black Dragon Pond Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Dragon Pond Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.