We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from a resort but a decent B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang to your Saves list
Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.33 Sanyuan Village, Baisha Old Town | Go west for 150 meters of Sifang Street of Baisha Old Town, Lijiang 674100, China (Formerly Lijiang Shiwai Taoyuan Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 680 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Far from a resort but a decent B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

+
Local feeling
Traditional architecture; renovated
Beautiful surroundings and good location
Staff smiling and welcoming
-
Bad smells from bathroom during our first night
0 experience from the management

During our 3 nights stay in Lijiang we opted for small local hotel outside of the city in the small village of Baisha. The name of the hotel was quite frankly rather ambitious, I'll give you that. Nonetheless and even though this was by far not a resort, this cute little hotel was a great place to stay; far from all the animation and the crowds.

Our stay was booked through hotels.com. Prices were about 60 USD per night without breakfast. I actually did redeem 2 nights from hotels.com fidelity program for that stay.

To be frank we struggles a lot to get there. No taxi drivers knew where it was and the bus indications were bad. Finally a local helped us by explaining to the cab lady where it was and asked she call the manager who would meet us on the main square of the village. In the end it worked ok thanks to the hospitality and patience of the local folks, something we would encounter on numerous occasion in Yunnan province.

Upon checking in, the manager said the room we had booked was not available and he had given us another one. In fact it was a downgrade since we had requested a mountain view queen, which this room did not have. Turns out, the hotel was full and nobody wanted that room because of the smells in the bathroom. Still could be worse.

On the second night we were re accommodated to a larger room where the air was much more pleasant. We had breakfast and dinner several time and the food was excellent. There was no routines though, has no specific hours were given and in the end we did not even pay for all the food we ate.

Our few days in Lijiang went very fast and we were very happy to return to quiet Baisha everynight. The village is becoming a hotspot these days with fancy cafes and galleries. If you ever go there, visit doctor Ho, he's amazing.

Conclusion:
Far from a resort but a decent B&B, the Baisha holiday resort is a great place to stay in Lijiang. I would probably come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    16
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
18
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

This is a lovely hotel/guesthouse in Baisha. The only problem here is there is so much construction in Baisha that the whole town is dusty so the rooms needed to be thoroughly vacuumed! We only stayed a night so we could live with that. The room had a heater and an electric blanket so we did manage to keep warm during our stay. We had a shower and found it difficult to keep the water temperature consistent. The bathroom was big and nicely heated though. There was a nice Chinese style sitting area in the room with traditional tea pots and cups which we found really quaint. Shops and restaurants close really early in this town so we had our dinner in the hotel. No complaints about the cooking. They have a young puppy who was really friendly especially during meals! The staff were helpful and friendly too but only Charlie could speak English well. We enjoyed our short stay here and will return.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

We spent a week at the Baisha Holiday Resort and were very happy with our choice. It was nice to be away from the more touristy old town of Lijiang.

"Resort" is a bit of a misnomer for this place, as it is more of a country inn. The courtyard is quaint and gives the feel of being in a small village. We also liked that there was a bustle about the main town square as the local Naxi population went about their business. The fact that many of the older women dress in traditional clothing added to the ambiance and charm of the village.

The staff at BHR were very helpful and did their best to make our holiday memorable. On two occasions (one being Christmas Eve), they invited us down to eat with them as they cooked food over their wood-burning stove. They prepared so much food, but everything was so good that we stuffed ourselves. The dumplings that were made on Christmas Eve were fantastic. The young staff (and friends) can communicate in English (some better than others), but the main man - Charlie - is always just a phone call away, and he comes by the place most evenings.

They also have a couple nice dogs at the place - Yuyuan, a shaggy white young dog who is friendly but a little bit nippy (probably will be tamer as she gets a bit older), and Lo Liu, a little brown dog who actually lives up the street, but comes by to visit regularly.

A couple things to prepare for if planning to stay at BHR: (1) Most dining establishments close up around 5:30 (but do have English menus), so don't prepare for a late dinner in Baisha, (2) If visiting in winter, there is a room heater, but it is only minimally effective, so the room is quite cold. (3) The #6 bus is very convenient to get to Lijiang and back. It is right at the main entrance to Baisha village - near the Baisha Murals - and only costs 1 yuan!

BHR pros: Friendly and helpful staff, great environment, awesome views of Yulong Mountain, authenticity of ancient village, access to and assistance with local activities, good wifi internet connection

BHR drawbacks: Cold rooms (in winter), water inconsistency (fluctuated between hot and cold during showers), carpeting in rooms (a little gritty, as it really needs a vacuum, and I don't think there was one

Room Tip: See if you can get a room facing the mountain on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014 via mobile

It's my first time to visit Lijiang where many sightseeings attracted me.But there was a resort i want to share with all of visitors,especially for the backpackers-Baisha Holiday Resort.I went back to the tranquil hostel which is far away from the noisy ancient town. To my suprise,two hospitable and friendly "Naxi Panjinmei"waited for me in the entrance of the hostel,they directly took me to the kitchen and let me have dinner with them,they treated me with the local specialty,they called "Miguanchan" and "Lijiang baba" . After the dinner, we took a walk in the Baisha street,they introduced me the Baisha frescoes,Naxi ancient embroideries and many about Dongba culture. I had great days in Baisha holiday resort,thank you all staffs let me be the member of you .I'll come back in the next holiday ,i want to taste more local food and learn more about the Dongba culture.Haha

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewanee, TN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The first sight of the hotel's yard is "wow! It offers unique traditional village feeling, the room is comfortable, the staffs are all young, quite polite, and speak good English.

We did have hot water problem when we were there, had to take cold shower, ended feeling sick, coughing nexty day.

Meals served at the hotel was minum, did noticed that you could always walked out ino the street, then get a bowl of hot rice noodle.

Room Tip: If you want a quiety place, experience of old town life, this is the place, it takes 30 minutes by b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tengchong County, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I arrived there---Baisha holiday resort Lijiang after a-day tiredness. Different from any other hotels in lijiang, this one is located in a very quiet village about ten kilometers from Lijiang ancient town. On my stay there, everything was so satisfying----the house was well-equipped, the room was clean, the style was so special, the service was good,and the rate was reasonable. However, what impressed me most are the surroundings and the Naxi classical music. Frankly speaking, a day's travel annoyed me, but when I appreciated the classical music and laid on my bed, I feel so good. The quietness is the best thing for a sleepy body and this is really a good place to relax a heart.

Room Tip: the room with the view of the snow is worthy of consideration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaishaHolidayResort, 總經理 at Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thanks a lot for your review . Our resort is in Baisha Old Town , which is away from Lijiang , so it's quite peaceful and relaxing . The resort is just at the foot of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain . If you stay in our resort , you can sit on the balcony appreciating the view of snow mountain . There're restaurant and bar in our resort , so it's very convenient to have meal or just have a drink inside the resort .When you lie down on the bed in our Baisha holiday resort ,you can see the blue sky and variety of clouds,which is the unique scenery in Lijiang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We arrived in Baisha after a long day of travel. It rained a lot when we got there, so the road construction or whatever they were doing to the road made it 80% mudd and 20% water, although it looks like they're getting it fixed soon. When we got a bit lost and called the hotel, Charlie Lee came to our rescue. His english is almost perfect and he seemed so happy and kind hearted even though the rain (and our luggage which he took for us) was heavier than heavy. During our stay he invited us to drink tea with him all the time, and he suggested us to go on a hike with him and his friend in the closest mountain to a lake on the other side. It was deffinately a day to remember, them being so nice and buying us local dishes and beer and just practicing their English. The hotel is lovely, it is just as beautiful as in the pictures, even though there was no door to the bathroom, and the hotel was loud as hell - we could hear everything our neighbours talked about, but that is the only thing that you hear, neighbours, dogs, chickens and cows. Charlie Lee was deffinately the top of our stay. He is the sweetest person you could ever meet, and if you asks for anything he will do whatever he can to make you happy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang

Address: No.33 Sanyuan Village, Baisha Old Town | Go west for 150 meters of Sifang Street of Baisha Old Town, Lijiang 674100, China (Formerly Lijiang Shiwai Taoyuan Resort)
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 680 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surroundings: --3KM to Fuguo Monastery;--0KM to Baisha Ancient Town; --500M to Baisha Muruls;--15KM to Wenhai Lake;--25KM to Jade Dragon Snow Mountain;--15KM to Lijiang Railway Station;--40KM to Lijiang International Airport;--10KM to Lijiang Bus Station; Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang, invested by Yunnan Adventure Travel, is located in Baisha Ancient Town in the Eastern Himalayas of Yunnan Province, in a plush valley at 2450m elevation, at the foothills of majestic, snow-capped Jade Dragon Snow Mountain. Opened in 2012, Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang is a senior private inn blends into Naxi courtyard characteristics. It is located in Baisha Ancient Town, about 10KM away from Lijiang city center, 20KM away from the Lijiang Railway Station and 40KM away from Lijiang International Airport. Baisha Holiday Resort has been created to provide western standards of residency and hygiene. Housed in 800 year old, traditional hand-crafted Naxi architecture and environment, 12 guest rooms are offered with full western facilities. From standard to executive and suite, each has individual shower, toilet and wash-basin areas, HD digital TV with satellite service for English movie, documentary and news channels, and wireless internet. Four of these rooms also have a loft for full views of nearby Jade Dragon and its plush foothills. Pricing is detailed in our "Reservations" section and includes breakfast for two. Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang is composed of 2 courtyards, with a stream though by. The resort has 12 comfortable rooms which include 2 Standard Rooms, 2 Snow Mountain View Deluxe Suites, 1 Traditional Chinese-style Room, 2 Garden-view Deluxe Suites, 2 Deluxe Suites and 2 Deluxe Standard Rooms. All rooms have furniture with famous brands, modern equipped bathrooms with bath and shower, working and relaxing area. The resort offers 2 open air courtyard with trees and water ponds for lucky fishes. The resort is tastefully decorated using traditional Chinese antique furniture. As for dining service, there are Chinese restaurant, Conference Room,lobby bar and tea house in the resort and meal delivery service is available. Other facilities the hotel include wireless internet area and reading bar, etc. Apart from these, Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang also provides service such as ticket booking, Lijiang join-in tour, laundry service and postal service. Especially, people can enjoy the singing and dance bonfire party with Naxi ethnic people who dress ethnic costume in the coutyard every night. Meanwhile, the hotel also provides guests: A.Live traditional Naxi and Chinese music in the morning time. B.The resort can introduce the guests into chinese culture,like paiting,peotry and music. C.The resort can arrange tours and excursions to all the popular sites, such as Tiger Leaping Gorge, Shangerila, Yulong Snowing Mountain, Lugu Lake, etc. These tours and excursions can be customized for the travellers as daytrips and for longer terms. D.As a local Naxi family, the resort can arrange for their guests visit to local villages, ceremonies and concerts, the resort like to invite you to take part in traditional Puer-tea ceremonies. E.The resort has heating on each room. F.W-lan and cable adsl in each room is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.