We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pagodas weren't even the main attraction!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chongsheng Three Pagodas

Chongsheng Three Pagodas
Under Yingle Peak, Dali 671000, China
0872-2666107,0872-2449966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 52 Attractions in Dali
4.5 of 5 stars 218 Reviews
Type: Ancient Ruins, Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Observation Decks/ Towers, Landmarks
Attraction details
chester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pagodas weren't even the main attraction!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Lovely place to have a leisurely stroll around for a couple of hours. Loads of beautiful views as you get higher up the hill amongst the countless temples. Since I'm almost 2 meters tall, most of the Chinese people seemed to want to have their pictures taken with me - rather than the 3 pagodas. Spent about 30 minutes with a queue of them shaking hands and then posing with me. Quite enjoyed it.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    73
    31
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Soso, a bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Well not as good as in pictures, I have been a bit disappointed by this scenic.quite small, but fresh atmosphere. Besides there were too many people

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, NV
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“What a Sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The trip to Dali can not be complete without a visit to the Three Pagodas, what a history and the beauty of the place is worth the visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Another of China's surprises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We went thinking we were going to see 3 Pagodas, but there is so much more to this site than that. You can't climb the pagodas, but behind them there is an amazing temple complex, which goes on and on. It's worth going right to the tower at the top as there is a panoramic view of the whole lake area. There is a golf cart to take you up the hill if you feel that it's to far or steep, it costs you another 25 Yuan. The entrance fee is astononomical at 120 Yuan, but if you want to see it, you have to pay it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Make sure you go to the farthest point!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

A fascinating place, and probably one of the best kept and interesting temple complexes anywhere. The place is tiered, and there are many steps from one to the other (though there is a golf cart which will take you up and back, for a price 25 Yuan). My wife dropped out when we thought we were near the top, in fact it was about half way up. Make it to the watch tower, as the panoramic view of the lake is well worth it. The three pagodas are interesting, but almost a non entity when considering the rest of the complex. Another of China's unexpected surprises!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chongsheng Three Pagodas also viewed

 

Been to Chongsheng Three Pagodas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chongsheng Three Pagodas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.