We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice small hotel on the border of the old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel

Save Saved
You added Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.53 Guangbi Alley, Guangyi Street, Lijiang 674100, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 454 hotels in Lijiang
belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“a nice small hotel on the border of the old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had the suite (is more a junior suite). Comfortable with relaxing beds and a very small sitting area. Only the domotica didnot work properly, i.c. was not practical. If you needed only light in the bathroom, you got light in almost the whole suite. Some of the staff speak English; others don't. We asked at the reception for a massage and werte adviced to a nearby hotel (Waika hotel?). This experience was wonderful! Do experience it yourself when you stay in this hotel.
Unfortunately other (Asian) guests often made much noice in the corridors ('streets alongside the room'). This happened on several days and on early hours; not ideal for a good sleep.
The breakfast room is too small for the amount of guests (and if you are tall; watch your head). The breakfast itself was reasonable. Although on several days various products happened to be out of stock.The hotel is located on the border of the old town. From the parking area you are brought with electric cars to the reception. The old town is nice to see, but has become very touristic.
Very positive; we did telephone the hotel a day prior to our arrival because of a late arrival. As a service the hotel took care for a free pick-up from the airport!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We selected this hotel for 3-days based largely on TA reviews and were not disappointed. Th e taxi driver had trouble finding it but I had him call the hotel and they gave him directions to the outside pickup point and the "golf cart" was waiting to pick us up. I found the front desk to have passable English if you are just patient and talk slowly. The staff tripped all over themselves to be helpful. The concierge even walked me to a pharmacy, translated and called a third party for an antibiotic recommendation (Montezuma's Revenge, Delhi Belly, Karachi Crouch-I don't know the term for China). Breakfast was pretty good. The room was somewhat cramped but the bath was ok. It was a ways to the old town "action" and most of the maps we found had serious errors but after a couple of days we could find our way around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at the Lijiang Pullman Resort for the first leg of our Yunnan trip and wished we had stayed here longer/the whole time instead!

Pros:
1. Nice location: very quiet side of Lijiang old city
2. Very good value

Cons:
1. Room, bathroom a bit cramped
2. We had an in-room massage that was not very professional
3. Breakfast could be improved

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed in what they call a grand suite -I would personally call it a junior suite.

The room was nice and comfortable, the hotel has a good location in a quiet area of Lijiang old city, with a refined decoration. A nice large flat screen TV, but only CCTV news & Deutsche Welle. The rest is Chinese channels.

The breakfast is average and the fact that you need to walk some 100m on a public street to get to the breakfast restaurant is obviously not the most convenient. Furthermore, the breakfast is not very nice and more intended to Chinese tourists than to foreigners.

Virtually no English is spoken at the hotel. The receptionists are not helpful: they don't take USD, they don't take Amex cards... This wastes the whole experience.

Would I stay there again? The answer is no.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is a more comfortable and nicer version compared to other local inns inside the old town. It's traditional Chinese buildings with connecting gardens and I enjoyed reading the history of chamagudao on the wall. The room is very nice and clean. I am addicted to massags (foot and body) and to my surprise couldn't find any inside the old town. I thougt they would have been in every corner. So I was pleasntly surprised that the hotel also has offer in-room massage which I enjoyed very much. The location though - I can never find my way back from old town... I'm easily lost!! hehe...

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens to the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We are right now in Lijiang. City and mountains are beautiful
Hotel is clean, nobody understands you. Rooms are ok, but having breakfast outside is just too much. Also hotelguests are mostly Chinese, so manners and food is not enoyable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

This hotel is located right inside Lijiang old town. Note that taxis cannot drive into this area so make sure you know which road it is closest to (chang shui road) so that it is only a few minutes walk from where you get dropped off. If you get off at the North town entrance, it will be pretty hard to find this hotel through the winding old streets.

The hotel itself has good service. Rooms are clean, bed is very comfortable, staff are friendly (although most can't speak english).

Breakfast is passable, but not amazing. If you want to skip it, you can walk through the streets of old town until you find a market place which has lots of local stalls serving cheap and tasty breakfast.

I ended up just staying in the old town and the walkable surrounding area for the two days that I was here.

Only negative is that there is an in-house massage service. Worst massage I have had in China so would recommend skipping that.

Room Tip: all rooms open out to a little courtyard. stayed in the deluxe room which was more than good enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel

Address: No.53 Guangbi Alley, Guangyi Street, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 454 hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.