We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the trick, don't expect much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Angelie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Angelie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Angelie Hotel
Pengfeng Village, Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 133 hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Does the trick, don't expect much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Dull hotel, small rooms, small bathrooms, slow wifi, and breakfast could be better...but you're certainly not paying for more, so there's no complaint.
This hotel is suitable for backpackers and young travellers looking for a decent hotel close to the park. Rooms are clean and the staff is so-so helpful, which is good enough for the region.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
9
19
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hostel sits in an excellent location, very close to the park entrance. Rooms were a bit nippy during our stay but the electric blanket and small electrical heater provided made it quite comfy. The spacious bathroom however did resemble a freezer room. Staff was very friendly and the hostel provides excellent value for money. We did not encounter any of the ‘smelly bathroom’ troubles other reviewers mentioned.

Room Tip: Check the beds for electrical blankets and ask for a small electric heater in wintertime
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, 15 minute walk to the park, close to restaurants. Rooms are new and beds are comfortable. We did run into some issues, however. Our toilet didn't flush and the bathroom smelled. Wifi didn't work and the two computers in the lobby were our of service the entire time we were there. They didn't have any quiet rooms available, so our room was super noisy with all the traffic and honking outside. Also, wish the owner and staff were friendlier. Bottom line, stay for the convenience, but don't expect too much

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the main road as the traffic noise is bad, even at night. Book onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at Angelie Hotel from 8-10 Dec and found it to be ok for the money we paid. The rooms and attached bathrooms are a reasonable size. The food is quite good and the prices are very reasonable. There is also a great restaurant just next door.

It is about a 10 minute walk to the park entrance and approx. 15-20 minute walk from the bus station. When you leave the bus station head left and keep walking till you see a small red sign on the side of a building on the right hand side of the road. The staff speak very little English so try to research everything in advance.

The downside is that it is very, very cold. When we arrived we had to request a heater for our room and even then it only took the edge off. The plus is that they supply heated blankets for the beds. A couple of friends stayed in the dorms and said it was so cold they left the next day. The dorms do not have heated blankets. Laundry facilities are on the roof and they do not have a dryer.

Another bummer was that the wifi was bad to non-existent. It cut out constantly or disappeared altogether. The hotel would be comfortable enough any other time of the year, just not winter.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Juizhaigo is a tourist centre, and accommodation is understandably expensive. But this place was a plain bad deal. First we we're charged National Holiday rates, even though the holiday had finished. Second we we're up in the dorms on the roof. There was nothing redeeming about the room. I'm not against dorms, just bad value, which this is for sure.
The staff we're mostly friendly, the food was at best average. Juizhaigo is littered with hotels/hostels with better quality and cheaper prices. Go for a walk and find something better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I booked a double private ensuite room for 3 nights here. The room was a decent size with a decent size bathroom with the typical shower not cordoned off. The shower was cold sadly my 1st night , however it was warm my 2nd night. THe bed was hard as is common in Asia, but with decent pillows and I slept well, even despite the noise from the Main Street. They will provide a plug in heater for your room upon request which was definitely needed end of October/ early November as there was even some snow! It wasn't enough to actually warm he room up, but certainly will take off the edge. Apparently some of the rooms do have an actual air conditioner / heating unit though.

Check in was painless with a 100 rmb deposit required. The staff isn't as cheery as some of the other places I've been, but they got the job done and can provide tour services, taxis, etc.

Food was actually pretty good and tasty and the prices were reasonable at about 20 rmb on average for a meal, breakfast even cheaper, not including drinks.

The location is fantastic, only 15 minute walk to jiuzhaigou national park entrance.

There is not much for a central congregating area to mingle, a couple of tiny tables and a bench along with a computer set up for Internet. Internet and wifi are very unreliable at best and non-existant at worst.

Regardless, it's a good clean place to stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Please note that this review is for a stay in the hotel's dorm rooms, not the hotel rooms.
Angelie hotel is excellently located for access to Jiuzhaigou National Park, enabling us to get into the park as soon as it opened.
The staff were friendly and helpful and booked our onward bus for us without any problems.
As Jiuzhaigou is in the middle of nowhere, and there aren't many options for accommodation, this was one of the most expensive hotels/hostels we stayed in in our whole trip to China.
Throughout our trip we stayed in many dormitories, and this was by far the worst. Our dormitory was located on the roof of the hotel. Anything that was placed on the floor (bags etc.) instantly became filthy, as it was made of unfinished cement. Being up in the mountains it was pretty cold, and the uncovered flooring did not help the situation! The bunk beds were very hard, which is not unusual in Asia, but they were also a bit rickety and we did not have much confidence that they wouldn't collapse under our weight, luckily they didn't! They did have big warm blankets provided to help combat the cold.
The biggest issue was the bathrooms. There were two showers, and two shower rooms with toilets inside. This appeared to be to shared between six dorms of six people... This resulted in waits of 45 minutes plus at five o'clock in the morning outside in the freezing cold, just to go to the toilet! This is really not good service.
Overall, despite the friendly staff and great location, we were very disappointed with Angelie Hotel. The only saving grace is that you don't want to spend much time in your room when visiting the National Park!

Room Tip: We didn't see any hotel rooms, but would advise against staying in the dormitories here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angelie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angelie Hotel

Address: Pengfeng Village, Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 133 hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip DaoDao and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Angelie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.