We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy rooms, close to old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel to your Saves list
Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.53 Guangbi Alley, Guangyi Street, Lijiang 674100, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 681 Hotels in Lijiang
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy rooms, close to old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hotel/Old town, are good 25kms from airport. Taxi s are not allowed in old town, so you will have to drag your bags upto 100m. Alternatively you can request hotel to send an electric golf cart to pick your stuff. The hotel is around 1.5 kms for bus station, 0.5 kms from old town center and 2 kms from black dragon pool. You must figure out how to get back to hotel - because people dont speak English and they cant guide you.

Rooms are small but very cozy. There s no bath tub. In room fitting and lighting looks new. The beds are good and sleep quality is good.

The staff is very friendly and professional. They can do a reasonable bit of english. The staff can send things like iron if required. They can also connect you with tour operators.

As a non Chinese I did appreciate the break fast. You also get wifi in rooms

If you visit the Jade Dragon mountain, preserve the yellow slip. This can be used at other locations such as black dragon pool. Besides these points Lugu lake and Tiger leaping gorge are must dos. You do NOT need the oxygen cylinder per person. One cylinder per group is good enough.

Room Tip: hotel is split into two parts. Rooms closer to reception building are smaller but cozier. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
CH-Eschenbach LU
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We did choose this hotel according reviews also from other websites. Unfortunately it was not as we expected. The location was perfect, the breakfast good but we had several troubles:

first it was not possible to pick up us from taxi (the luggage cart was damaged). We have booked a grand suite from Agoda, acc. description 50sqm. The given room was max. 28sqm and very poor furnished (nothing to do with grand suite shown on Hotel website).

My chinese wife tried 3 times to get a better room, they showed also 2 others but none of them similar and nice as the 41sqm grand suite as on hotel website. I think we have received a very poor standard room in the oldest and most poor garden of the resort.

Room Tip: please make sure that you will get a room acc. description and picture
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had the suite (is more a junior suite). Comfortable with relaxing beds and a very small sitting area. Only the domotica didnot work properly, i.c. was not practical. If you needed only light in the bathroom, you got light in almost the whole suite. Some of the staff speak English; others don't. We asked at the reception for a massage and werte adviced to a nearby hotel (Waika hotel?). This experience was wonderful! Do experience it yourself when you stay in this hotel.
Unfortunately other (Asian) guests often made much noice in the corridors ('streets alongside the room'). This happened on several days and on early hours; not ideal for a good sleep.
The breakfast room is too small for the amount of guests (and if you are tall; watch your head). The breakfast itself was reasonable. Although on several days various products happened to be out of stock.The hotel is located on the border of the old town. From the parking area you are brought with electric cars to the reception. The old town is nice to see, but has become very touristic.
Very positive; we did telephone the hotel a day prior to our arrival because of a late arrival. As a service the hotel took care for a free pick-up from the airport!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
131 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We selected this hotel for 3-days based largely on TA reviews and were not disappointed. Th e taxi driver had trouble finding it but I had him call the hotel and they gave him directions to the outside pickup point and the "golf cart" was waiting to pick us up. I found the front desk to have passable English if you are just patient and talk slowly. The staff tripped all over themselves to be helpful. The concierge even walked me to a pharmacy, translated and called a third party for an antibiotic recommendation (Montezuma's Revenge, Delhi Belly, Karachi Crouch-I don't know the term for China). Breakfast was pretty good. The room was somewhat cramped but the bath was ok. It was a ways to the old town "action" and most of the maps we found had serious errors but after a couple of days we could find our way around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at the Lijiang Pullman Resort for the first leg of our Yunnan trip and wished we had stayed here longer/the whole time instead!

Pros:
1. Nice location: very quiet side of Lijiang old city
2. Very good value

Cons:
1. Room, bathroom a bit cramped
2. We had an in-room massage that was not very professional
3. Breakfast could be improved

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
223 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed in what they call a grand suite -I would personally call it a junior suite.

The room was nice and comfortable, the hotel has a good location in a quiet area of Lijiang old city, with a refined decoration. A nice large flat screen TV, but only CCTV news & Deutsche Welle. The rest is Chinese channels.

The breakfast is average and the fact that you need to walk some 100m on a public street to get to the breakfast restaurant is obviously not the most convenient. Furthermore, the breakfast is not very nice and more intended to Chinese tourists than to foreigners.

Virtually no English is spoken at the hotel. The receptionists are not helpful: they don't take USD, they don't take Amex cards... This wastes the whole experience.

Would I stay there again? The answer is no.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is a more comfortable and nicer version compared to other local inns inside the old town. It's traditional Chinese buildings with connecting gardens and I enjoyed reading the history of chamagudao on the wall. The room is very nice and clean. I am addicted to massags (foot and body) and to my surprise couldn't find any inside the old town. I thougt they would have been in every corner. So I was pleasntly surprised that the hotel also has offer in-room massage which I enjoyed very much. The location though - I can never find my way back from old town... I'm easily lost!! hehe...

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens to the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
The Bivou
#1 of 681 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Gucheng District
Lijiang Spiritual Utopia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LUX* Lijiang
#3 of 681 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
The Bruce Chalet
#4 of 681 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel

Address: No.53 Guangbi Alley, Guangyi Street, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 681 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.