We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an absolute horrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gesang Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gesang Hotel to your Saves list
Gesang Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 151 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What an absolute horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

This hotel is the "Hotel from Hell"!!

At best a 2 star. Terrible service, housekeeping a joke, unfriendly staff AND to add insult to injury they flushed out the sewer lines when we were there and our end of the hotel smelled like a septic tank. A lot of people were not happy.

The food in the restaurant is sub standard and every night most of it was only warm at best.

WHATEVER you do DO NOT stay here....there are lots of other hotels in town but we were locked into a prepaid family tour that left us no option.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    15
    11
    3
See reviews for
5
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

No tissues or facewashers provided.
Drinking water in bottle for cleaning teeth was thrown out by housekeeping staff.
Breakfast was so - so.
Mice seen in corridor.
One fellow group member had the smell of the toilet to put up with.

Stayed September 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

When we arrived at the hotel, we found our rooms weren`t
ready. It seems they were not expecting us.
The bellboys were very late coming to help us
with our luggage. It seems the hotel was also
conserving energy because almost all the lobby lights
were OFF! It was very dark in there. I felt like I was
in a Twilight Zone episode.

In my hotel room. They have limited hours for hot water!
The bed mattress is very hard like a block of wood.
And the mattress is very low to the ground. If you try to sit
on it, it's like a child's chair. No internet in the
room (business center only).

They turn off the a/c in the hotel at night. This is bad during
the summer. My room felt like an oven and I lost sleep
because of it.

This is supposed to be a 4 STAR hotel too! Maybe for Jiuzhaigou...
In the USA, this would be more like a 1 STAR MOTEL.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

Stayed with a Wendy Wu tour group.
Hotel was as expected for a tour hotel in fairly remote location. It is not the Sheraton, but was quite sufficient. Be inspired by the scenery

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

This is a typical Tibetan type of hotel apparently, huge foyer with double staircase leading to very wide corridors and huge rooms. Unfortunately, for some reason which we never found out, they leave the front doors wide open and when we were there in April it was freezing and there was no heating in the reception/shop area. The dining room was warm when we had dinner and the helpful waiter told us which dishes not to eat because they would be too hot for our English palates. We also avoided the ducks tongues etc. But the food was delicious, hot and plenty of it. Breakfast showed us some food we had not seen on our trip round China and left a little to be desired, but the egg chef was good at frying eggs.

The outside temperature was 2 C and the heating had broken down when we returned from a day in the Jiuzhaigou National Park and it was freezing inside the rooms but they did provide our two rooms with heaters and eventually got the heating working. The beds were so hard but the silk duvets were lovely. There were just 6 Westerners staying here and the whole region sees few 'white' faces although it is becoming more popular. We were objects of curiousity in the parks with even adults staring at us. Go there before it gets too commercialised (although there are plenty of stalls selling clothes on the way to the park). The area around is stunning.

  • Liked — BIg room
  • Disliked — Lack of warmth
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

Poor hotel on the whole, dirty carpets, basic room with awful outlook. No Western breakfast provision and we struggled with Chinese breakfasts as we were eating Chinese food all the time.
Choose another hotel in this beautiful location.

  • Liked — Location near the National park
  • Disliked — awful room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gesang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gesang Hotel

Address: Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 623402, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gesang Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gesang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gesang Hotel Jiuzhaigou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gesang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.