We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ganhaizi Scenic Zone, Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 136 hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonder view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were here during the Christmas season in 2013. It was a wonderful stay except for the food at the restaurant.

I think the pastries and bread are fine albeit limited. But hey, it was sufficient for us and if you aren't too picky about the selection, I think you will find that the food quality is acceptable. Food in Sichuan is generally a lot oilier and saltier that's for sure. However, take small quantities and just try a bit of everything which catches your eye.

The hotel's interior is something to rave about with the night scene in the lobby. It was low season when we were there (just how I like it) and there weren't many people milling around. So the vast hotel seemed a little under occupied then.

We had a good room with a 'fake fireplace' for aesthetics and the real heater on top. Cozy and great for the winter atmosphere. The room was comfortable and had a view of the snow mountains on the balcony.

Do try the spa/hot springs or rather hot pools of water if you get the chance. There are different pools of varying temperatures of hot, hotter and too hot to handle. Start from the pool with the lowest temperature of 37 degree celsius (if i recall) and slowly move towards the 43 degrees celsius to acclimatize.

There is a nearby ancient town, one of the tourist attractions in the vicinity. From the look of the map, it looks as if it is walkable from the hotel. However, we had a dedicated driver take us around town in the three days we were in JZG.

Service was average and comparative across all service levels in China. Do not expect too much of the service and mandarin is definitely the language which is widely spoken in China. Do bring a pocket dictionary or translator with hanyu pinyin (romantized) characters. You'll get around fine if you speak or understand some mandarin. Service levels improve greatly when you communicate in mandarin too.

Last tip: Manage your own expectations when you are in China. Do remember that you are in their country and do not expect what you would expect from your own country. Be open to [some] new experiences and enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the mountains were quiet and I've not stayed in other rooms with different faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so glad to learn that you were taken very good care of and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed on your comments to the hotel team. It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Intercontinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise in the near future.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    435
    80
    28
    17
See reviews for
54
45
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

It's the most disappointing hotel in the world. The hotel is designed badly, the rooms are disgustingly dirty, the food is worst that the road side restaurants, the service is beyond terrible. I complain to the front office and all they tell you that this is what you get. I emailed intercontinental hq and their reply is that they will talk to the hotel. What's the point of having intercontinental manage the hotel if doesn't run like a intercontinental and ruin its brand. how sad.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused while you were here with us. Most guests responded favorably regarding hotel architectural design and food, and we are sorry they did not meet your expectation. We would like to respond to you personally, could you please email us a detailed description about your experience to stanley.li@ihg-etghotels.com ? We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I'm so glad I booked this hotel from 1-7 Nov 2013. It was snowing and the scene was incredibly beautiful and surreal. The hotel is HUGE and very cold during winter. However, there are lots of retail stores to purchase warm clothing and shoes (in case you came ill prepared).

The room is beautiful, huge and spacious with plenty of pillow choices. Heater in the room was adequate. The restaurant is huge and great food selection. However, go for breakfast early as it gets crowed very quickly.

Didn't have a chance to visit the spa (hot spring) this time but I will definitely try it next time.

Judith C

Room Tip: Try the neck support pillow. It's excellent! And go for breakfast early or you may not get a tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent stay at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. We are pleased to know that you appreciated the environment of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many guests. You encouraging review will help us constantly improve our service and facilities to a higher level. Thank you and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you again
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Not sure why so many complaints about Chinese people do not speak English in China.

Just a thought: maybe it would be a good idea to carry a dictionary or learn a few useful words of the language of the country you visit. I make a habit of doing this as well as carrying a dictionary when I travel abroad for 1) out of respect of the country I visit and 2) just more practical. I doubt that when Chinese people visit English-speaking countries would expect hotel staff to able to speak Chinese.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise and share your thoughts with us. Thank you for your understanding and tolerance on the language. It is our great pleasure to have you stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ALTOS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very impressive glass ceiling in the lobby. Beautiful hotel and rooms, but inadequate heater in winter no matter how we tried to adjust the room temperature. We traveled with a group tour. All the other members also complained. Bring extra clothes to sleep in winter. Food is good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise and share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused in your previous stay. We have taken note of your feedback and will take necessary actions to ensure guest having an enjoyable stay. We hope that you will experience the changes in the near future.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Have spent 2 nites here on 14-15 Dec. The hotel design is very interesting, which using the model of the traditional houses of Jiang tribe. The hotel buffet is pretty decent as well , comparing to the usual hotel buffet in china. The only minus point is as per those previous reviews, the hotel is freezing cold. In such a cold winter in Jiuzhai, no heating is provided in those common area. But lucky the room is warm enough. Would definitely go back here if visiting Jiuzhai again.

Room Tip: Request for upgrade of room to have those with fireplace in the room, if you are visiting in winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent stay at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. We truly appreciate your kind comments on the hotel structure and the buffet. Your kind words of praise will certainly be passed along to our F&B team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future..
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel. Nothing short of fascinating. Visited in winter and it is very cold. Heating is non existent. Worth a visit. The room's heater does not work well.

The architecture is very ambitious. Everything is tastefully designed. The buffet restaurant has a wonderful spread be it breakfast or dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise and sharing your feedback with us. Our hotel is an intimate upcountry retreat nestled high in the mountains. The unique design is reminiscent of an ancient city protected under a glass atrium, marrying the exquisite interior with the bewitching natural beauty outside. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in different season.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise

Address: Ganhaizi Scenic Zone, Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise is an intimate upcountry retreat nestled high in the mountains. The unique design is reminiscent of an ancient city protected under a glass atrium, marrying the exquisite interior with the bewitching natural beauty outside. With more than 1,100 rooms, the hotel is the largest in the region and perfect for leisure travellers seeking comfort and solitude. The province is home to a stunning array of calcified pools and the picturesque meadows of Ganhaizi (Dry Sea), just 20 kilometres (12.5 miles) away, are not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise Hotel Jiuzhaigou County
Intercontinental Jiuzhai Paradise
Intercontinental Hotel Jiuzhaigou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.