We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turpan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Turpan Hotel to your Saves list
Turpan Hotel
No.1659 Youth South Road, Turpan, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Turpan B&B and Inns
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretty Ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Turpan Hotel for two nights. We had an issue where we lost our passports on a train and Turpan Hotel was very helpful allowing us to check in and then show our IDs later when we got our documents back. They also helped the fellow train passengers track us down. So the staff is great. Turpan Hotel has a John's Cafe out back and there are grape vines full of ripe grapes (in August) going from the hotel to the cafe -- really pretty. There is a Uighur restaurant on the grounds also and they will serve room service. For some reason the room service prices seemed much cheaper than the prices on the menu when we went down for a look. This restaurant seems to be primarily for the purpose of serving tour groups that come though, so they are not cheap.

The room was just adequate. The beds are extremely hard and there is no internet access in the rooms (you can get Wifi in the lobby and in John's Cafe). We stayed in the main building so there was no long hike to our room that other reviewers talked about, but I did notice that a few Korean guests were staying out back near the cafe. The room was clean, including the bathroom, if a bit old fashioned. In addition to not having the internet, they also did not have digital cable, so there were only a few channels available. The AC is not very powerful and the room really heated up in the daytime, although we were mostly out during the hottest times when the sun was hitting the room directly.

There was no funny business with the deposit and we made a reservation ahead of time which was honored and our room was 280rmb per night -- a bit steep, but there was not a lot available when we came into town.

If we came back to Turpan we'd probably look for a place with internet access in the rooms but Turpan Hotel will do in a pinch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
2
8
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed for one night in July 2012 as part of the Urumqi-Turpan 4-day discount tour from Old Road Tours (formerly Abdul Wahad tours). The lodging came with the tour package, so I can't comment on value for price. In any case, facilities are adequate but dated. Air conditioning worked fine when we were there. Wireless internet available in the lobby for 10 RMB (they say 10 per hour, but since they just give you the network password there seems to be no way to enforce that). John's Cafe (a pretty good western-style cafe) is right around the corner - and they offer free wifi as well. As two married couples, we asked for rooms with queen-sized beds but found rooms with only two twin-sized beds (separated by a night stand/light switch stand wired into the wall, such that they could not be moved next to each other). Neither the hotel staff nor the tour guide seemed able to help us, so I'm not sure if there are any rooms with beds for couples in this hotel.

It'll be very hard to get by unless you speak Mandarin or Uighur. Also, one of our party "broke" the top part of the toilet seat - it was the wrong size for the toilet and fixed on quite loosely - she sat on it when it was closed and it broke in two pieces, but she weighs about 100 pounds so it was clearly about to break one way or another. They told us it was our fault and charged us 50 RMB for the seat when we left. Personally I think this is pretty ridiculous considering she's the farthest thing from overweight I can imagine, and considering the facilities are obviously quite old and pretty much everything in the hotel looks like it's decades old and ready to break or otherwise be replaced.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Turpan, being the driest, lowest, sweetest and hottest place in China, astonishingly does not have many good hotels to choose from. There are two restaurants: one Uygur food and one western. John's Cafe is the name for the latter. It has lots of varieties albeit home-cooking runs by a couple. There was no air-con at this restaurant. It was located at the back of this hotel.This hotel is just a few miniutes away from the local market and bazaar. One could find many types of food here. We bought bread from an elderly and it was the most amazing scene. Neither party understood what was uttered. We relied on gestures. English is rarely spoken here. Toilet at room is not well-maintained. Kind of old-looking. Food at the local-food restaurant was quite good. We had dinner before we departed for the train station. The street outside this hotel is a grapevine. It was a pleasant stroll. There was a mini-bar at the lobby of this hotel. The coffee smelled good though.

Room Tip: the air con didnt work well.....so do not choose a room where sunlight comes in. could turn into a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The exterior and lobby of the hotel has character and is interesting although it has clearly seen better days. Better maintenance of the hotel would make this a good place to stay.
Unfortunately that is not the case and the rooms were dated and dirty. The air-conditioning does NOT work and our phone calls to have it fixed were simply ignored. We requested for a fan and they said they had none to offer us.
Turpan is an extremely hot and dusty place with temperatures reaching 60 to 70 degrees Celsius in summer. So a room with working air-con is critical to a decent night's sleep.
We were baked in a warm, stuffy, airless room and could not wait to checkout the next morning. Thankfully it is only a 1-night stay.
Even our local driver who stayed the night at the hotel says that this hotel is not even worth a 1-star rating although it touts itself as a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Our stay here was so unexceptional that there's hardly anything to write about. The reserved rooms were waiting for us, very standard furniture, all clean, the fittings and plumbing worked fine, breakfast was quite decent. I think some of the other reviews of this place (e.g. "disgusting") may be based on the dorm-style block behind the main hotel which offers very cheap rooms. Our only problem was that the reception staff didn't speak English, but we managed OK with sign language. The hotel's having a John's Cafe out the back is a real advantage, as you can get tasty food and drinks in a very pleasant shady setting, though don't go there if you're in a hurry as the service can take ages!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We went to the Turpan Hotel because Lonely Planet says it gave nice rooms for only 30 yuan a night. Actually they charged us 50 yuan a night and we got a basement room that smelled like urine. It did have air conditioning, which was great, and a bathroom with a shower. But the shower flooded the bathroom and wouldn't dry. It was a very disgusting room and it is not a good place to stay. Definitely go anywhere else if you have the option.

The only good thing about it is that the hotel has John's Cafe. The food there is mediocre at best, mostly pretty terrible, but the woman who works there is super knowledgeable about traveling around Turpan, Xinjiang, and Gansu. She was incredibly helpful, she helped us buy sleeper bus tickets to Dunhuang, and we could not have had such a good trip without her. We also rented bikes from the cafe and rode them to the Jiaohe Ruins. It was incredibly hot but a really beautiful and fun ride. Make sure to stop off by the soft serve ice cream-- the guy who makes it puts it in this crazy green drink and it tastes amazing!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed in a 3 person dormitory and it was so disgusting! The walls were peeling off from water damage. The bathroom was old, and barely working, it flooded when we had showers. The smell that emanated from the toilet was something out of a nightmare and spread throughout the room even WITH the bathroom door closed. The sheets were not clean and they did not give us full sized towels. The rooms were in the basement level with no air-con or fan and only had a small window.

For the price you can get something cleaner and better very close by.

Initially I was shown another room in the nicer part of the hotel but they didn't have a 3 person room until the next day, so I stayed at another hotel because it boasted to having a sauna and pool. So we came back the next day, only to be put in that room and having already paid, they wouldn't refund. By the time we checked in, they also informed us that NONE of the facilities were available including the sauna, pool and gym that we were interested in.

If you can afford one of the better rooms, I'd recommend the Transportation Hotel right next to the bus station and on the other side of the road from the city's bazaar. So much cleaner and much better service. AVOID THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turpan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turpan Hotel

Address: No.1659 Youth South Road, Turpan, China
Location: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Turpan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Turpan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the main Government Hotel for tourists in Turpan (Tulufan) in Xinjiang Province China. It is apart from the Bus Station Hotel one of the few places that allow foreign tourists in Turpan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Turpan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turpan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.