We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huanglong Scenic Valley

Huanglong Scenic Valley
Pingsong Street, Songpan County 623300, China
0837-7249196
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$1,390*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Valley of Huang Long, meaning "Yellow Dragon", has snow mountains, a large cave, Huanglong colorful lakes, as well as endangered animals, including the giant panda.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is at altitude so be prepared. We went there by bus and the views along the way are just amazing. We were there in September and the surrounding hills are quiet barren but one stands out, for the snow that is still upon it. When you get there pay the money for the cable ride to the top. But it is not the top you then walk. But it is worth it. You walk up one side towards the snow mountain and the you come across the ponds of limestone. The walk then takes you around a sort or u turn and you then head down. Don't take the short way down, maybe it is good but the longer way is worth it. I know you are thinking one pond would look like the next and yes it does but also no it doesn't. It is just amazing . But if you go there quickly take altitude tablets, we went there gradually and we got sick at a lower altitude, took some tablets there, and all was good at Huanglong. Highly recommend this area if this is what you are thinking of seeing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    98
    24
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Huanglong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a fantastic place to visit. We had a cable car so far up. We walked and walked which seemed to be for miles up wooded steps and down them,which were very slippy. We did not make it right to the very top of the lakes but still enjoyed what we saw.
Good walking foot wear needed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Nature's freak show near Juzhaigou”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

As if Jiuzhaigou national park was not stunning enough, nature threw in another unique series of travertine banks, colourful ponds and travertine waterfalls that stretch 3.6 kms from the height of 3576m range of mountains, in the shape of a dragon in yellow carbonic acid rocks. Hence, the name Huanglong which is yellow dragon in mandarin.

The journey from the airport to Huanglong through well maintained mountain road up to 4007 meters high is breaktaking itself. There are a couple of panorama viewing platform along the way. You can stop on the way up or down if the weather is optimal for phototaking or if the crowd is not too huge.

I visited after the first snow of the season, so the landscape was very different from the postcard photos which feature majestic mountain backdrop. It was nonetheless worth the trip although the entrance fee was a bit overpriced CNY280 (incluing one way cable car ride) compared to Jiuzhaigou CNY310.

The best way to enjoy the park is to take the cable car that costs CNY80 going up. From the top station, it is a 3 km walk (30mins) to the Five Colour Pool. It was an easy walk on the mostly flat footpath, so you won't notice the distance although there is nothing much to see (in the forest) for the first 15 minutes or so. From the colour pool, descend all the way to entrance but there are right and left path (along the series of pools) after the temple. The left path which is of long distance has more sites to enjoy.

Most people can cover the main sights with the standard self touring time from 10am - 3pm (5 hours) in relaxing pace or 4 hours if you stop only for photos and snack.

You could vist the park on the way to the airport or from the airport before going to Jiuzhaigou which is on the opposite direction of the airport (saving you 1.5 hours each way).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Stunning, unreal, magical.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

If in sichuan, this is a must do. Great for trekking and breath taking views. The walk to the top is around 5 km each way, and should take between 1.5-2.5 hours, depending on how soon you acclimatize with the high altitude. It is a very well thought of venue with lots of rest breaks en-route and some restaurants too (serving mouth numbing spicy pot noodles)
My preferred route would be to fly into jiuzhaigou airport on day 1 and check into any of the international hotels in the vicinity (holiday inn, intercontinental, Hilton resorts, Sheraton - all within 1.5-2 hours drive away from each other location and the airport), and try to get acclimatized to the higher altitude on day 1.
Day 2 and day 3 could probably be to either cover jiuzhaigou or huanglong - both would require the entire day if not more. Try to get in early to beat the local Chinese tours that come in bus loads.
Fly out of jiuzhaigou on day 4. Regular flights to chengdu for around GBP 100 one way, last minute tickets (depends if you book earlier for cheaper rates)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“fascinating place but really depending on the weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I lived in Switzerland for 15 years and thought I have seen all the beauty of the mountains, so Huang Long was such a nice surprise for me!

I visited Huanglong in the last week of October right after the snow and when sunlight was shining. An experienced tourist agency friend suggested us to go to Huanlong directly after landing at the airport and before visiting JiuZhai Gou. I found it a very practical recommendation for saving time and well prepared in the morning to visit the place when the park was still empty, and before the crowd from Jiuzhai gou arrives.

The water was really colourful, light blue, light green, turquois, surrounded by the golden yellow rocks. behind the scene, it was white snow and pure blue sky, with a few Tibetan Buddhist temples scattered in the valley. It looked like a fairyland! the mineral water with Caster rocks was absolutely unique!

The driver repeated that we were lucky to have such nice weather, as people visited the place a few days earlier had to stop in the middle of the way, stuck by the snow.

We had several young kids with us but they were excited about snow. The route was well constructed in wood and comfortable to walk. We started at 9AM taking a tele--cabinet for climbing on the top of the mountains. we left the park at 5 pm for going to Jiu Zhaigou which took around 3 hours.

In all, it was a dream journey all beyond my expectation! Best season, best weather and careful planning and organisation made it a successful one!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huanglong Scenic Valley also viewed

Songpan County, Sichuan
Songpan County, Sichuan
 
Songpan County, Sichuan
Songpan County, Sichuan
 

Been to Huanglong Scenic Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huanglong Scenic Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.