We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located in the old town.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Landscape Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Landscape Hotel to your Saves list
Landscape Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.96 Yuer Road, Dali 671003, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 338 Hotels in Dali
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Centrally located in the old town.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

As other reviewers have noted this hotel is located in the heart of the old town, which is great for access but not so good for noise, as people use the hotel as a bit of a thoroughfare to access the old town shopping streets and the night market. The rooms are located around many small courtyards, that themselves are used by smokers and for socialising, so if you have a room on the ground floor as we did, any thought of a quiet night is out of the question. Afternoon tea and breakfast are served in a small open air garden which is quite pleasant if the weather is warm, but like another reviewer has said the breakfasts are frugal and offer limited choice. The traditional architecture and the gardens of the hotel are the best feature, but the rooms are not suitable for long stays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    92
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
14
48
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Have never wrote a condemning review, - travelled the world. Toured China for 4 weeks during April / May 2014. This was the worst hotel. Very noisy, Chinese shouting in the corridors early morning and during the night. Rooms very basic. Breakfast served in the open courtyard, - very limited choice and cheap juice / bacon / coffee. Would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

So conveniently situated in the old city, traditional style. Breakfasts were very average if you were not Asian, tables not clean and staff slow to serve, very noisy area.
The walk into the nearby streets eye opening, so clean with many colourful shops and so many different types of colourful dressed people.
We loved the traditional styled rooms, bathrooms a bit dated but clean. We were happy to be on third floor away from the noise of a night, very noisy.
It was lovely to walk through the gardens, a photographers joy.
Would return to this hotel because of the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

It was very cold during our stay there. I like how the hotel utilized limited space to creating a beautifully-decorated layout yet every bit functional.

Its proximity to the night market is a major advantage.

Overall I'm quite satisfied & would recommend it to leisure travelers.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Landscape is a complex of buildings covering quite a large area bang in the middle of Dali old town. It's built in traditional Bai style with ornate tiled roofs, elaborate gateways and pleasant courtyards.

Our deluxe room was on the ground floor, very spacious and comfortable.

Breakfast is either Chinese, in a large banqueting hall, or Western, in the Western Café. I can understand why they do this - the kitchens are separate - but it led to the slightly crazy situation that my wife, who prefers Chinese, and I, who wanted to check out the Western breakfast, had to eat apart on our second morning.

The Western breakfast was basic, but the staff were exceptionally pleasant and friendly and the coffee - uniquely in China ? - was excellent, strong, freshly brewed Yunnan Arabica. I was asked to pay Y20 for a second cup though !

All was going well until the afternoon of our second day. We'd had an exhausting early morning visit to a local market, and - still jet lagged - needed a siesta. As we fell asleep, a knock on the door. I opened it to see the senior room maid standing there. "Change room !" she said. "No !" I said, and closed the door. The phone rang. A 'Systems Manager' with good English was on the line. He said they needed to work on the hot water system in the building we were in and we had to change rooms. I asked why we had been booked into the room if they needed to do work there. A mistake, he admitted. I said, OK, if they put us in a better room, but the last thing we wanted to do was to repack and unpack again, and we needed our siesta.

A 'Lobby manager' showed me a couple of alternative rooms, neither better than our original room. I spoke, on the phone, to the 'Systems Manager' again. He said he thought they could do the work without our vacating the room, though the hot water might be off for a while. I said, that's fine by us.

We got back that evening to find an apologetic note from an 'Assistant Manager' and a gift of fresh fruit. Which was appreciated. I had a nice hot bath.

But the next morning after checking out, the lobby staff just watched as we struggled out to our taxi with our luggage. Neither then, nor at any other time, did any senior manager put in an appearance, except at the end of a phone.

The Landscape is not a cheap hotel. What kind of hotel books guests in and then tells them to clear out of their room the next day without a word of warning ? It seems that the management at the Landscape have the welfare of their guests a long way down their list of priorities.

Room Tip: Ours was 2104, on the ground floor and very acceptable. Just make sure they don't try to chuck y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dali, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Landcape hotel was initiated by a Bai gentle men. It is located at the center of the ancient city of Dali, but not noisy at all. The hotel is specially arranged in tranditional Bai courtyard style, clean, comfortable and romantic. There are carved doors and windows together with potted flowers, just like a home away from home. If you feel tired, you may sit down and enjoy a cup of Yunnan coffee for free in the open air bar in the yard. In the morning, if you are not in a hurry, you may also go to the Yu'er garden to join Taiji practice with the local people just stand by the hotel. Moreover, the tranditional Chinese massage offered by the mute in the hotel is super great.

Room Tip: 1. No lift to rooms, better ask the bell boy help with big sac. 2. Not take the rooms near the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dali, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I got to admit, the rooms are very nice. They have all types of rooms where you can get a good discount on Chinese New Year. I liked the peaceful atmosphere and the breakfast they served there. The only problem is the noise made by the shuttle buses when they come during the night and make quite a bit of noise. You can also rent one of those RV's nearby as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landscape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landscape Hotel

Address: No.96 Yuer Road, Dali 671003, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landscape Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Landscape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landscape Hotel Dali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landscape Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.