We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, helpful - a lovely experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maple Leaf Inn to your Saves list
Maple Leaf Inn
D4-3 Yanliu Road, Shuhe Town, Lijiang 674100, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 674 Hotels in Lijiang
Hamburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Welcoming, helpful - a lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

After travelling around China for the last three weeks and finding it very difficult to communicate with most hotel staff - to be greeted in English by Sally, Will and Anna at Maple Leaf Inn was such a positive feeling. We stayed for two days - would have preferred to extend but regrettably this was not possible. Will found us local alternative accomodation.

Many, many thanks for making us feel so welcome !



PS: English breakfast with banana bread was a new and tasty culinary experience !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    20
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
28
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed 5 Nights in Maple Leaf Inn in Shuhe and had a wonderful Time!
Nice Rooms, a very very friendly and helpful staff that helped us to organize Trips and to find some really good chinese Food! We really enjoyed our Time in Shuhe and in Maple Leaf Inn! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lijiang, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

To start with: Suhe (5 minutes from Lijiang), is much better then Lijang, smaller and less touristic.The guesthouse is runned by a helpful Dutch/Chinese couple. They take all the time to give you information about China and how to travel.

We stayed in this lovely guesthouse for 6 days in total as a perfect basis to see things in Suhe and around. We went to Lugu Lake and Tiger Leaping Gorge from here. You can choose in the guesthouse to book just the bustickets (local prices) or a tour. At both trips we went back to Maple Leaf Inn and it feld if we were 'back home' because of the welcoming people that are working there.

The guesthouse is a relaxing place with a nice patio / garden. The rooms are comfortable and nice decorated, all in a different colour:) And the beds have heated blankets (if you need them). We are traveling for 3 months around now and this guesthouse is definitely in our top 3!

One warning: the bananebread is so good, you can't stop eating it!:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

After reading other reviews of the Maple Leaf on trip advisor, we decided to stay here over finding accommodation in Lijiang. We arrived late into Lijiang and were greeted at the airport with transportation to the Maple Leaf. Spacious rooms, great breakfast and lots of helpful information and guidance with a fair price. With Will's recommendations and Paul's help we easily made it to Shangri-La and back in our week long stay in Yunan. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Wil and his wife run this lovely hostel/hotel. It's set in the walled town of Shuhe, a short drive away from the touristy Lijiang. All the reviews were correct, this is a quaint old town and much preferred by us than busy Lijiang. The hotel has a lovely courtyard for relaxing. The room was very clean with a lovely decor. Breakfast was a little basic with little imagination though. They were able to arrange transport for us to take the bus to Qiaotou to do a trek in Tiger Leaping Gorge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

When I look back to all of the places I stayed in China over the course of 3 weeks, I believe this was my favorite. No, the rooms were not the best I experienced, nor was the breakfast the most delicious and the shower - which I do let weigh heavily in reviews - was not "the best". The people, Will and his wife, they make this the best place I have stayed. The service is personal. It kind of feels like you are in a loving home where people smile and are gueinely interested in making sure you have a good stay - not just at their hotel but in general. Their knowledge and assistance really made my time in Lijang and trip to Tiger Leaping Gorge perfect. Perfect place to stay when traveling to Lijang/Shuhe and if I find myself back in this part of China, I will not hesitate to reserve the Maple Leaf Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Four of us stayed here for three nights and it was hard to fault. Will met us when we arrived late one night and went out of his way to give us local knowledge and help us. We thought we were staying in Lijiang Old Town and what a relief that the Maple Leaf is located in Shuhe. Shuhe is far less frantic and once the tour buses go it is a great place to stay. We especially enjoyed joining in the Naxi dancing with the friendly locals in the square, if you do this don't be shy but get in and experience the joy of dancing with the Naxi people.

The breakfasts at the Maple Leaf are hearty and the coffee and homemade banana bread sublime.

This place deserves its high ranking on TA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Address: D4-3 Yanliu Road, Shuhe Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 674 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Leaf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.