We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blossom Hill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blossom Hill Inn to your Saves list
Blossom Hill Inn
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Dayan Old Town, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 677 Hotels in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 stars 119 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very special spot in Li jiang commercial area, brought me peace and quality time during stay. Although price is a bit higher if comparison win others in same area, but I do think that's totally worth and awesome experience. They have such a lovely dog!! And provides good BBQ every Sta night.

I will def choose that if I back to Li jiang.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Sales Coordinator at Blossom Hill Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guests,greeting from Blossom Hill Inn and thank you for choosing us. Thank you for your praise also. We will try our best to do everything better. Looking forward to your next coming. Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    39
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
36
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I travelled with my cousin and we had a really pleasant stay. The hotel was charming, and our room was spacious with high ceilings, two double beds and separate sitting area. We shared the lobby with only one other room. We had previously arranged an airport pick up, and they were there on time, and fortunately we did arrange this, otherwise it would have been quite difficult to find.
The bathroom was modern with all amenities provided. Breakfast was a little limited, and also quite charming as it was a buffet in the kitchen, so you could ask the cook to make fresh eggs, although was a little difficult to communicate! I made my own sunny side up egg on the first day to show her, and then for the following days, she knew what I wanted.
The receptionists were really helpful, and could speak limited English, but enough to help. They were also able to offer us discounted tickets to the Wangfu temple, as they have a sister hotel in the park where the temple is situated.
We left very early one morning, before breakfast was served, and when we we went to check out, they presented us with a take away, including freshly boiled eggs (they were still hot!), bread, fruit, water and milk. It was very unexpected and a very thoughtful touch.
There was also a very sweet dog that lived there, (and I love dogs), and also a couple of cats (my cousin is a cat person!) so it was perfect for both of us - it was a little home from home.
The only downside was that there was no aircon in the room, only ceiling fans, but with the windows open, there was a nice breeze. Not sure what the other reviewers were talking about in terms of noise, but we had a very peaceful stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room when booking....just gives a bit more privacy, as the ground floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Sales Coordinator at Blossom Hill Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guests,greeting from Blossom Hill Inn and thank you for choosing us. Thank you for your praise also. We will try our best to do everything better. Looking forward to your next coming. Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Positive: nice bathroom, decent room size and OK cleanliness. Nice view from the breakfast terrace.

Negative:

1. Absolutely HORRIBLE location: hotel is located 100m behind noisy disco/bar street. There is no way anybody coming to China would want to spend any time in that environment outside of "educational" value of what modern local Chinese tourism is about.

2.I had to ask 7-10 people for directions to get to the hotel. Nobody really knows were it is. Hotel reception telephone did not answer for an hour. If you have any luggage outside of a backpack, you will need to hire somebody to carry your stuff to the hotel.

3. If you want to pay with credit card, you have to go to the other side of the old town. Concept of a personal receipt for a payment is still unknown. Advise: pay in cash, do not expect receipt.

4. Our room was on a ground floor, facing reception: no privacy what so ever. Had to have curtains drawn all the time, and anybody waking to the hotel had to cross in the front of our window. People stopped in front of our window(the only one) to talk on the cell phones.

5. Hotel stuff English knowledge is very limited, do not expect much help with directions or other information. This is hotel for Chinese party goers, not much more.

This hotel may be a good choice for Chinese travelers but for anybody coming from outside it
will be a hindrance. Positive reviews look "fishy" to me.

BAD LOCATION kills any positive aspects of the hotel. in general: AVOID !

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor room facing reception at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Sales Coordinator at Blossom Hill Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guests,greeting from Blossom Hill Inn and thank you for choosing us. We are very sorry for the inconvinience caused to you. We will try our best to do everything better. Looking forward to your next coming. Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I had perhaps the worst room you can have here, right across the courtyard from the lounge and check-in area. There was also a tremendous amount of construction going on in the building next door. That is not Blossom Hill's fault, but it made for a less than peaceful stay.

That said, this is a charming place, well located up a long alley from the thick of the crowd in the old town. I thought the town was awful; a bad version of Chinese Disneyland. Over-produced, crowded, and touristy. The surrounding area is extraordinary, though, and worth the trip.

The view from the Inn's upper terrace is spectacular. They serve breakfast there, weather permitting, and it is fine, but not exceptional.

The rooms are very comfortable and beds fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Sales Coordinator at Blossom Hill Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guests,greeting from Blossom Hill Inn and thank you for choosing us. And we are very sorry for the inconvinience caused to you. We will try our best to do everything better. Looking forward to your next coming. Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

What a lovely hotel, such friendly staff. Our room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was also large and had everything we needed. Overall the accommodation could not be faulted. We enjoyed sitting outside on our little balcony too.

It was a short walk to the hotel where we had breakfast. Unfortunately there seemed to be ham in all the vegetable dishes and there was very little fruit, so as a non meat eater I was struggling a bit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Sales Coordinator at Blossom Hill Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear guests,greeting from Blossom Hill Inn and thank you for choosing us. Thank you for your praise also. We will try our best to do everything better. Looking forward to your next coming. Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

To reinforce all the positive reviews. There are few greater or more convenient places too stay in Old Lijiang. Friendly helpful Staff, good position, Large comfortable rooms. Breakfast a few minutes walk. Restaurants for dinner all around. We spent a faultless few days. We wish it could have been longer. We ate in the restaurant recommended by reception almost next door when facing the hotel and to the right. No idea of the name but great prawns in a basket. No English spoken but that is the fun. Use Google translate on your smart phone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Sales Coordinator at Blossom Hill Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guests,greeting from Blossom Hill Inn and thank you for choosing us. Thank you for your praise also. We will try our best to do everything better. Looking forward to your next coming. Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

So many advantages of the hotel that I do not know which to start with - above all - perfect location in the Old City; friendly and helpful staff speaking English very well, who will help you to arrange the trips, get the tickets for different ways of transport, explain you how to get everywhere around; amazingly furnished rooms (in stone and wood, a little bit dark and mysterious, a curtain instead of the bathroom door which at the beginning may seem strange depending on who you are travelling with :), every accessories needed when you travel - cosmetisc, hair-dryer, heating in the room, and...heated bed, so comfortable after you come back to the room after the long and tiring mountain trip); delicious afternoon tea; nice patio to take a rest; tasty breakfast; quick Wi-Fi; and the amazing atmosphere after you enter the hotel. Thank you for the wonderful time spent at the Blossom Hill! One advice - if Blossom Hill in Shangri-la is also your chain hotel - it is difficult to book it by any website, maybe you can improve the on-line booking service. After such a wonderful time spent in Blossom Hill Lijiang, I am sure people would like to continue the journeys with you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Sales Coordinator at Blossom Hill Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guests,greeting from Blossom Hill Inn and thank you for choosing us. Thank you for your praise also. We will try our best to do everything better. Looking forward to your next coming. Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blossom Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blossom Hill Inn

Address: Dayan Old Town, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 677 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blossom Hill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blossom Hill Inn in Lijiang has expanded rapidly in 2012 and each of the 5 properties has a distinctive characteristics therefore reviews should be done for the individual property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blossom Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blossom Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.