We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with pretty much everything you could think of” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ganhaizi Scenic Zone, Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great hotel with pretty much everything you could think of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This hotel is amazing. The facilities are excellent and the breakfast is amazing- it's the biggest breakfast buffet I have ever seen. A mixture of Chinese and Western options. In terms of location, Jiuzhaigou is relative remote, so you definitely need a car to get around. The rooms were extremely comfortable and the view was beautiful.

Room Tip: You can take stuff from the breakfast buffet for later in the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzy F, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Intercontinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise and sharing your feedbacks. Thank you for complimenting the view of rooms and breakfast. The hotel is located in the forest. The mountain view can be witnessed in many guest rooms. You will enjoy a calm and nice holiday in such a beautiful room. The Jiuzhaigou Valley National Park is 24 miles away from the hotel, about half an hour of drive. We provide car rent service and taxi pick up for you. We wish you shall come back again.
Lizzy Fan
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    440
    86
    30
    18
See reviews for
63
49
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I totally agree to someone's comment below: will still come back even not fully satisfied this time.

undoubtedly it is the best in the whole neighborhood. only 20 min to JZG, 2 hours to the nearest airport. Special design to reflect the combination of the elegance of Ancient China and and yet modern facilities. Would be nicer and more generous to provide free WIFi in rooms, in addition to only usage in the lobby.The design brings out the idea of a small and yet self sufficient village, all covered by a gigantic doom sunroof so customers feel the festivities and warmth all year round, and 24 hours. I specially like the idea of NOT lighting it up when we checked out early at dawn this morning. It seemed a bit inconveniently strange at first but hey it was natural to pass by the trees like that.

The hardware is nice but they lack proper software. The staff can be better trained to reflect the real Intercontinental brand name.

The chaotic breakfast area was the worst of all areas. First, the girl who greeted guests good morning (actually checking guests BF tickets) maintained that attitude. No nice greeting smile but very confusing herself and lacked proper inside knowledge about her hotel.

First, we showed her a receipt of RMB 138 which we had paid for our kid, earlier at the front desk. She actually asked, What is this? After we told her, she questioned suspiciously that it might be a dinner receipt? I enlighten ed her that it would be too cheap for dinner! Then she understood and put the receipt aside.

Then i was holding a few proper breakfast coupons (which came with the room) for that day and the following days for myself and my husband. She rudely grabbed them all, AND at the same time two other customers passed by and her other hand took their coupons as well. When I asked her to return the rest of the coupons to me, she refused and counted those two passers~by as mt group. Then I said Lady, you already took their coupons and mine had dates stamped for the rest of our stay. Instead of apologizing, she pointed to our kid and questioned about her coupon. i said you just took the receipt you had no knowledge of! all the time, the staff who stood by witnessed this but did nothing to clear up the forgetful girl's self created confusion. Of course eventually no word of apology at all. this happened at.7:30am on Aug 9.

breakfast varieties very chinese but western bakery ok.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzy F, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Intercontinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise and sharing your feedbacks. Thank you for complimenting the design of our property. We're specially gratitude of your generous mind on our service. As you mentioned, the hotel is designed in combination of traditional local Zang& Qiang style and modern touch. The special glass domed lobby and atrium bring your even closer to the nature. We're working the WIFI coverage program right now. You may be able to enjoy the High Speed Wifi inside guest room on your next stay. Your feedback on the breakfast service is highly appreciated. We're working on the improvement on the breakfast experience, including the arrival experience in the restaurant. We sincerely hope you can fell our change on your next journey.
Lizzy Fan
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I traveled here with my family and my flight got delayed for 4 hours. I was really tired by the time I got there and I had arrange a pick up from the hotel. Hotel car is not reflecting a 5 stats standard but the driver made it up. I got this driver who is really friendly and know the area well.

When I got to the hotel, I was stunned by the size of the hotel. It feels like a small city of itself. The view is also amazing, True 5 stars facilities!! Checked in and I got upgraded, yayy!!! Got to the room but unfortunately the room is not properly cleaned, bed is too hard and maintained. One more issue, no free wifi in the room??!!

F&B product is good but not the best. Service is the hot pot restaurant was terrible. I have to wait for 10 mins for a bill which is wrong, waiting for another 15 mins for the same wrong bill!! How is it possible??

Lots of staffs do not speak English! I think this is not something nice in a 5 stars hotel which is one of the best hotel in the area.

I think this property need to improve on these issues. Overall I still enjoyed my stay and I will still consider this hotel or recommend this hotel for future visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzy F, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise and sharing your staying experience. We're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and your were satisfied with the hotel facilities. We're sorry to know that our service in Hot Pot restaurant did not meet your standard. Please accept our sincere apology on the billing issue. We're currently working on a new plan on the room WIFI coverage. We will forward your opinions to the housekeeping department. We will continue to improve our service and room maintenance. Please do come back in the future to feel our improvement. Thank you and have a nice day!
Lizzy Fan
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Unique architecture with beautiful scene. The room was worn out and cold. The restaurant were quite pricy. RMB60 for a small dish of scrambled eggs, ouch! However, didn't have any other choice, the hotel was closed to nowhere. 40 mins drive from the preserve. No shuttle bus, had to get a private chaperon. My comment looks like quite negative, but I have to say if I come back, I will still choose this one. Checked some other inns in the main area...

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzy F, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise and sharing your opinions. The hotel is designed with elegant Zang and Qiang culture characteristics. You will be easily to witness the local culture inside the hotel. We provide shuttle bus to Jiuzhaigou. You can contact the concierge to reserve it. We will forward your opinions about the dishes to FB department. Thank you again for the feedback and welcome back again.
Lizzy Fan
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and me stayed for 3 nights in this Intercontinental Hotel. Upon arrival with a taxi a bellboy immediately helped us with our luggage. Check-in was fast with english-speaking staff. My membership card was recognized and I received a free room upgrade. Internet is also free if you are a member. We stayed in room 5707. A fantastic room with fireplace and a small balcony. We saw some wear but nothing bad. We mentioned on check-in that we wanted to go to Jiuzhaigou Nature Park early morning and could not enjoy the breakfast. They informed us that we could ask for a lunch-box the day earlier and pick it up in the morning. Worked fine. The lunch-box was well prepared and served us well.
We had breakfast the other two mornings and it's clearly catering for the majority of Chinese guests. But we could find cereals, sausage, baked beans, hash-browns, bread, danishs, etc. So no reason to complain. As in other hotels in China do not be surprised if people 'crash' your table without asking. That's 'normal'.
During our stay we only once had dinner there. The food was nice but not outstanding. Slightly over-priced but what do you expect from a hotel?
We really enjoyed our stay there and would for sure come again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzy F, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Member,
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise and sharing your stay experience with us. We're glad to know that your stay was a good one. We will forward your opinions to the related department. We truly expect you to come back again.
Have a good day!
Lizzy Fan
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel is built in a forest, and therefore, environment is really good with woods surrounding it. The decoration is in unique local Zang style. The different restaurants are quite nice. We tried Si Chuan hot pot, as well as Si Chuan dishes, and both were delicious
The room, though, requires better maintenance. The original room we checked in was in poor condition: the air conditioning was loud and noisy; the bathroom door couldn't be closed, and the worst was that the bathroom lighting couldn't be turned off! We called house keeping service, but they couldn't fix the problem, and there was no alternative room for us to change that night. The hotel manager promised to change room for us the next day, and asked us to bring down luggage in the morning; however, no one seemed to be aware of this the next morning, and they asked us to come and change after we finished our day tour. We went back around 530pm, and there was still no room changed for us, and we had to fight for a non-smoking room which was our original requirement…
A tip for guests staying in the hotel is that you need to check the room facilities once you get into your room. Otherwise, you'd be like us, not finding out the lighting problem till we were about to sleep and it was too late to have alternative.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzy F, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. The hotel is designed with local Zang and Qiang style. You will feel exotic culture inside an international hotel. We're sorry to know the problems you have encountered in the guest room. We will forward your feedback to the Housekeeping department to follow up. We truly hope you can come back again to experience our improvement.
Lizzy Fan
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A real Paradise. . Staying in this spectacular hotel has been an experience I never thought I would have.
Luxury, friendly, professional service and above all unique. . If you ever go to China for leisure or business you must take few days and stay in this resort

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzy F, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. Thank you for addressing us as the Real Paradise. We're honored to meet your needs and highlight your journey in Jiuzhaigou. Our hotel is located in the beautiful famous scenic spot Ganhaizi. It is truly a wonderland of leisure or business. We sincerely hope you can come back again.
Lizzy Fan
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise

Address: Ganhaizi Scenic Zone, Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 1020
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise is an intimate upcountry retreat nestled high in the mountains. The unique design is reminiscent of an ancient city protected under a glass atrium, marrying the exquisite interior with the bewitching natural beauty outside. With more than 1,100 rooms, the hotel is the largest in the region and perfect for leisure travellers seeking comfort and solitude. The province is home to a stunning array of calcified pools and the picturesque meadows of Ganhaizi (Dry Sea), just 20 kilometres (12.5 miles) away, are not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise Hotel Jiuzhaigou County
Intercontinental Jiuzhai Paradise
Intercontinental Hotel Jiuzhaigou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.