We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colder than Jiuzhaigou” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huanglong Scenic Valley

Huanglong Scenic Valley
Pingsong Street, Songpan County 623300, China
0837-7249196
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$1,390*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Valley of Huang Long, meaning "Yellow Dragon", has snow mountains, a large cave, Huanglong colorful lakes, as well as endangered animals, including the giant panda.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Colder than Jiuzhaigou”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

So be prepared and wear warmer clothing.

Was already mentally prepared that it won't be as impressive as Jiuzhaigou so wasn't disappointed.

Visited 3rd week of Oct and there's snow accumlated esp. towards the higher parts. Since water is frozen at this time, no running water for the restrooms, so bring along your hand sanitizer.

I think it is not worth the entrance fee of CNY200 (add another CNY80 for the cable car ride up), but since we came all the way to Jiuzhaigou, we visited anyway.

The road trip to Huanglong is very scenic though, compared to going to Jiuzhaigou. Snow capped mountains and yaks along the way. May be even nicer than the Huanglong Scenic Valley. Some scenic lookouts on the way but there is not enough for the tourists - many cars and buses parked along the windy road. On our way back from Huanglong to Jiuzhaigou there are fewer pple on the scenic lookouts so you may want to consider stopping on the way back instead.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    98
    24
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The many colors of Huanglong.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Plan on spending most of the day at the park. If you plan on visiting with a group have one person act as a group coordinator and purchase the entire set of tickets for the whole group. When they purchase the tickets they should advise the ticket sales representative that they expect a commission. The sales representative will then pay them a sales commission that can be shared with the whole group. Taxi and bus drivers will normally take advantage and advise their fares that they need to purchase the tickets for a discount to park all day. Not true. They do it for the commission.
The altitude of the park is very high. Bring plenty of warm clothes, water, and stuff to eat. The weather can change rapidly at that elevation. There are not a lot of choices in terms of food for sale (hot dogs and other processed food). Oxygen is available at a number of "free oxygen stations". Users must pay a one time fee for a mouthpiece and that can be reused.
The visit begins with a gondola that takes visitors to the top and then the the whole valley is seen while traversing downhill walking on well built wooden stair cases and walkways through the various areas within the valley. There are some crowds at the most popular scenic vista points but nothing like the crowds while found visiting Jiuzhai Valley.
When we visited the park the areas foliage was just beginning to show the colors of autumn and the huge snow capped (Huanglong) peak provided the perfect back drop for excellent photos. Our original plans to visit Ganzi Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture was to see Jiuzhai Valley but I thought the experience at Huanglong Valley was much more enjoyable. It shouldn't be missed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Initially we did not plan to visit Huanglong Scenic Park. From the photos of other reviewers, all the mineral pools look the same. The park is a three-hour taxi ride from Jiuzhaigou and after taking the cable car to the top, you still have to walk for an hour to reach the Wucai Pool ( Five Colour Pool ) behind Huanglong Back Temple. Then you have to walk another 3 hours down to the entrance. On top of that you may suffer from altitude sickness.
We went to the park on Oct 18 after visiting Jiuzhaigou. We left Jiuzhaigou at 7 am and just before we reached the highest point along the route to get to the park, traffic came to a standstill.The stretch of road was impassable because a 2-inch ice had formed on the road. Many buses and cars turned back. Our driver, a Tibetan, persevered. After waiting for about 30 minutes, the road was cleared of ice and snow.
When we reached Huanglong park cable car ticketing station at 11 am, there was no queue at all. By 11.15 am we were in Huanglong Park. Wow ! it was so beautiful. The pine trees on both sides of the plank walkway were covered with snow. The 1 hour walk to the Wucai Pool was so scenic that we did not feel the distance. To me the most beautiful pools are Wucai Pool ( at the top ), Zhengyan Colourful Pool ( one-third of the trail from Wucai Pool ) and Yingpin Colourful Pool near the entrance ( at the base )

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magelang, Indonesia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
417 helpful votes 417 helpful votes
“beautiful park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Wonderful scenery, good walking track, clear route map, many points too take photos. Use wodden path for easier track and more wonderful scenery. Toilets were little bit cleaner.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Huanglong is AMAZING too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Huanglong is pretty amazing and special in its own right though perhaps not as spectacular as Jiuzhai Valley National Park. Glad that we visited Huanglong first. This park is less crowded, much smaller and largely has only one main trail, going from about 3,000 to 4,000 metres in elevation (higher altitude compared to Jiuzhaigou) and covering about 7km each way. If you have come all this way, don't miss out seeing Huanglong!

We paid 600RMB for the taxi from Jiuzhai-Huanglong Airport to Huanglong Scenic Area (left luggage in taxi, the entire visit took about 4 1/2 hours) and then onward to Jiuzhaigou. The taxi drivers will approach you as you walk towards them. For a start, they quoted 1,000RMB! Did not see any taxi booth at the airport, just taxis waiting at the car park across from the airport building. There is a signboard (in Chinese) by the road which I think state down the standard taxi rates for a number of destinations (can't read Chinese but can speak enough to get by). We managed to figure out that the board showed 800RMB for a trip from airport - Huanglong - Jiuzhaigou - airport. So 600RMB seem to be a fair price to pay for the journeys we needed.

One of us did experience mild headache from the high altitude since we just disembarked from an early morning flight from Chengdu and drove over a 4000-metre-high pass to get to Huanglong. Xueshan (Snow Mountain) Ridge (雪山梁) at 4007m is the highest point on the road from Jiuhuang Airport to Huanglong Valley. Easily remedied with paracetamol and taking sips of water frequently along the hike (to stay hydrated). Look out for the snow-capped mountains of the Min Shan Range as the airplane starts to descend ... so majestic!

On the way to the Huanglong, we stopped by a viewing platform which was 3,800 metres above sea level. Overcast skies that morning, hence not the best view of XueBaoDing (雪宝顶) or Snow Mountain Peak at 5,588 metres which is permanently snow-covered and is the highest summit in the Min Shan Range.

The day started out really cold (4°C) but gradually warmed up to sunny skies and you get burnt if you don't slap up some sunblock :)

The taxi waited for us while we got the tickets, then sent us to the cable car station some distance away from the ticket office (if you choose to walk up, the entrance/exit is next to the ticket office). We took the short cable car ride up (less than 10 mins). It brings you closer to the top but not right to the highest-point and most popular attraction, Five-Color Pond or Wu Cai Chi. Once we got down from the cable car, we took our time to hike the rest of the way up and eventually, walked all the way down to the exit. We agree with what some other reviewers have commented in that you will not see anything extra by walking up as the trails up/down pass by the same points of interest. Pack lunch, snacks and drinks to make the most out of your visit. We did not see much food for sale in the park.

What a rare sight ... pools in an amazing array of stunning colours! The different layers of ponds are joined together just like terraced fields. We were just in awe :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huanglong Scenic Valley also viewed

Songpan County, Sichuan
Songpan County, Sichuan
 
Songpan County, Sichuan
Songpan County, Sichuan
 

Been to Huanglong Scenic Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huanglong Scenic Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.