We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous villas, adequate dining options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Lijiang

Save Saved
You added Banyan Tree Lijiang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Lijiang
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yuerong Road, Shuhe, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 478 hotels in Lijiang
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous villas, adequate dining options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I echo other readers. If you want a top hotel with really beautiful villas, this is the place for you.

We were greeted at the reception with the most delicious tea I've ever tasted! Staff were generally friendly and helpful.

We stayed in a jacuzzi villa. Didn't use the jacuzzi because there were insects inside.. Aside from this, the villa was absolutely gorgeous. Three people shared this villa, which had two bathrooms! One large double bed and a separate bedroom with a single bed. The villa has glass walls (with curtains and shutters for privacy) which let in a lot of natural light, so we felt surrounded in nature! Turndown service included small souvenirs each evening which was a nice touch. Overall the villa was really beautiful and we felt really pampered.

We tended to eat dinner outside because, as mentioned in other reviews, the food is adequate at best. Food at breakfast was good and service was excellent.

The hotel is a short taxi ride from town (taxis are fairly inexpensive). Location is great because of the open space and mountain views.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    201
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
86
139
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Banyan Tree in Lijiang to really pamper ourselves during a much needed vacation. It was a combination of cultural experience and relaxation. The hotel is architecture and layout reflects the local culure/architecture which was beautiful. The staff and service, by and large were excellent. What keeps me from rating this place excellent is the food service - (1) room service was painfully slow for a property of this caliber, (2) service at the restaurants also too slow, and (3) the food was not great. Again, I would have expected really good food for a Banyan Tree. However, food quality/taste and food service speed aside, I highly recommend this property. It is very close by the Shuhe old village which is much more charming than Lijiang Old Town, which is a big plus because you can just walk there. We went with the entire family even though there's no pool - which was fine because we were exploring the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MThomas-AGM, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are grateful for your very objective comments. We would like to inform you that many corrective measures are being taken, including extensive training on Food and Beverage facilities and service. We hope that you would give us another opportunity for us to share with you the improvements that are being made and how much your comments have helped us.

Thank you very much for your time taken to share your experinces and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our room was a real haven. We toured early so we could come back and enjoy it. A separate area for watching tv (which we did not do) and a desk with wifi (which we did). The bed was sumptuous and the decor elegant with rich fabrics. The bathroom had a great rain shower with windows on the private garden. Loved the large bars of soap. No bath tub. Best of all was our own hot tub. Unfortunately the farmers were doing "forced burns" so the views were occluded with the smoke. and the smell of the burning fields was quite strong at times.
The staff were kind and helpful and spoke English well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

the resort is located in a perfect spot to see the jade dragon snow mountain. we enjoyed the nature beauty of the Naxi culutre in our yard.
the staff provided heartful service with their genuine smile.
breakfast is great, we loved that!
wonderful vocation in this perfect resort!
the resort is located in a perfect spot to see the jade dragon snow mountain. we enjoyed the nature beauty of the Naxi culutre in our yard.
the staff provided heartful service with their genuine smile.
breakfast is great, we loved that!
wonderful vocation in this perfect resort!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 5 days at Banyan Tree Lijiang in late February 2013, The resort was in a truly fabulous place of the world, I believe that by speaking to other Chinese that it is one of the only places left in China that isn't polluted. Like many places decleared a UNESCO site it is being destroyed by over development and commershalism

The Resort was great the local people were fabulous and the weather was crisp and clear, the staff whilst being very helpful had a distinct lack of training including lack of knowedge of the overall product and of English

NO western management which is needed in China, the management on duty really couldn't care and were unresponsive when provided with returned question aire which was asked of me severial times during our stay and was even passed to the manager at the time Jackson Fang

The Chinese quesine in the Asian Restaurant was were gott and presented well. The Western Restaurant was raelly hopeless. We were the only Westerners there during that period except for one other couple. The resort is really aimed at the wealthier Chinese which has worked well

The Spa was very average and the massage and beaty treatments were below I believe Banyan Tree standard

Overall the location Fabulous the resort great but I feel that I would not return but I would recommend to others but inform them of the downfalls

Room Tip: All Villas have at least a large private Spa and the size of the Villa's are large we were given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We booked the lower end Garden Delux Suite thru the Visa Signature Luxury Hotel program which promised us free breakfast, free room upgrade (when available) and late checkout. We arrived after the busy week of the Chinese new year holiday, and the front desk receptionist Mike managed to upgrade our room to the Garden Villa with an outdoor pool. Thank you so much Mike. The villa was perfect in EVERY aspect. Amazing and breath-taking view of the snow mountain! All my family members enjoyed the hot jacuzzi tub in the yard! The public area of the resort was awesome as well. The breakfast was lavish. The spa was awesome! Only one gripe is that the Chinese restaurant served the dinner a little bit slow; We were so hungry after a full day trip from the mountain.

Overall it worth the money we paid for it! Really recommend the pool/jacuzzi villa for family vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A must for anyone who is remotely into spiritual peace and happiness.
Enclose yourself in surroundings and service that can only be described as heavenly.
The views will occupy your mind and your camera.
How many different angles can you take-I ran out of battery on at least 4 occasions.
Taste the egg fried rice-how do they get it into a complete ball?
A huge experience that i have yet to recover from.
Must go again soon just to make sure it was real.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banyan Tree Lijiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Lijiang

Address: Yuerong Road, Shuhe, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lijiang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
#3 Family Hotel in Lijiang
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#35 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Lijiang 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the ethnic charm, historical milieu and architectural landscape of the Old Town of Lijiang. Located in Yunnan province, the resort is an hour's drive from the Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, a sacred sanctuary which has protected the ethnic minorities and their unique cultures since ancient times. Regarded as the Venice of the Orient with its dizzying array of water canals, quaint bridges and cobble-stoned streets, Lijiang was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Banyan Tree Lijiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Lijiang Hotel Lijiang
Banyan Tree Hotel Lijiang
Lijiang Banyan Tree Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Lijiang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.