We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dali Mountain Delights Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dali Mountain Delights Hotel to your Saves list
Dali Mountain Delights Hotel
Shuidui Village Main Street,West Gate of Ancient Town, Dali 671003, China (Formerly Dali Mountain Delights Hotel)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 788 Dali B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

If you have langguage ( mandarin ) problem trying to check in hotel then you have come to a right place. The receptionist Ms.Tracy and lady boos Ms. Ling both speak very good English. The staffs were very helpful and friendly during our stayed (24th & 25th May 2014). They served English or American Breakfast with unlimited free flow of coffee.
The rooms are big and very clean. My wife and I enjoyed every moment of our stay. The staffs helped us to get our bus tickets to Lijiang and arranged a van with a friendly driver for our sightseeing tour of Dali.
I would highly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel if you are in Dali.

Room Tip: If you have heavy lagguage then I would recommend you to take the room on first floor because save w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We arrived very early in the morning, there was only a male staff that greeted us, but soon got a call from the owner, Ling, telling us that our rooms were available and we can go ahead and freshen up or rest a bit before breakfast. She advised that we check in after we have had our breakfast.

Ling is a gem, very nice and helpful. She even offered to lend us a local phone, knowing that we speak very little mandarin, so we can call her for any questions, translation problems or what not.

The rooms were standard with ample space to move around although our room looks out to the street so we kept the shades close most of the time. There were instances of noisy passersby, but it really is not that much of a problem. Breakfast was a choice of Amercian (bacon, eggs and hash browns), English (pancakes, eggs and bacon), and Chinese (porridge with pickled vegetables).

The location is about 20 minutes walk to the West Gate of Dali Gucheng, which entailed crossing a highway. Although the hotel is beautiful and very clean, I will have to say that it is not the most ideal place to stay because I highly recommend spending most of your free time in the ancient town. It is a great place to hang around and meet people, local or foreign. It is the mix of east and west that make up Dali Gucheng’s unique hippy vibe. You’d never want to leave and makes going back quite a chore.

If not for it being outside of the ancient town, the hotel is a good find in a quiet neighborhood behind the race track.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Dali is an amazing place to spend a few days. We showed up at Mountain Delights and ended up staying for six nights, partly because I was a bit under the weather but largely because Lin and Daisy (and Dali the retriever) made us feel at home and took great care of us. Lin is the perfect hostess...always available, attentive and eager to do what she could to help us get the most out of our time in Dali. She arranged taxis and gave us recommendations for restaurants, places to go, even the best hikes in the mountains. She even made a sandwich for me one afternoon well after the restaurant was closed (it's open for breakfast and lunch only) because she heard I was feeling better but not up to a walk to town for food. She is a sweet, smart and capable host, and was a ton of fun to spend some time getting to know her a bit as well. Highly recommend Mountain Delights.

Room Tip: Be sure to bring warm clothes for sleeping, as it gets a bit nippy in the hotel and there's no c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This is an awesome place to stay while you're in Dali. The host Ling speaks English nearly perfectly and completely goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and helps you with any request you might have. Without us asking her for it, on departure she even offered to call the following hostel for us to arrange our pickup.
The hotel itself offers nice, spacious and spotless rooms for a great price and is located just a few minutes walk from the West Gate. Unfortunately you need to cross the quite busy and six lane wide main road to get to the hotel which can be a little scary at times. From the hotel to the part of the old town where the action is, it takes you around 15 minutes by walk. But this has the advantage, that it's quiet at the hotel at nights.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunei
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Dali Mountain is a clean b&b, in a quiet st, within 15 minutes walking distance to foreigner st and ren min st. i took the bus from dali city to ancient city West Gate, and couldn't find Dali Mountain. Phoned the hotel and the lady host, Ling answered. She sent her staff to pick me up from West Gate right away. She organized the Erhai cruise, my transport to Sizhou, etc. The breakfast at the hotel was good too, porridge, steamed bun and pickles. not too oily or too salty. Just right and yummy.

Highly recommend to stay here for convenient, clean, quiet accommodation, and a great host who takes care of your trip activities. wifi works great

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were able to get a family room here, which was not available everywhere. The room was very clean, which exceeded our expectations. The hotel is a short 10-15 minute walk from anything we wanted in Old Town Dali. They have a pancake breakfast, egg and hash brown breakfast, or a Chinese noodle breakfast available which was convenient when we made an early trip up the mountain. The owner was very helpful getting us picked up from the train station (free) and getting us back to the train station (40 RMB). There was fast internet access throughout the premises. The exterior and courtyard were traditional, but as we walked around, it looked like all the others (not saying this as bad). There was a cute golden retriever on the premises (on a leash) that our girls loved to pet each day. It was probably the highlight of their stay here. :)

Other notes of interest: they have Western toilets and the beds are soft for Chinese (they like their beds hard here).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Conveniently located near the West Gate entrance of the Old City, or you can also enter just in front of the hotel , across the road thru the local market. Interesting place to wander around and take good pictures.
The rooms are very spacious and clean . Good breakfast and service.
The owner/manager Ling is absolutely great . Very friendly, helpful, she attended to all our travel needs. She arranged for driver/car for our excursions outside the city, recommended places to see, arranged our bus to Lijiang, she also offer a free pick-up from the train station.....We felt very welcome. What a wonderful host!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dali Mountain Delights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dali Mountain Delights Hotel

Address: Shuidui Village Main Street,West Gate of Ancient Town, Dali 671003, China (Formerly Dali Mountain Delights Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 788 B&Bs / Inns in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dali Mountain Delights Hotel is located just outside the West Gate of Dali ancient town and is backed by the Cangshan Mountains while facing Erhai Lake. A real Bai-style architect designed hotel, run by a British family to western standards, offering clean, neat accommodation and facilities. It is ideally located for travellers seeking a leisure vacation, situated close to all the tourist attractions. Dali Mountain Delights Hotel provides a free pick-up service from Dali railway and bus stations, also a free pick-up service from Dali airport when staying 2 nights or more. Guests must notify the hotel in advance for these services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Dali Mountain Delights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dali Mountain Delights Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.