We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing. Not intercontinental standards” 1 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ganhaizi Scenic Zone, Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 152 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Winchester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“very disappointing. Not intercontinental standards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

There are many problems with this hotel. It is cold here this time of year, and the hotel appears to have made no efforts to maintain any degree of heating. The public spaces (lobby, restaurants, stores) are absolutely frigid - everyone including the staff are wearing hats and gloves. It makes spending time in the main hotel, and particularly eating at the restaurants just very unpleasant. The food in the restaurant buffet was also cold as a consequence (and wasn't good to eat anyway). Our room had just luke-warm water which meant showering was not possible. The room itself was cold and incompletely cleaned. Only two towels in the bathroom! There is no wifi, and internet is expensive. The only work out equipment is apparently in the spa and not open to guests until 6pm in the evening (I usually work out in the morning) and only then by paying a huge supplement! Trying to find someone to address our issues was futile, noone made any effort to speak english or address our needs. What a disgrace of an intercontinental hotel. Avoid.

Room Tip: try another hotel. I think the Sheraton is supposed to be decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for staying at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. Please accept our apologies for the disappointing experiences you had regarding to the coldness and staff language skills. However, it is also appreciated for your suggestion, this will be taken up with concerned department and we have already taken actions to improve staff service. Hope the lapses in service did not mar your overall impression of our hotel, and that you will afford us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    443
    91
    30
    18
See reviews for
65
54
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in October on a tour.

At the entrance of the hotel you can see a large glass-dome atrium with beautiful flowers, small fountains, and ponds where there are fish, swans and geese swimming. It takes a few minutes’ walk from the entrance through the atrium to the lobby.

Upon arrival at the front desk at about 2 p.m. we were told that our rooms were not ready because housekeeping had to clear the cigarette odors in some of the rooms we had reserved. The staff were quite indifferent and not concerned that we had to wait for our rooms which we didn’t get until more than two hours later.

Our double room was very spacious, well-lit and quiet, the decor and furnishings were not modern and the carpet had stains on it. Other than the cabinet provided for hanging clothes, there were no drawers or shelves for storage. At night the temperature in the room was quite cold, and the heat control unit didn’t work very well. In our bathroom, the tile slabs were poorly crafted and the sink/vanity unit was outdated. A broken bathroom scale was placed in one corner near the shower stall, and I wondered why it was there.

Channels on the flat screen TV other than Chinese include CNN, NHK, DW, HBO, and Discovery. Wi-Fi was not complimentary in the room. It was free in the lobby, but the connection was weak or non-existent.

The 2 connected breakfast rooms are in a separate building 5 minutes’ walk away, and the temperature in those rooms were chilly in mid October. The smaller breakfast room closer to the entryway of the dining area was a bit cozier than the bigger one which looks like a cafeteria. In the smaller breakfast room there were some service staff, but in the “cafeteria” there was minimal service personnel -- you could see used plates not cleared on some tables. Breakfast in both rooms were the same -- disappointing, choices were limited and quality was poor.

We had hotpot dinner (regular & vegetarian versions) in the hotel restaurant the first night and the food was good and satisfying.

No comment on the spa because we did not use it.

The hotel complex has over 1000 rooms, several dining areas and large open spaces. It is situated in a picturesque setting, surrounded by natural landscape with forests around and mountains in the background. There are pathways adjacent to the hotel where one can stroll and enjoy the beautiful scenery nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest, welcome to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. We are glad to know hotel environment and hotpot impressed you. What we are most concerned to read about is your disappointing breakfast experience during your stay. Hope our improving service would bring you faster and cozier stay during your next trip to Jiuzhai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Where to begin? The property is initially impressive and beautiful but then it all starts to fall apart. For one thing, the common areas, including the restaurants are all freezing cold. I'm talking temperatures that feel like you are outside. Guests walk around with jackets, hats and scarves on and quite frankly, it's still uncomfortable. It was so cold that the beer on the shelf in the lobby store was actually colder than it would be in my refrigerator. We had to move rooms because our first room had no hot water. The new room had hot water and was a bit nicer but still not to the standards one would expect of a five star hotel. To give an example, I moved a chair to face our fireplace. It had random debris underneath - crumbs, paper, etc. When housekeeping came, they moved the chair back to its original place. And guess what? They left all the debris where it was! The buffet breakfast was truly awfull. It felt like being in a dining hall after a tragedy of sorts had occurred. Food was cold because the room was cold. Fruit salad was canned fruit cocktail. Coffee was mediocre at best. Staff was aloof. Choices were plenty but nothing that was actually worth eating. Rooms have no WiFi only a LAN connection. And finally, trying to find staff that speaks English is no small feat. Truly a disappointment. Makes me reconsider staying at an Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. I hear the Sheraton is more reliable and only ten minutes from National Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for staying at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. It is sorry for the disappointing experiences you had. Concerned actions have been taken in service improvement. We do hope the lapses in staff language skill did not mar your overall impression, and that you will afford us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is situated outside of the Jiuzhaigou National Park. It is about a 30 minute drive to the park from the hotel, but this place is so special I recommend staying here if you plan to see the park. The hotel design is very unusual. The lobby is spectacular with water everywhere.
The indoor pool and recreation area is perhaps the finest I've seen at any hotel in the world.
The food choices within the hotel were varied and satisfying as well. Our room was well appointed with a fire place and balcony.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest, welcome to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise! Thank you for taking time to post review regarding to your recent stay experience. Integrated with Tibetan and Qiang style in an international flavor, hotel tends to arouse the special feeling to guests. Let’s have our reunion with nature in Jiuzhai next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Staff don't speak english and this is supposed to be a five star hotel. Ordering room service was difficult and ordering extra "French fries" and "vegetables" in their restaurant was impossible. Staff couldn't understand these words despite trying to mime and describe what we were talking about. They are "sides", they couldn't understand the meaning of side dishes. This is disgraceful for the intercontinental hotel.

Also the spa, although the hot springs are nice, the staff don't speak english again and by the hot springs they send and stare and giggle. So unprofessional.

If you want good service, stay elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for staying at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. Please rest assured we are taking language training seriously as we always strive for service excellence. It is appreciated that your review urges us to pace up in improving ourselves. It is hoped the lapses in service did not mar your overall impression of our hotel, and that you will afford us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Got a great deal in the club rooms and what an experience! Jiuzhaigou is paradise in the truest sense and the hotel further improves on the experience. The drive from the airport to the hotle was scenic with the best landscapes you could imagine. Steped into the hotel which is super comfortable in the atrium even though it was chilly outside.
Room was super luxurious with fireplace; comfy sitting area and elegant styling. Kids loved the room and settled down easily. The Club lounge was excellent with great collection of wines and drinks and snacks! So we decided to have breakfast in the lounge too as it was much more intimate and less crowded. There is much to do in the hotel...also there is a very convinient 'family mart' inside the hotel to pick up fruits/water/beer etc. Thumbs up for a great hotel.

The only cons : the hotel gets taken over by convention attendees and at these times, the service levels deteoriate... hence I guess it pays to upgrade top the club rooms to ensure that service levels remain high!

Room Tip: Choose the club rooms if they ar ewithin yoru budget! We were in the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for choosing InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise with your family. Your detailed review of this stay gives extra boost to us, whilst it is also important for us to keep our service quality. Again, thank you for your comment and suggestion which is a mirror to reveal guest personal experience. It is our sincere hope to welcome you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is the biggest hotel in town and for us its the best. Beautiful big rooms. So many restaurants around the complex. They have a cultural show inside the hotel every night. This is the best place to stay when you are touring this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest, what a delightful review! Thank you for taking the time to post it. We are pleased that you enjoyed your sweet journey here. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise

Address: Ganhaizi Scenic Zone, Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 1020
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise is an intimate upcountry retreat nestled high in the mountains. The unique design is reminiscent of an ancient city protected under a glass atrium, marrying the exquisite interior with the bewitching natural beauty outside. With more than 1,100 rooms, the hotel is the largest in the region and perfect for leisure travellers seeking comfort and solitude. The province is home to a stunning array of calcified pools and the picturesque meadows of Ganhaizi (Dry Sea), just 20 kilometres (12.5 miles) away, are not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise Hotel Jiuzhaigou County
Intercontinental Jiuzhai Paradise
Intercontinental Hotel Jiuzhaigou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.