We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Be Cozy one should be at TheBruceChalet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bruce Chalet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bruce Chalet to your Saves list
The Bruce Chalet
Ronghua Village, Shuhe Town, Lijiang 674100, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 676 Hotels in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 stars 285 Reviews
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“To Be Cozy one should be at TheBruceChalet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Hi,
I have come to this part of the world based on a recommendation of a friend. Needless to say (but I will still say it!) I have loved every minute of it. The nature is spectacular and the sense of serenity – every step of the way. Now, in order to have such experience true 24/7 you need to have a good base – a place of lodging that would compliment the outside experience.

The Bruce Chalet [TBC] turned out to be such a wonderful (-ly suitable) place.

Now, even though I am not a devote approver of resorts, there were moments while I was staying at TBC that made me feel like I am at one, and it was great. Namely, the chalet has a very nice surrounding set-up with a big garden, a river, trees – all of it making you feel like you are in your own special world. The location is made even better as the Snow Mountain is right in front of you; any way you look you have to and do feel as if you are in heavenish place. (and mind you – all of this during late December)

So, the place is great by being (in) its own world, and yet only 10-15 minutes away from the old town. In other words – you have the quiet and then can easily engage in more liveliness.

The owner is a very friendly person who speaks if not perfect, then certainly very good English, so that he can and will make your touristy/travel life over there much easier and smoother (if you are incapable of speaking Cantonese, like I am).

The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable (and clean!), but there are only a dozen or so in existence. This works as the place thus maintains the hidden-gemmeness (made-up word, but you know what I mean) of it all, and allows you to have a pace as leisurly as you wish it to be. On the other hand – if you are a bigger group and need more hotel-oriented action and amenities => maybe you should find a bigger place.

Final note would be the food; it is fresh as they have a mini-farm at TBC, but the tastes are not those of the top-notch restaurant type. However, this apparent culinary simplicity should not be an issue for a traveler who is more keen on experiences of simply trying new things and being in the amazing natural setting.

As such, I would warmly recommend and do recommend this place to any traveler who may or will be going to Lijiang; even if you are back-packerishly roaming through Yunnan province – Lijiang is a cool place to come to and The Bruce Chalet a great place to be staying at.

Best of travels!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    49
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
63
70
33
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Planning to go to Lijiang?

First of all, you should need to go to the charming Lijiang Old Town that is now a famous tourist attraction for its traditional ethnic culture and customs, inimitable buildings and the wonderful natural views. A large number of bars and cafe, which are decorated in different styles, are another highlight of Lijiang Old Town. It is worth mentioning that some bars in Lijiang are owned or operated by westerners who have become deeply fond of this city.

For living, we really dun love to live in the old town. We want to have a little bit far from this place -- so crowd and we want to live in a quite place.

We selected to live in the Bruce Chalet, just ten minutes walk from the Shuhe Old Town. This chalet is the combination of the multinational culture and the progress of Naxi ethnic minority, the buildings incorporate the best parts of the architectural traits of a unique Naxi style. Naxi people pay much attention to the decoration, the commodious and applied houses are mostly timber and tile structure compound with a garden, beautiful flowers and trees in the garden. Living in such a beautiful and comfortable place is a real pleasant thing. Oh yes, dun forget to have tea on the balcony to watch the Jade Dragon Snow Mountain. In March, everywhere near the Bruce Chalet full of yellow flower.... so beautiful...running around the yellow flower field so cool...

The owner Bruce is a wonder young guy who could speak fluent English and he is really helpful for our pick up and help us for plan our trip. Thanks Bruce!!

Dun miss to play with his little dog LeLe... a really good security guard walk around u and make u happy. Thanks LeLe... we always love u...

Bruce and LeLe, we promise to come again next year ...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

The Bruce Chalet is a bespoke place that meets the needs and wants of a large clientele. The rooms are affordable and away from the touristy crowd yet is only 10 minutes away from one of the old towns (apparently there's a few in Lijiang)... If you are looking for some quiet time with an AMAZING garden then this Chalet is exactly what you are looking for.... Althought there's only approx 12 rooms but each room is spacious and is able to meet many 3-4 stars properties in China! I love the fact they have this big balcony from the common area where people can enjoy bbq at night while star gazing! It is situated in a small residential area where you can definitely meet the locals there...but no one speaks English though... so if you really want to experience the culture there.... then this is the place to stay...However service wise - kind of limited b/c they don't have many staff.. but is always happy to assist at our convenience.....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

This inn is situated, away from the spot light, in the ShuHu Old Town. For those who are looking for an escape from the insanity of the metropolis like me, this inn would make a great choice. My wife was especially taken by the breathtaking garden which has a pond of fish and lotus, and blossom of flower surrounding the whole area. We spent quite a number of our daytime sitting around the garden and enjoying the peacefulness it has to offer. we just felt as though time stopped.
Other than that, our room was neat, clean and spacious. and it was quiet at night, so we had no problem sleeping. The bathroom was clean to the point that my neat-freak wife didn't complain. However, not much of a varity of food was offered by the inn. But then were always out during meals, so we didn't bother to ask too much about food.
Going to other hot spots from this inn is also quite convient, too. About a 10 min walk to the ShuHu Old town; a 7-dollar cab ride took us to the Lijiang Old Town and catch the actions from all around Lijiang.
In fact, we actually found other cheaper places. but as soon as we saw the garden and the spacious room, we decided to stay considering the price was also affordible.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bruce Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bruce Chalet

Address: Ronghua Village, Shuhe Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 676 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bruce Chalet would be a great place for you who are already exhausted in trying to survive the throat cutting metropolitan life and looking for ways to recharge your batteries. The Chalet located in the Shuhe village underneath the Jade Dragon Mountain in Lijiang, Yunnan, China, the Chalet features picturesque scenery, genial sunlight, a large garden and great hospitality. The Bruce Chalet is built based on Naxi style structure combining with modern facilities. In total of 13 comfort rooms, including luxurious suites and Snow Mountain View rooms, all rooms with private bathroom, hairdryer, WIFI… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your The Bruce Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bruce Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.