We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but not excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Lijiang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Lijiang to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Lijiang
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yuerong Road, Shuhe, Gucheng District, Lijiang 67410, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 681 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good, but not excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great rooms, beds, tea service in room, workout facility and spa. Outstanding views of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain. Service was excellent. However, the dining leaves a lot to be desired. Much better restaurants available around town. Breakfast buffet is also not up to the standard that is expected of this chain, especially in this location.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the north end of the property where the views of the mountain are uncluttered by ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MThomas-AGM, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken to post your comments on Banyan Tree Lijiang on Trip Advisor. As much as we are pleased that you were satisfied with "almost" all the facilities and services, we are disappointed that we let you down with the breakfast and restaurants.

We are making necessary and urgent changes to ensure that our Food and Beverage areas are improved to meet expectations of our valued guests.

We hope that you would visit us again in the future and would see that comments such as yours have been taken seriously and improvements made.

Thank you again and very best wishes.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    212
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
99
159
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pusiano
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I booked the Banyan Tree expecting a beautifully landscaped resort in the countryside and outstanding service to relax after a three weeks long tour in China.
Although this is by far the most expensive resort in Lijiang, we were far from being impressed. Having travelled extensively across the world, my feedback is a benchmark of this hotel versus equivalent resorts from Four Seasons, Six Senses and the like...
First of all, the resort is twenty minutes away from Lijiang old city but no longer sits in the countryside. Extensive real estate and roadworks developments bring you on the very step of the resort entrance = no feel for nature or seclusion but just the inconvenient to be far from the old city. Rooms are well appointed but a bit worn out as far as furniture and various fitments are concerned. The real weakness though are the public areas and overall service. Restaurants and lobby are too small for the amount of guests and all feels very noisy and crammed for this category of hotel; each day we had to wait for a table at breakfast, service was rushed and the overall ambience typical of a mass three stars hotel. Food quality and variety for breakfast was mediocre too. Same story with reception: they try to be of help but are frequently overwhelmed by the amount of guests crammed in a small lobby = no privacy, no personal touch, cold and rushed attention to guests. Lastly cleaning is questionable both in rooms at at the restaurants: dirty windows, food left overs on the floor, not what you should see in a five start resort. We believe there is a number of boutique inns in much nicer locations around Lijiang that may have less stars but are certainly more authentic and possibly more personal and caring with customers. Final note: do not be mislead by the web site pictures: lots of waterfall decorations in the gardens but no public swimming pool. Should you wish to swim you must book a villa with private Jacuzzi or pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MThomas-AGM, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Marcovojage,
We have read your comments and disappointed that you did not enjoy the stay at Banyan Tree Lijiang.
The month of August is the busiest month of the year, and this year Lijiang as a whole has been exceptionally busy and crowded and we were fully booked most of the nights. This indeed is an unusual situation and we empathize your sentiments that breakfast period was much crowed and the restaurant was extremely busy.
We do not have a large hotel type lobby in line with our design respecting the local culture and history but we understand your sentiments that during your stay, due to the above mentioned Peak Season, the resort was busy with many guests. We would like to reiterate that the Month of August being the busiest month for Lijiang, every resort, and hotel and guest house was busy with more than expected volume of tourists.
We are indeed away from the hustle and bustle of the Lijiang old city but walking distance to Shuhe Old Town which everyone appreciates as we do not have the noise, the traffic jams and the related issues. We also agree that at present the developments and the road works are somewhat disturbing but the road works are nearing completion and thereafter, in a positive sense, there will be a well paved, well lit, safe, comfortable and faster access to the resort.
We are just in the process of renovation plans by the middle of next year and most of the original Villas would be refurbished, bringing them back to the original condition and to our well known Banyan Tree standards.
We regret that you were disappointed that we do not have a main Swimming Pool. We do not advertise nor mention such a facility except for our Private Pools Villas and Jet Pool Villas which are extremely popular. We do not have water falls but extensive green space and water features which are sincerely appreciated by our guests due to the serenity and that these features bring to the resort.
We are sorry that your stay this time was not up to your expectations. However, we would sincerely hope that you could give us another opportunity in the future so that you and your family could enjoy the true spirit of our resort and Lijiang!
Last but not least, thank you very much for sharing your comments and we will ensure that shortcomings such as Breakfast service and room cleanliness are promptly rectified and our expected high standards are maintained.

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is Ms.Fu. We are coming from Shenzhen, Guangdong.
Every summer holiday my family will go vacation together, with my suggestion we planned to Lijiang this time. My husband booked Banyan Tree Lijiang which attracted by the reputation. We were very exciting and looking forward for the trip.
We were shocked by the beautiful scenery when we arrived the hotel, Yulong Mountain & Lijiang Old town etc famous scenery in the sight just in hotel. It was true to its name.
Unfortunately, rainy all day long and wasn't acclimatized, my husband and my son vomiting and diarrhea very serious. We could not go anywhere but just stayed in hotel. We were appreciated Manager Mo, who informed kitchen made ginger decoction and gave us antidiarrheal drugs. My husband and son recover very quickly with Manager Mo and his team took family-like care and concerned.It was very surprised that Mr.Mo arranged one car send us to the airport when we left.
It was little pity for this trip, but my family were very happy with kindness treatment of your hotel. It was an impressive trip.
We were very touched by Mr.Mo and his team. We want to express appreciated and say:Thank YOU!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Ms_Fuyw,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New York, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We just returned from a three week once in a lifetime trip to China. After running around Beijing, Xi'an and Guilin, the visit to Lijiang was a welcome change. The "private" villas at the Banyan Tree Resort are spectacular. The bedroom is magnificent, the sitting room is charming and has all the amenities, and the bathroom is beautiful and very luxurious, right down to the heated floor in the shower. We wish we had a few more days there to enjoy the top notch spa, restaurants and ambiance of the resort. The staff can't do enough for you. You must experience the Banyan Tree Lijiang.

Room Tip: We stayed in a villa that was a few hundred feet from the restaurant where people can sit outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear IraMaurer,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is so nice, and you can stay on the peaceful condition without any noise.
You can enjoy the very fresh air having the breakfast with the good service.The hotel
Reception service are perfect and they will do the necessary for the quest.and we wish
We will stay more nights in that hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MThomas-AGM, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Edward,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your very encouraging comments.

It is gratifying to learn of that you have had an enjoyable stay and I have shared your positive comments with my colleagues, who are very happy that they could contribute to your positive experience.

We wish you all the very best and hope to see you again, when you have the opportunity to return.

Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkk, thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Thank you Banyan Tree Lijiang.....We’ll be back!
Just came back from the Amazing Banyan Tree Lijiang. Lijiang was the last stop for us having travelled quite a bit in Sichuan, Beijing and eventually Yunnan. I had done my research on Banyan Tree and knew about it but what I actually found was an amazing resort so well positioned in one of the most beautiful settings. On arrival we were met with friendly resort staff and within a short time was checked I to a Mountain Facing duplex suite. The place was so serene and breathtaking, one can only feel it when you are here.
We were on the way to the restaurants in the evening when it was still bright as the sun set is late. We were admiring the views and contemplating whether we should go to the Shuhe old village which our driver had suggested. Then we met a gentleman who happened to be the General Manager and when he realized I was Thai he spoke to me in Thai and very quickly he had managed to convince us to stay in house. We had a Yunnan menu at the Chinese Restaurant which was excellent.
Breakfast quite frankly was not what we would have expected as the room was crowed and the food was “okay”. However, the resort offers so much, in terms of nature, friendly people taking care of you, breathtaking views and more, the food was not a major issue. We just did not bother to do any sightseeing, except one quick escapade to the Old City.
We really would like to complement the management and the team for maintaining the friendliness and care which is seen everywhere. This could be coming from the leadership as having met the GM we immediately realized that he was an absolutely caring person. The Villa we stayed was delightful, with comfortable beds and facilities. One evening we just sat on the balcony admiring the breathtaking mountain views and chatting away; before we knew the bottle of Chardonnay was gone :-)

Thank you Banyan Tree Lijiang!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear kerdpathomyon,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Amazing resort best service grate atmosphere not enough wards to express the beauty of the resort and outstanding service. A feeling of relaxation very good restaurants , both the Chinese and the eastern . We had some problems to expire the visa and they did the best they could to help us without asking for extra fee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MThomas-AGM, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Dana,

We are delighted to see your comments ad together with my associates we thank you for spending time with us and sharing such wonderful experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Lijiang or if you need assistance with another Banyan Tree property, please let us know.

Kind regards and all the very best.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Lijiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Lijiang

Address: Yuerong Road, Shuhe, Gucheng District, Lijiang 67410, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lijiang
#3 Spa Hotel in Lijiang
#4 Business Hotel in Lijiang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#34 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Lijiang 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic charm, rich culture and sweeping landscapes of Lijiang, declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997. Located in the highlands of Yunnan province, the resort is adjacent to the Na'xi minority old town of Shuhe and only a 10 minute drive from the ancient Silk Road town of Baisha. Situated close to the base of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, it is surrounded by high peaks and hidden valleys, making it a photographers dream. Many unique experiences are ready to be enjoyed as you explore the back streets of the ancient towns, traverse the mountainous landscape to Tiger Leaping Gorge, Wen Hai lake, or take a cycle trek through the foothills to remote Yi villages. For a more leisurely experience, indulge in one of the many luxurious treatments available at the world renowned Banyan Tree Spa. With clear blue skies for nine months of the year, enjoy a breath of fresh air and escape to the tranquility of Banyan Tree Lijiang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Lijiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Lijiang Hotel Lijiang
Banyan Tree Hotel Lijiang
Lijiang Banyan Tree Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Lijiang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.