We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but a decline in services” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lijiang Sanhe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lijiang Sanhe Hotel to your Saves list
Lijiang Sanhe Hotel
No.4 Jishan Lane, Xinyi Street, Old Town, Lijiang 674100, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 676 Hotels in Lijiang
4.0 of 5 stars 59 Reviews
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent location but a decline in services”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at the Sanhe for the third time in June 2013 because I liked the Naxi-style courtyard, the clean room with wooden floor, and the location in the old town but only at a short walking distance from the taxi area. But I noticed a decline in services: for example, no soap or shampoo and no more free breakfast in the homey Tibetan restaurant across the street. It is incomprehensible and unacceptable that guests at a hotel like the Sanhe have to go to a variety store to buy soap and shampoo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

When you arrive at the outskirts of Lijiang Ancient Town you are met by the hotel staff who will transport your luggage and guide you to the hotel. This is very convenient as no vehicles are allowed on the old cobbled streets and lanes of the UNESCO listed old town and it is easy to get lost on your first visit.
My wife and I have now stayed at this hotel on three occasions and found the hotel to be well located in one of the main thoroughfares of the old town. Rooms are small, reasonably well appointed and arranged on two levels around paved courtyards decorated with plants and murals. The rooms and grounds are clean, the staff have always been helpful and breakfasts are served at one of the nearby restaurants. These breakfasts are nothing special, mainly chinese with a sprinkling of western choices.
If we return to Lijiang will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor, then you will not have to navigate narrow stairways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were on a three week tour of China and were supposed to be staying in 4 star hotels. Our Chinese tour agents had booked us into a lot of good hotels but something went wrong with this one. If I was 18 again and was backpacking it might have just been acceptable. The door key was a padlock. There was no soap or shampoo. Curtains were hanging off the rail. Mattresses stored in the corridors,The room was very basic although clean. The rest of the hotel was not particularly clean. Hotel does not match the photographs I have seen on Tripadvisor.. Refused to stay and our agent got us a much better hotel. Do not understand why so many rave about this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is my 3rd trip to Lijiang and I love this place. This time I came with my hubby, my 3 years old boy, my parents, brother inlaw and family. I decided that we are gg to stay in the ancient town to experience some thing different so I booked Sanhe. Due to flight delayed, we arrived pass mid night. The staffs were very helpful and friendly. Despite that its so late, they still helped us to add extra bed, laid the bed sheet and all these were done with smiles.

The bedroom was of a comfortable size attached bath room, bed heater, a small table, 2 stools...

Although, we had to walk a distance away from the hotel for breakfast and it is super cold in the morning, we were quite satisfied with the food served.

The location was very convenient, not too far from the main road, surrounded with eateries, shops etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here for just one night on my way to Shangrila. The location of the hotel is simply perfect. It is walking distance to the town center and has all the restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The beds are really big. They do not provide any soaps or shampoos so you need to car your own. The hotel is pretty big and the room at the back are not noisy even though the hotel is in the middle of the walking town.
The signs in the bathroom are a little funny as they are literal translation from Chinese.
Lots of eating places nearby but beware of the cheats. The restaurant we went to told us that they can not give less than six beers. After the two of us had ordered that we saw others having a single beer. This became a big deal as my Chinese companion felt cheated and called the police. Looks like the it was normal to cheat tourists this way.
Overall we had a very comfortable stay in Sanhe hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms towards the back building as they are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights after our trek in tiger leaping gorge. We could walk into the streets of old town Lijiang directly fron here and come back to relacx when the noise and activity got too much. It was nice but nothing ancient or old town about it - very new. We had a suite which was too big for us but we enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are good but you have to be careful going up and down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in total. The rooms were clean and the staff was helpful. It is centrally located in Lijiang Old Town so everything is close. It is, however, a good respite from the crowds. The courtyards are beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed relaxing at the hotel and visiting with each other. Only annoyance was the lack of toiletries. You have to buy little packets of shampoo and body wash as the hotel doesn't provide any. Creating so much trash with each shower seems to run counter to their "Eco" tourism positioning. Overall, a good value.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lijiang Sanhe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lijiang Sanhe Hotel

Address: No.4 Jishan Lane, Xinyi Street, Old Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 676 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lijiang Sanhe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lijiang Sanhe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.