We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating diorama” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Naxi Dongba Culture

Museum of Naxi Dongba Culture
Heilong Tan, Lijiang, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 82 things to do in Lijiang
Attraction details
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fascinating diorama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This museum is a fascinating place to learn more about the heritage of the Naxi people and their spiritual background. A must see when stopping off in Lijiang.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fascinating, friendly staff and not a tourist trap.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Firstly, the museum is well laid out and has some very interesting historical artifacts. We got a guided tour from one of the staff in English who carefully walked us through several of the stories etched into the wall carving pictorials which are a protected heritage site, as well as all the other key exhibits. Unlike other places where an english speaking guide takes you around for free, there was no sales pressure on anything, and we were left completely alone to browse the gift shop at our own leisure at the end. Highly recommend this to anyone in Lijiang.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“VEry interesting!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We visited this museum a couple of weeks ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a very informative guide and had the Shaman draw us a blessing. We forgot the exact translation but there are three charterers and we mentioned good health and long-life for the family. We are trying to find a translation on line ... should be easy there are only 1400 characters :-) We recommend visiting this museum.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Helps put the Naxi minority in context”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We thought this was an excellent cultural museum, the more so since - unusually - it's free! Well worth a visit, especially if you're visiting Dragon Pool Park - it's just outside and facing the top gate on the west side. Only disappointment was that the AV displays weren't working (always assuming they were were watching!), but at least many of the exhibits are explained in English. No cheap gift shop here - my impression was they only put the lights on if they think you are a VIP with spare cash! Small bookshop for the proletariat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“This Small Museum Presents A Unique and Very Interesting Culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Before you come to this museum read up a bit about the Naxi people (or minority) and their Dongba culture and religion. It will broaden your understanding of the exhibited items, because their culture is so very different from western cultures. The Shaman writes very nice blessings in Dongba with a Chinese translation beside it. I bought one and had it framed. Now everyone marvels at it and wants to know the meaning. If you forgot the Dongba characters, find someone to translate the Chines ones.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Naxi Dongba Culture also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Naxi Dongba Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Naxi Dongba Culture, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.