We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel stay in mountain area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ganhaizi, Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 151 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel stay in mountain area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stay at holiday inn for two night on 31 May & 01 Jun 13. When reached there on 31-May, temp at the location was 5 degree, freezing cold. Hotel lobby n restaurant was hugh n nicely decorated. Room was comfy tough look a bit aging, a refurbish to make it more modern look would be good. Toilet was icy cold, water drainage not so good, floor get wet easily. Luckily warm water & pressure is ok.
Staff is very friendly & helpful. Like to compliment the lady staff who bought the extra bed warm cover, tip her but she refuse to take, was impressed by her service attitude n honesty.
Breakfast selection was good but would be a bonus if can have a counter to serve fry eggs, omelette etc upon guest request. Would like to compliment the staff mike whom is very helpful to attend to our request for fry eggs. Noticed the orange juice etc are warm type, would prefer cold juices or at least should provide ice.
The hotel is surrounded by beautiful mountains. Shops at lobby sell souvenirs, winter gears etc. Overall, a nice hotel in the mountain area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Distribution&Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thankyou for staying at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo and posting this review. Due to the uniqueness of Jiuzhai location, temperature is still below average even it is summer already when you arrived. The hot water is a must for our guests to drive away their tiredness all the long. We are gald to know you find our staff friendly and helpful. Thank you again for your kind suggestions. Please do not leave it too long before you visit us again.
Lilian Li
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
10
12
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had long trip from Cheng du by bus and when we reached this hotel, we kinda wow seeing the building. The lobby looks unique with ceiling drawing. Though most of the front office staff hardly understand English, but they are very helpful. We got a clean room but it was extremely cold though it was summer. Well, summer in Jiuzhaigou was like 15C.We asked for additional duvet and got it in seconds.Buffet dinner was good but it was not international buffet. Though some Western items served but they were still cooked in a very Chinese style.Buffet breakfast was again Chinese breakfast.The concierge was very helpful. We asked for directions to some shops near the hotel yet the bellman offered us a free shuttle though it was kinda late already. I can only say that maybe some of the reviews telling us not to stay there but what we experienced - it was truly good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo. We are honored to have your commend on our services. Due to its location, Jiuzhai is not hot in summer. Please do not leave it too long before you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in Holiday Inn Jarpo in June. It's an hour drive from airport, 1.5 hours drive to Jiuzhaigou National park and around 3hours drive to Huanglong park. The hotel provides different types of car rental for transport, but it's very pricey. So, I rent cab for rmb 200 to Jiuzhaigou national park and rmb 600 to huanglong national park. The concierge help me book it.
The room is very clean and spatious for chinese standards, bed is also softer compared to chinese standards. however it didn't have a panel to control the room temperature. My room is facing the main road, which is a good view. In the website, it's written that they have wifi, but apparently they don't. TV only got chinese channels.
The lobby is nicely designed but very cold. The restaurant interior is below Holiday Inn standard. They serves buffet, but I'm ordering ala carte (all are chinese dishes), taste was below my expectation with Holiday Inn's price standard.
Nothing much you can see in and around the hotel, it's just nice to stay in the room after full day hiking.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear guest, you more than welcome to Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo! Situated on the renowned Jarpo Town, the hotel is near Ganhaizi scenery. Each room is accessible to high speed internet at RMB 30 each day. We are concerned to read about your food experience that didn’t live up to your expectation during your stay. Please rest assured that we are trying improving to meet guests’ needs. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is the worst experience we had with a holiday inn. Here is my complaint:
1, It said 24 hours room service for meal in its brochure. I called room service at 5:30 am in the morning. The staff told me that it does not has this service.
2, When we arrived the hotel around 5:00 pm, I asked the front desk if they serve meal, they told me the restaurant open at 6:00 pm. Again, they did not tell me the truth. The onsite restaurant do open, but serve buffet at 6:00 pm.
3, The hotel did not have thermostat in each room, so we can not adjust our room temperature.
4, The entrance to their onsite hotel has terrible smell.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Ming Y, welcome to Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo. We are so sorry for your unhappy experience during your stay. As for the concerns you mentioned, there is a tip in each room for room service notice. From May to July, room service operation hour is 06:00am to 01:00am; from August to October offers 24-hour room service. Therefore, currently room service is not 24-hour available.
Hotel restaurant offers both buffet and a la cart. There might be some misunderstanding and it is our responsibility to strengthen staff foreign language training so as to have better communication with guests. We feel sorry for any inconvenience brought to you, especially thermostat is currently unable to serve and the smell of floor renovation influence in the hall.
It is our heartful hope that you may revisit us and rebuild your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
browndogSF
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Grand entrance is misleading.

Problems we had with this hotel:

1. Room was dirty. Checked in to find gum, hair, dead skin on floors. Used tissues under bed. Used pantyhose in closets.

2. Hot water only at certain times. Couldn't shower at 5:30pm after a day hiking. No hot water and front desk kept telling me to wait another 30 min...

3. Front desk staff rude.

4. Jarpo town is a fake town that is completely dead and far from the other villages and entrance to Jiuzhaigou.

5. Taxis hard to get in Jarpo. Taxi to park about 70-80 rmb. Hotel had a shuttle that was twice that for three people.

6. Chinese tour groups meeting up in hallways outside our room at 5am were very loud.

7. Mediocre and very expensive food. 48rmb for a Tsingtao = $8 beer.

8. Like many Chinese hotels... Smoke smell, shoddy construction, hard beds. To be expected.

9. No wifi anywhere in hotel! Even lobby.

Avoid. It is possible!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear guest, it was with regret to learn regarding the unpleasant experience that you encountered in our hotel. Thank you for sharing with us your feedback and by doing so, will assist us in understanding and improving our service quality to serve our customers in a more efficient manner.
We have brought this to the attention of our Quality and Continuous Improvement team. We will ensure that we build this into our training programs to prevent it from happening again.
Once again our regrets for the experience and we sincerely hope we can regain your trust and loyalty. We hope that this matter has not marred your overall image of The Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo and that we will have a chance to redeem ourselves in the near future.
Should you have any questions, please simply drop us an e-mail (angela.wen@ihg-etghotels.com) and we are looking forward to your returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The hotel is about 1.5 hrs drive from Jiuzhaigou airport by taxi, and about another half hour farther one ends up in the national park. We arrived late October and stayed for three nights. Clearly, the staff is trained Western style, with its good and bad side. Due to whatever regulations, the hotel was not heated in the common areas and dining hall. As a result, everybody was cold and walked / sat around with thick coats. The room itself sports a small wall mounted electric heater, which keeps room temperature above freezing, provided the windows remain closed. Jarpo town is a dead end story, there is no life in it whatsoever. The Tibetan dance show is the only after hours entertainment. 150 RMB per ticket buys you a good seat for the roughly 70 mins show. The menu in the hotel restaurant is pretty useless for drinks and western food, because for most everything on there they will tell you 'sorry we don't have'. The whole dining experience with the socialist type food choices and ice cold temperature is kind of surreal for a Holiday Inn. Summarizing: stay there if you wish to sleep in a nice room with Western equipment, but don't expect anything more from this hotel. Do expect to freeze your buttocks off. Tips on the side:
a) Dine and wine in the Intercontinental, which is only a few miles down the road. Don't sleep there, way too expensive.
b) Do not assume any of the numerous hotels in Jiuzhaigou town are better. We checked them out, they are all for the local tourists.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have found I have always been able to rely on Tripadvisor for accurate hotel reviews. Unfortunately, this time I can say I can also rely on them for accurate terrible reviews!
I had two nights at this hotel. It is around 1 hour from the airport on the way to the national park, which is about 20 mins beyond the hotel. The initial impression you get from the hotel is great as it looks wonderful, but that is about where it stops. The room size was ok (once they sorted out the booking which didn't appear on their system...it may not have been their fault as it was booked through an agent) but as it was quite cool, the heater was on. Not a problem except for the fact it was on too high and with the knobs removed there was no way of controlling the temperature. I opened a window to try and cool the room down which helped but as mentioned in a previous review there is no air con so summer would be horrible.
The bathroom was a descent size also, but the way the tiles around the bath had been laid meant water from the shower flowed around the bath and flooded the bathroom floor. This was overcome by building a “towel dam”. The problem with my booking arose again on day two and the manager ended up coming back to my room to see my paperwork. It was cleared up but when I mentioned there was no info on the hotel facilities ie laundry etc he said “no” and just laughed.
Breakfast. I got there about 8.30am on the first day only to find the previous guests had decimated it. There was no juice or fruit (fresh or canned) and only remnants of Chinese cuisine. Day two started at 8.00 but the result was the same.
The surrounding area is a little strange. I went to a traditional show that was held in a concert hall across the road and that was good, but the surrounding area has very little else going for it. A taxi ride to the park will take about 20 minutes and cost around 60 - 90 RMB each way. Make sure you have a picture or something of the hotel as it caused a bit of grief and they weren't always overly keen to go there.
The National Park itself is fantastic and certainly worth it. There are plenty of hotels near the park and I would highly recommend staying in one of those. It has been suggested the Intercontinental would be a better option, but as it is only around 3 mins closer to the Park I think it would be wiser to find somewhere closer altogether.
I booked this hotel fearing the previous reviews were correct and this is certainly the case. However, it appears difficult to find other hotels in the area online (at a reasonable price) hence I used the Holiday Inn. If like me you are struggling to find other options then book it as the park is certainly worth the hassle but as the hotel itself goes avoid it like the plague if you can.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo

Address: Ganhaizi, Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#8 Best Value Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo 4*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo The Gem of Jiuzhaigou, situated on the renowned Jarpo Town, the hotel is located on Jiuzhaigou's scenery and activity boulevard. Enjoy a mountainside getaway at the Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo that integrates with Tibetan culture and its customs. Boasting a beautiful climate and picturesque mountain scenery, Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo is the ideal location for a vacation or weekend getaway. Jiuzhaigou Valley is situated approximately 28 kilometers or 30 minutes drive from the hotel. Its location in the very heart of all that Jiuzhaigou has to offer and couldn't be more perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jiuzhaigou County Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.